We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hamurana Lodge Boutique Hotel

Traveller (167)
Room & Suite (50)
Dining (15)
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
About
  • Excellent84%
  • Very good11%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Certificate of Excellence
Hamurana Lodge is a boutique hotel nestled in the hills of Rotorua presenting a sweeping vista of Lake Rotorua, Mokoia Island and fresh fields of New Zealand. We are an easy 15 minutes drive from the city centre and Rotorua Airport, providing the ideal base for those wishing to explore the Regions Maori Culture, Geothermal Parks, Hiking trails, Adventure activities and the world famous Hot Pools & Spa’s. Hobbiton and Waitomo Caves are easy self drive options or arrive in style onto the hotel Heli-Pad. Hamurana Lodge Boutique Hotel is located 15 acres of farmland and features native birds and farm animals. There are 11 individually appointed guest rooms, outdoor swimming pool, tennis court, restaurant and bar. We welcome international guests with style and create a personal experience that is memorable, engaging and real. Our daily European style a la carte breakfast is prepared using fresh locally sourced produce and included during your stay
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Public Wifi
Breakfast included
Concierge
Non-Smoking Hotel
Show more
Room features
Suites
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Minibar
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Quaint
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
Getting there
Rotorua Airport11 km
Tauranga Airport41 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews(428)
Traveller rating
  • 389
  • 52
  • 12
  • 3
  • 2
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
Show reviews that mention
  • Filter
  • English
geoffreyg743
deal, kent
4324
Reviewed 4 days ago
We had one night with only a few more residents. James, the manager, greeted us and provided welcome refreshments on our arrival. The room - ground floor suite - was comfortable, spacious and well appointed - heated floor in bathroom etc.

Ideally located for the short trip in to the town and the return to some tranquillity and a quiet drink in the bar.

Breakfast is only continental - we would have appreciated a cooked selection but no complaints as to quality.
Thank geoffreyg743
Response from JAMESSBCOWAN, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge Boutique Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Hi Geoffrey thanks for the review, it was great to meet you both and i hope you enjoy Napier
Susan W
Oro Valley, Arizona
11339
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
This B&B had such great reviews we were very excited to stay here. The property is located just outside Rotorua and is a great quiet location. The grounds were beautiful. Our host greeted us upon arrival and showed us to our room. Good ground floor location with easy access. The room was clean, but just very tired looking. The bathroom was large though and quite nice.We had a garden room off the pool. The pool area was littered with leaves, dead flowers and pool cleaning equipment, although the pool was quite dirty. No relaxing pool chairs, just wrought iron stools. The building was in need of repair and paint. You just really did not feel like going out and using the pool area.
We were told breakfast was served until 10 am- even if you showed up at 9:55. We arrived about 9:15. The breakfast room staff seemed tired and inconvenienced. There was one other couple in the dining room that were bigger eaters and the food was never replenished. No one ever checked to see if maybe we needed more coffee or anything. Just never saw the staff again.
Also, the “gym-fitness area” was next to our room. In fact we had to walk through it to get to our room. It just looked like someone’s storage room.
I feel badly about this review. Having been in the hospitality business I always try to give good reviews and the benefit of the doubt. You could see that the Hamurana Lodge had been quite wonderful at one time, but time and lack of upkeep and rejuvenation had just taken their toll on the place. Just disappointing.
Thank Susan W
Response from JAMESSBCOWAN, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge Boutique Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello Susan, thanks for taking the time to review us. Firstly we had a number of storms prior to your stay and the clean up we are pleased to say around the pool area is almost complete after many days of toil in late spring.The metal chairs we are trying to source some squabs for.We position ourselves as a really good 4.5 star hotel (we are not a BB because we are a licensed premises and we do not claim to be luxury) we are very transparent with current images and description across all websites so our guests understand the property decor and theme better.For every comment we receive on the rooms being dated we get 9.5 that absolutely love the property. So I guess we cant be everyones' cuppa tea. I agree we do have a bit of painting to do over summer. I will discuss with the breakfast team regarding the service levels in the morning. Thanks for choosing to stay with us again and safe travels Regards James
Theresa M
81
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
We spent the last two nights of our New Zealand trip at this lovely hotel located about 10 minutes from the center of town. We were greeted on arrival by James, the manager, who was extremely attentive and accommodating. He gave us great tips re what to do in the area, set out a great breakfast, and was a great bartender in the evening. The surrounding grounds are lovely. We would have liked to stay longer and would definitely return.
Thank Theresa M
Response from JAMESSBCOWAN, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge Boutique Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Theresa, thanks so much for your appreciative comments. We all enjoyed hosting you both here and wish you a safe trip home and a kind festive season
nextwhere
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
5525
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
The property in set in a peaceful location not too far away from Rotorua. Staff very friendly - particularly James (Manager). Good Breakfast.

The accommodation is somewhat dated (style and fittings circa 1980) and in need of modernisation. Not a 'boutique' property when compared to the other B&B's we stayed in during our visit to NZ and, considering this, relatively expensive
Thank nextwhere
Response from JAMESSBCOWAN, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge Boutique Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
hello and thanks for your review and thoughtful comments. we understand your thinking and we do try hard to keep our guest satisfied through personal service and attention. we also provide many current images so guests can see exactly how the property appears too. have a safe trip home regards James
Amy G
Chicago, Illinois
3915
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Loved our stay here! Upon arrival we were greeted by our host who assisted with luggage and check in (later we discovered they do everything including make drinks and breakfast!). Both hosts we encountered during our stay were absolutely wonderful, and eager to help. There are only a few rooms on the property; it is more of a home than a hotel. The accommodations were comfortable with all of the amenities that you need. We enjoyed sitting outside on the patio with a cup of coffee, and taking a look at the llamas. The location is convenient for all of the Rotorua attractions. Highly recommend!
Thank Amy G
Response from JAMESSBCOWAN, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge Boutique Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Greetings and thanks for your kind words! It was great having you here too and hope you have a safe journey. Best wishes form Leona, Chris & Heather
PreviousNext
12345686
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Susan N
28 June 2017|
Answer
Response from JAMESSBCOWAN | Property representative |
Hi Susan, thank you very much for the enquiry. We are about 15 minutes drive from Rotorua town. Only motels in town centre have the advantage of thermal heated water. Our outdoor swimming pool is heated in summer months... More
0
Votes
Minkie123
3 September 2015|
Answer
Response from JAMESSBCOWAN | Property representative |
Hi there, most of our guests come with their own rental car. Alternatively, taxi can be another option, and we can arrange one to take you back to town on the next day morning. Please don't hesitate to contact us again... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"rooms over looking the gardens or the pool."
maninderjitb2015
16 Apr 2018
Read review
"All seemed lovely"
roselllii
19 Feb 2018
Read review
"Since there is no air con and warm air rises, might be better to stay on ground floor in summer."
rosefF7261OI
12 Jan 2018
Read review
"If you take a ground floor suite the folks above on wooden floors may disturb you, Was not a hassle for us."
DennisRogers
7 Jan 2018
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
US$ 153 - US$ 414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandBay of Plenty RegionRotorua DistrictRotorua
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing