We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Rotorua

HolidayInn.comUS$ 110*
View Deal
#18 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
GreenLeadersBronze level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Rotorua
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

810 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 753: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Rotorua
 Click to rate
Kaikoura, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

A fantastic place to stay. the staff are exceptionally helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them . bedrooms are light airy and spacious and the beds COMFORTABLE. The food is consistently EXCELLENT no complaints from the whole of our travelling group the whole stay Top marks Holiday Inn - we will be back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette W
Maureen G, Rooms Division Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review

Hi Jeanette Thanks for your awesome review. We look forward to welcoming you back next time. Regards Maureen

London
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Have spent a couple of days enjoying the holiday inn here in Rotorua. Have gone for 5goggles more because of the above and beyond service provided that has made this stay wonderful. Staff were courteous and kind, called to double check reservations we had made and then even offered an unscheduled shuttle drop into town so we got the best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kjm105
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review

Hi KJM, thank you for your review, and great to read you had a great time with us, have a great day, Kent

Kelowna, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 1 evening and had a very pleasant stay. We arrived around 1pm and our room was ready. The check in process was smooth and efficient. The room was as advertised, a good size with a king bed, nice linens, well equipped and clean. The shower was great. Breakfast was included in our room rate and had an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank denise V
Maureen G, Rooms Division Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review

Hi Denise Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua. It's great to hear that we are on point with our online image matching up with your experience. I hope you have an opportunity to visit again. Regards Maureen

Reviewed 1 week ago

I was travel for inspection tours and the hotel for bring the group from Sydney to Aukland. I stayed here for 1 night next day I will join bus tour to Hobbiton tours after tours will back to Aukland. Room was good, Breakfast is good all went well, Dinner with local Beer nice no so expansive. Next day, I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicky B
Maureen G, Rooms Division Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review

Hi Vicky B Thank you for your feedback regarding our staff member. It is always a pleasure for me to read that our staff are exceeding expectations. Regards maureen

Wales
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Holiday Inn is on the edge of Rotorua and a 5 minute drive into the center. Nice large rooms with all the amenities you would expect. It has a small outdoor swimming pool with plenty of space for catching up some sun! Limited WiFi is available in the rooms as only given a small allowance, however you can pay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tizzy101
Maureen G, Rooms Division Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn and for taking the time to provide your feedback. I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back to Rotorua or another IHG Hotel in the future. Regards Maureen

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights on our honeymoon trip of NZ. Lovely hotel...clean and spacious. Lovely outdoor pool area and a shuttle bus to town centre. Friendly staff and good value breakfast. Approx 2.5 km from town centre.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Maureen G, Rooms Division Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review

Thanks for making Holiday Inn part of your Honeymoon, I hope you enjoy the rest of your time in NZ.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Little known fact: Capt James Cook did not come to New Zealand in 1769 to map the island, he came to build the Holiday Inn Rotorua. This hotel badly needs updating. On the plus side, the mattresses are comfy and the service is quite good. Overall an adequate value for the price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Randall R
Maureen G, Rooms Division Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review

I am sorry that our décor doesn't suit your taste. The hotel has undergone a number of renovations and upgrades in it's history and we continue this year with corridor refurbishment of the original five storey building. Thanks for your positive feedback regarding your bed and the service you received. Regards Maureen

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This holiday inn seems to be located in a strange place however our room overlooks the thermal pools so this was incredibly special. The rooms were clean and fresh. Room service was delicious!! Warm air. Thank gosh.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelsie K
Maureen G, Rooms Division Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review

Hi Kelsie K Thanks for choosing Holiday Inn for your recent visit to Rotorua and for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers. Regards Maureen

new zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Awesome hotel to stay, comfortable beds, lovely friendly staff, good selection at Chapmans restaurant. Pool and spa area are brilliant. Highly recommended. Holiday Inn never disappoints me. Book your stay here it's a lovely hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gpljk
Maureen G, Rooms Division Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review

Hi gpljk Thanks for choosing Holiday Inn and for your great review. Regards Maureen

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Paid in full $440 for two nights for a room at Holiday Inn Rotorua from 15-17th April this year, for daughter and I. I think photos attached would decide for you whether the it was worthy of such a 4 star rating and price for two nights. Checked in late due to late night arrival first issue: property advises on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anne-michelle m
Maureen G, Rooms Division Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately in this instance we failed to provide you with the level of service you were expecting. We will use your feedback to continue to improve our product and service offering. Regards Maureen

297 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (232)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (60)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (15)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
3.2 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.9 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
2.5 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.2 km away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
383 reviews
0.6 km away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Holiday Inn Rotorua is a modern hotel overlooking the Whakarewarewa Thermal Reserve and Historical Village. It features: • A free to use heated swimming pool and health club. • Free parking. • Kids Eat and Stay Free. (Up to 2 children under 12.) • Free Wifi for IHG Rewards Club Members. The air-conditioned rooms of Holiday Inn Rotorua offer a modern design and cable TV with free movies and 2 children's channels. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided. The award winning Chapman’s Restaurant and Bar offers an a la carte menu, and buffet, and serves contemporary New Zealand cuisine, matched with a fine wine selection. Room service is available 24/7. The Rotorua Holiday Inn is situated close to all the city's attractions and offers free shuttle pickup from the Rotorua Tourism Information Centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rotorua

Address: 10 Tryon Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand (Formerly Heritage Rotorua)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: ₹ 4,698 - ₹ 9,485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Heritage Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Heritage Hotel
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Rotorua
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#23 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Rotorua staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Rotorua staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The hotel 10 mins from township free shutter bus in front of the hotel every 1 hour”
, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the pool area can be extremely loud due to having 200 year old windows.”
453randallr, 5 May 2017 | Read review
“Waka wing is newer”
gpljk, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“first 4 starr I've stayed in with stained toilet bowls and experiences we had.”
  • upgraded king room initiated by maintenance man not management.
  • noticable tear in the valance in the upgraded king bed room
  • 2nd toilet in upgrade king bed room. Less stain than original room but .......
  • toielt for a four star rated facility and does not do a complete clean flush
722annemichellem, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Join the Holiday Inn Rewards Club (free) for free wifi”
simonc645, 3 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
HolidayInn.com
US$ 110* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUS$ 131
Booking.comUS$ 111
Hotels.comUS$ 111
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates