We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ratanui Villas

Hotwire.comUS$ 68*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Ratanui Villas
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 34: English reviews
Start your review of Ratanui Villas
 Click to rate
Rotorua, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Very nice private estate with lots of green. Nice comfy units (warm!) with big ranch sliders for the warm summer tiles. No AC but not needed in my opinion. these units are very nicely modernized spacious nice bathroom (Shower) with very nice high pressure shower. Clean light and bright ( although the shower light needs brighter (unit 1) as it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Remcer
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Dianne was the loveliest host, the rooms were really well maintained and modern, and the setting was spectacular. Will definitely be back. Was especially impressed with the cleanliness and modernity of the bathrooms- a real plus.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shannon T
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

Wow! What a place! Cannot recommend highly enough. The gardens are pristine and so well kept, our accommodation was by far the nicest we stayed in whilst in New Zealand and such value for money. Prime location as you aren't far from anything but still enough. I left my purse there and the manager went above and beyond to send...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maddie B
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

If you want somewhere lovely and tranquil with beautiful gardens to walk around very friendly accommodating hosts.The most comfy beds to sleep in the units equipped with everything you need in the kitchen.Only 8 minutes drive to the city.The units are newly refurbished in the most tasteful decor which is very appealing and how exciting to find this beautiful accommodation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
Reviewed 29 October 2016

A nice place to say, we stayed tow nights, it is well maintained, modern facility with great outdoor gardens. Friendly service, nice and quite place. But one down side is that there is literally no internet or wifi available. Although the room description says Free Wifi. But there were no signals.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Saeed A
Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Was promoted as having free wifi but actually the one modem for guests didn't cut the mustard. To get a signal the only solution was to 'visit' the empty unit that housed the modem, a considerable walk up a hill. Very disappointing in this day and age. Also no satellite TV although not mentioned in their ads, so definitely and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ReviveThrive
Ratanuivillas, Manager at Ratanui Villas, responded to this review

Hi ReviveThrive We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at Ratanui Villas during your 3 day stay. At the time of your stay we were experiencing issues with wifi not being wide/broad enough - we have since remedied modem and installed boosters to ensure signal reaches all units. I am also sorry to hear...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 July 2016

The unit was too cold and the heating was not enough. There was a white tail spider in bathroom, and shower leaked. Disappointing after nearly 2,000 kms road trip. We were not advised that it was so far out of the city, and had trouble finding the property due to the sun going down, by the time we got there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank raewyn2015
Ratanuivillas, Manager at Ratanui Villas, responded to this review

Hi Raewyn Firslty - many thanks for choosing Ratanui Villas as your choice of accommodation while in New Plymouth. We are truly sorry to hear that at the end of your trip you did not have a good experience ..... I understand your booking was made when you visited our local I-Site and I have fed back with regards to...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

The owners are really friendly and welcoming. The lights were on in the unit, as well as the heater, which was great as it was very cold down there. The units are really nice and have everything you need. They even have a plunger and plunger coffee along with a selection of tea, instant coffee and hot chocolate. The shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy04NZ
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

We were returning to New Plymouth and when thinking about accommodation remembered this place and we are glad we did. The unit is great value, and fully refurbished with new carpet, kitchen, bathroom etc. Hosts are welcoming - and remembered us from more than a year ago. It is 5km from city centre but with a car that is 4...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wellingt0nkirby
Ratanuivillas, Manager at Ratanui Villas, responded to this review

It truly is a great feeling to have guests return to stay at Ratanui Villas ansd we are glad you enjoyed the unit as well as the property setting. Yes on a good clear day you get a fantastic view of Mt Taranaki. Thank you Kind regards Ratanui Villas

Brunei Darussalam
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

The owner of the hotel is a couple and they are very friendly to us. We had one night stay and it's value for money. Location - a bit hard to find the entrance of the motel as the connecting small road is not easily see. It's about 10 mins drive to the city centre of New Plymouth, and also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dobie2013

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
5.2 km away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
290 reviews
5.5 km away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
225 reviews
2.4 km away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 km away
Ahu Ahu Beach Villas
Ahu Ahu Beach Villas
#1 of 16 in New Plymouth
140 reviews
5.0 km away
Ducks & Drakes Hotel
Ducks & Drakes Hotel
#2 of 16 in New Plymouth
204 reviews
6.5 km away
Fitzroy Beach Holiday Park
Fitzroy Beach Holiday Park
#4 of 16 in New Plymouth
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ratanui Villas offers it clients serene and tranquil accommodation. We are set in 8.5 acres of 'park-like' grounds and only 6 minutes drive to the New Plymouth city centre. Ratanui offers a range of accommodation from 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom, studios and a 3 bdrm cottage. Units, except studios, have recently been refurbished and are stylish and contemporary. All have king beds, brand new kitchens and bathrooms. We are pet friendly and there is plenty of safe off street parking. A fabulous place to relax and unwind, with great views on Mt Taranaki. We really are New Plymouth's best kept secret! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ratanui Villas

Address: 538 Carrington Road, New Plymouth 4371, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Price Range: ₹ 4,314 - ₹ 10,066 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ratanui Villas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ratanui Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ratanui Villas New Plymouth, Taranaki
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ratanui Villas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not count on "Free Wifi" No signals in the rooms.”
saeeda486, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ASk about wifi and TV”
ReviveThrive, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Maybe it would be better in the summer months”
raewyn2015, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Lovely tranquil location - a great place to get away from it all but close enough to the city”
78sarahe, 5 Jan 2016 | Read review
“We didn't see all the rooms but each one seems to have it's own access straight into the gardens.”
384john, 30 Mar 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotwire.com
US$ 68* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$ 68
CheapTickets
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates