We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hamurana Lodge

Show Prices
#15 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hamurana Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

392 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hamurana Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 366: English reviews
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Beautiful property with a lot of charm and character. Rotorua is a dumpy town, so you'll appreciate being in such pleasant surroundings. Patrick was outstanding and couldn't do enough for us. Lauren was more distant, but completely efficient. Get the gourmet platter--it's excellent. Two areas for improvement: towels and amenities in the bathroom are weak, and the cold breakfast is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 136ross
fred n, Owner at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and constructive feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed the charm and character of the property and our team's services and hospitality. Come back and visit us again soon, Warmest regards

Tours, France
Reviewed 30 July 2013

What a house! From afar, it looks like an old English cottage...and well, the Rolls Royce waiting for you just by the etrance door won't make you feel any differently. Very warm staff, always there to help without being too intrusive. The room was just a dream : very, very large, with full equipment (coffee machine, bathtub AND shower, hifi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Delroc
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review

Hello and many thanks for your lovely review. A real pleasure to know that your stop in Rotorua while visiting NZ was filled with pampering and indulgence at the lodge and that you enjoyed the entire facilities and room amenities - especially the Nespresso coffee machine for that early morning wake up. Looking forward to your return. Warmest regards

Silver Spring, MD
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My entire family of four loved the Hamurana Lodge. It was a great change from hotels and the long hours of flying to New Zealand from the US. Patrick and the entire staff couldn't have been more gracious or welcoming. Breakfast was exceptional - on par with the Sofitel in Auckland. The lodge was charming and serene. Patrick helped us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mdmom4
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Hello - Great to hear from you and the family. It was a real pleasure for all of us to host you at Hamurana Lodge Boutique Hotel for your extended stay. Delighted to know we have been equally compared to a large luxury brand - a real pride especially as being one of our favourite hotels in Auckland...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We spent two nights at the Lodge and thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was comfortable and well-appointed and the service was attentive without being obtrusive. Our hosts were very accommodating and made us feel welcome. A comment in another review resonated with me, "Nothing was too much bother for the outstanding staff". This is true and in my opinion the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bronwen_kerr
fred n, Owner at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora Bronwen, thanks for your lovely feedback - the team is delighted to know their genuine care and hospitality as works once again - come back again soon Warmest regards

Kurri Kurri, Australia
Reviewed 7 July 2013

What a breath of fresh air and so what we needed...to be pampered with exceptional service, spectacular surroundings, ease of access and a definite need to return sometime soon. It was lovely to come home to visit NZ (expat) and stay somewhere so warming. Drinks were offered on arrival, food offered on our return from sightseeing daily and breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jacqui M
fred n, Owner at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you immensely Jacqui for wonderful feedback. Wonderful having you back home. Come again to enjoy soon, Warmest regards from all of us

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Upon arrival we were personally welcomed by Fred (he waited in the cold for us), and he made us feel right at home. The lodge is situated just outside Rotorua in a fantastic setting. We received service that was 'out of this world'. Fred and Patrick were excellent hosts and went above and beyond to make our stay one of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EricSleegers
fred n, Owner at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review

Kia ora Shoko and Eric, what a pleasure meeting you and hosting you for a weekend away. A real pleasure and look forward to your return soon - We will be there in the cold next time :) Warmest regards

Reviewed 3 July 2013

Our stay was just perfect. The standard of accommodation is 5 star. Without any doubt the service is perfection and aimed at making each guest feel pampered and special. In this case the word "guest" is an understatement because we were made to feel like we belonged.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RvO58
fred n, Owner at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review

Truly thankful of your lovely feedback. The essence of our offering is very much summarized in your two words of ''guests that belong'' . It was a pleasure having you at Hamurana Lodge Boutique Hotel while in Rotorua and we look forward to your return. Warmest Winter Regards

Beechworth, Australia
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This absolutely delightful boutique hotel was just what we needed for our weekend mini break! We felt like the lord and lady of the manor from the moment we arrived. Our room was wonderfully comfortable with views over Lake Rotorua. Quality toiletries in the bathroom and bath robes in the cupboard ensured we could start and finish the day in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shelagh M
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora and our warmest sincere thanks for a lovely review. It was a pleasure for Patrick and Laura to host you on your mini break and trust we will have the chance of you returning soon and sharing Hamurana Lodge with many others . Warmest regards

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Upon arrival we were greeted by the friendly staff and offered drinks while we settled in. The staff provided wonderful suggestions on where to drink and dine in town, and the best sites to visit and things to do. The grounds we stunning, surrounded by farmland with gorgeous views of the lake while being far enough away to avoid the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amber G
fred n, Owner at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review

KiaOra Amber, lovely to read your review - pleasure having you on a relaxing time away while visiting central North Island. Come back on a longer escape soon. Warmest regards to both.

Katikati, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We only had one night at Hamurana Lodge but it was a very pleasant place to stay. We were welcomed by Fred who made us feel very welcome. He had great local knowledge and was very chatty and friendly, he pointed us in the direction of eat street and told us all about the local eateries and we went into...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 610Margaretd
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Margaret, a pleasure hosting you and delighted to be part of a great fishing positive fishing day - come back and visit soon , Warmest regards

146 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (120)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
12.7 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
11.0 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
660 reviews
19.9 km away
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Treetops Lodge & Estate
#42 of 93 in Rotorua
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
20.8 km away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#25 of 93 in Rotorua
132 reviews
10.3 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
If you are looking for luxury hotel accommodation Hamurana Lodge in Rotorua, New Zealand (NZ) offers executive suites along with a variety of special hotel packages for your holiday / vacation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hamurana Lodge

Address: 415 Hamurana Road | RD7, Rotorua 3097, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: ₹ 9,511 - ₹ 30,646 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hamurana Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hamurana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#12 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#13 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hamurana Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
New Zealand
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hamurana Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“In the hot season, ask for a cooler room.”
 of 5 bubbles 173carolg, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All Rooms are lovely”
 of 5 bubbles LeonardoS1987, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Any room. Beautiful!”
 of 5 bubbles andymas0n1, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“have a look for the suites”
 of 5 bubbles haryroelen, 26 Apr 2016 | Read review
“The upstairs suite with balcony and views was fantastic... and the Gourmet Platter is seriously amazing. Enough to feed 4-6 people!!”
 of 5 bubbles BLQNDI, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5