We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,238 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,105: English reviews
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel has been around for a long time and has always provided Accor standard of service. It is perhaps getting on to the renovate list. The room was itself nice but the ensuite was a bit tired. The restaurant is a pleasant environment but the buffet could do with a bit of improvement - lots of food but a... More 

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank James W
Schindellegi, Switzerland
Level Contributor
886 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 522 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Good location in Rotorua, very close to the lake, EatStreet and main city atractions. Friendly staff. Comfortable room: medium size but well equipped with minibar, pressing facilities, safety box, a very good bed and well sized / equipped bathroom. Good cleanliness. Acceptable free wifi. Good breakfast: a very complete hot and cod buffet including an eggs cooking station. Check-out time... More 

Helpful?
Thank atontao
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Pretty impressed with our stay at the Novotel Lakeside. It's a well kept property with plenty of great facilities and the frontline reception and bar staff were excellent. They have a great spa and gymnasium area as well as a range of conference rooms which appeared to be flat out for this weekend. We tried the buffet breakfast on the... More 

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Z3793ZLmarkt
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Visited Rotorua in November and chose to stay at this centrally located hotel. This Novotel is definitely showing its age, with rooms outdated and corridors in dire need of a renovation. Staff service is ok but the little touches are missing, cleaners routinely leave bags of garbage and used plates in corridors. Bit of a shame really as its location... More 

Helpful?
Thank lcksyd
Beveren
Level Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed in a good room with a view over the lake but with no extras (bath robes, water, ...) and worst of all no shower gel. We would have given a slightly better score if the breakfast buffet would have been better. Ham and cheese are difficult to find and when you find them they look awful ... in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Guy9120
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear Guy9120, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I am glad to learn you appreciate the room with the view! Our apologies for letting you down with the breakfast service. I have shared your comments with the team and we will put a higher focus on this area. We look forward to hosting... More 

Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Staff was very helpful. The hotel has many facilities such as the geo-thermally heated pools. It is also conveniently located as there are many restaurants just walking distance away, such as Nando's and Indian food. There was also the popular Lady Jane's Ice Cream Parlour. The buffet breakfast started at 6am and ended at 10.30am, which allowed us to take... More 

Helpful?
Thank Keevan K
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear Keevan K, Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to our hotel, especially our great location and friendly staff. We hope to see you back again soon! More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Friendly staff and that's where it stops. Rooms are out dated and unclean, check out the floor and bathroom fixtures, yuck! common areas are disgraceful, dirty dirty stained carpets. This is 1 star place. Walls are paper thin could here the next rooms all night. only 2 cups for a coffee so had to take turns using cups for a... More 

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 5startraveller963
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear 5startraveller963, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn... More 

London, UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a Novotel, and one gets what one expects. The hotel is modern, functional and bland. The rooms are large and efficient but the promised "lake view" is only just visible out of the corner of the window. The hotel charges NZD 10 per day for wifi, which is a poor money-pinching habit all decent establishments should swear never... More 

Helpful?
Thank John_from_NM
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear John_from_NM, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay with us. It is pleasing to read that your stay was, on majority, a comfortable and pleasing one. However, I am sorry to hear that we did not meet all your expectations, we do always try our best to deliver a service to suit... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We had a great stay. Fantastic hot pools and heated swimming pool. Comfy clean room. We didn't get a lakeview higher level room that we requested at booking which was odd but we were compensated and very well looked after by staff. Incredible buffet breakfast! Great location walking distance to everywhere.

Helpful?
Thank marama662
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear marama662, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! It was wonderful to read all your positive comments. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We look forward to having... More 

Raanana
Level Contributor
139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here as part of a Globus group. While the room was nice, it was surprising that at this Novotel the breakfast was really not very good at all. Eggs seemed to be powdered. Also it was annoying that there was not even one international cable TV station available, only local stations. Also we had to sign up (not sure... More 

Helpful?
Thank MessaM
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear MessaM, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay with us. I am glad to see you enjoyed our location. However, I was disappointed to read that your experience did not meet your expectations. Rest assured that your comments have been documented and will certainly be looked into. I do hope that we... More 

463 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (414)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (105)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (39)
Viewed
2:53
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (156)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.7 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
589 reviews
2.3 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
3.2 km away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 93 in Rotorua
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#29 of 93 in Rotorua
1,035 reviews
0.9 km away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.0 km away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside is ideally situated near the shores of lake Rotorua and withing meters of the CBD and restaurant sector.. The hotel has 199 modern, spacious accommodation rooms, some with stunning lake views, including 11 suites and the prestigious Royal suite. All bedrooms have either a king or two double beds, en-suite with shower over bath, mini bars and safes. Guests also have access to our fully equipped gym, indoor heated pool and geothermal plunge pools. Atlas cafe and restaurant is open all year round, serving guests and visitors from the extensive buffet and ala-carte dining. Our Hotel bar Clarke's is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a drink fireside or catch up with friends over a shared platter on our outdoor courtyard. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Address: Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: ₹ 8,549 - ₹ 16,278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Rotorua Lakeside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Novotel Rotorua Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside Hotel Rotorua
Accor Rotorua Lakeside
Rotorua Novotel
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#15 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#25 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Novotel Rotorua Lakeside staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Phoenix, Arizona
1 month ago
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
9 months ago
Tauranga, New Zealand
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Novotel Rotorua Lakeside staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“higher floors facing the lake”
 of 5 bubbles lcksyd, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Lovely lake views from higher floors”
 of 5 bubbles madtravel-with-4kids, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Want a lake view room.”
 of 5 bubbles motorbodies, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Lake view rooms the best”
 of 5 bubbles 59_Well-Traveled, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't go if you want to use Wi-Fi”
 of 5 bubbles RobY403, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay