We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grand Hotel Rotorua

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grand Hotel Rotorua
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

124 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Rotorua
See the most recent reviews
Showing 118: English reviews
Hampton Park
Reviewed 25 October 2015

the room was neat and clean but bathroom/shower too crammed and small. Staff were friendly and helpful. Central location with easy access to all shopping restaurants lake front and gardens. Breakfast was included which was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CindexDubier
Reviewed 13 September 2015 via mobile

The place is old and everything needs a lot of attention! It's pretty gross - I was just glad I brought my own pillow and blanket has place felt unclean. I saw rubbish under the bed that was not ours. Water paper was falling off everywhere. Upside is the lady on front desk seemed nice and the shower pressure was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lauraloue
Reviewed 8 August 2015

If all you want is a bed and a hot shower, and don't want to share with a group of others (backpackers) then this cheap motel may just be for you. It is not flash, it is outdated, cold and lacks any real character. The room was clean but very cold. It did however have an oil heater and electric...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DrKiwiNZ
Auckland
Reviewed 30 July 2015

When I walked into the room I couldn't help think it reminded me of a backpackers or lodge rather than a 'Grand Hotel'. I have stayed in a few places for business and this hotel definitely is not the place for business. Cons: Electric blanket didn't work on one side of the bed Fan in bathroom didn't work Bathroom was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RamahRose
Reviewed 19 July 2015 via mobile

The most depressing time we have ever spent on holidays. Yes booking a budget room essentially means "you get what you pay for" but we spent nights in a hostel room cleaner than the one we stayed in at Grand Hotel. Avoided the bathroom at all costs! Bathroom had mould all along the walls and the shower head (not to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Orangeblue249
GrandHotelRotorua, Manager at Grand Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

As you were aware their are several types of rooms available at the Hotel. You chose a Budget room which is $55 per night for 2 people and does represent good value for those who only want a bed for the night and do not wish to be in a dormitory. Regarding your comments on cleanliness and mould I have...

Reviewed 9 July 2015 via mobile

Bed was great, took a nice lil nap. Good value for the price. Bathroom sink was in the middle of the room which was pretty chill. Feng shui. The laundry room was to die for. Long hallway to get to the room a bit like the tunnel you wait in to board the airplane. All and all it was beautiful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mckennie
St Albans
Reviewed 2 April 2015

Room was very spacious (double + single) and included a desk. Rooms clean and good bathroom Lots of power sockets and tea/coffee making facilities. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. WiFi was free, fast and easy to use (single password). Simple breakfast available. Very quiet area, so good sleeping. The only negatives are the rooms are rather old...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HertsDaveP
Sydney Australia
Reviewed 19 March 2015

We spent two nights at this hotel and have absolutely nothing negative to say about it!Our room was surprisingly large and bright,very clean,the bed was perfect,with crispy white linen and comfortable pillows.Very good central location,helpful staff and not at all expensive.Keep the good work Grand Hotel!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank salsaholic
Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 March 2015

The very rude woman behind the counter needs some lessons in customer care and in the manner she uses. She is very unprofessional. Twice bitten by her now... never again (I gave her the benefit of the doubt first time - we all have a bad day) The hotel itself is ok for what you pay, tired and older. First...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bee_McEm
New York
Reviewed 4 March 2015

We stayed at this hotel in late Feb 2015 for two nights. We paid $55 per night for a twin room. The rooms were a bit dated but clean & tidy. We had an ensuite and the beds were very comfy. This place is by no means flash but good value if you're on a tight budget.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Murtajewel

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 km away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#36 of 93 in Rotorua
743 reviews
0.4 km away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#11 of 93 in Rotorua
114 reviews
0.2 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Astray Motel
Astray Motel
#15 of 55 in Rotorua
196 reviews
0.1 km away
Rotorua Downtown Backpackers
0.2 km away
Rotorua Planet Backpackers
Rotorua Planet Backpackers
#24 of 55 in Rotorua
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Grand Hotel Rotorua is an older style property located in the heart of Rotorua CBD. There are 38 rooms in total which can be divided into 3 categories (or room standards). There are 12 BUDGET Rooms or backpacker style rooms with private bathrooms which cater for those travellers wishing for some privacy and security in preference to a dormitory and on a limited budget. There are 7 ECONOMY Rooms which have the basics such as ensuite, TV, fridge, tea and coffee. They are clean and comfortable and ideal for short stays. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast in our breakfast room between 8.00am and 10.00amThere are 19 PREMIER Rooms which were renovated to a good standard and come complete with ensuite, TV, fridge, tea & coffee, phone, internet, hair dryer, iron & ironing board etc. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast in our breakfast room between 8.00am and 10.00am ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Rotorua

Address: 1130 Pukuatua Street | Rotorua CBD, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: ₹ 4,543 - ₹ 6,450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Rotorua 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Grand Hotel Rotorua staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose another Hotel / Motel for your accommodation.”
petermariealexm, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Outside looking poor. Room standard.”
shockbn, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Nothing about this place is worth recommending.....move along to something else.”
552adrienned, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Perhaps ask if they have rooms at the back as it was a little noisy”
gwenu2015, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask if they have a ground floor room, or you will have to haul your luggage up a flight of stairs.”
D2551XJjeffc, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5