We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre

Orbitz.comUS$ 95*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

411 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 392: English reviews
Start your review of Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
 Click to rate
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff were all so friendly pleasant and helpful, the service and room were great , comfortable beds, Good Housekeeping , hot tub, Happy hour 🍷 Extensive buffet breakfast - One night We booked in for the Maori Cultural show preceded by a delicious buffet dinner Enjoyed everything about the evening Fab food Awesome cultural performance had everyone joining in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank natsonvacation
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

How wonderful to escape for a couple of days and enjoy a wee break. Were really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and made use of several of our restaurants and bars available. I have passed your comments on our team. We look forward to you coming to be a tourist again sometime.

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Location is out of the CBD of Rotorua, however the Hotel has good restaurants, good clean rooms that have room to move. Overall it is a good Hotel good service plenty of parking. It does cater for couples, groups and families, Love the decor,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 910sdg
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at our hotel recently 910sdg. It's pleasing to read you enjoyed your room, our restaurants and the parking. We hope you'll visit again sometime.

Sacramento
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a package tour hotel that serves busloads of tourists. On the plus side, the location is nice -- view of trees and out of the crowded and touristy downtown, with easy access to the highway. Staff was friendly and responsive and the rooms, though a bit dated, were fine. I am giving this a poor review because the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annban09
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

thank you for your feedback annban09. Your comments regarding the beds has been forwarded. We are pleased that the team looked after you and hope you got to make use of the facilities at the hotel like the outdoor heated pool or Jacuzzi.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We becomes this hotel because it was 4 stars and that what you would expect from $200 night hotel, rooms where tired and elevator was not working, kiwi chef on the breakfast counter was rude, it took 40 mins to get served at the yakitori restaurant, only 2 people working in a packed restaurant. Upside was the complimentary wifi with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amint390
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Sorry your time spend here was not up to your expectations amint390.

rotorua
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Lovely setting alongside pool, very healthy menu but the. special stew is delicious,excellent coffee and nice decor.plenty of parking with a great quality gift shop alongside the menu is extensive and the waitress helpful in your choice of food.just a short trip from the city centre a nice quiet oasis in a busy city

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tikitapu
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

We are so pleased to read you enjoyed your time at Distinction and the restaurant and food options, tikitapu. Thank you for staying with Distinction and we look forward to you visiting with us again.

Limerick, Ireland
Reviewed 6 April 2017

This hotel is very convenient for all attractions in Rotorua. It has all the amenities you may need including a couple of nice restaurants. The staff are fantastic and always willing to help. I had a bad experience in one room and so reported it to the reception and they moved me immediately and without any fuss into a suite!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren_R_Beckett
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you Darren, your feedback is appreciated. And constructive. We will look to improve areas we can. We do hope we will see you again.

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

stayed at the hotel for one night on a work conference , enjoyed my stay. Had an enjoyable drink at the bar and yummy dinner at the pavillion. Staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are tidy and clean - air conditioning was very much appreciated though was quite noisey! great meals and prompt room service. Would definately come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tessnjosh
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you Tessnjosh, for taking the time to place your thoughts and feedback online. Trust your conference was productive. It's great to read that you enjoyed some of our restaurants and bar whilst at the hotel. Thank you for choosing Distinction.

auckland
Reviewed 2 April 2017

I love reading reviews where people pick on the tiniest most pettiest points which really have no bearing on your visit! I find them entertaining rather than helpful. Hopefully I can summarize my visit with points which are valid and expected for this price point. Firstly the staff. You can't really fault them. They are friendly, professional and always smiling....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank matu64
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

And I loved reading the intro to your feedback. Thank you for your comments and taking the time to place them online. They are valid and areas will be addressed. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back again.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

Had to find accomadation quick as my plans had changed , checked in at 1130pm absolutely no hassles within 5mins I was in my suite very big a spacious 2 queen beds bathroom tv desk etc. when I woke up in the morning I realized there was a beautiful elegant little balcony off my room looking into a heated pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zarahenkel
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Always great to read such fabulous comments regarding our team. And glad to read that your stay although not planned was enjoyable to service expectations were as they should be. We look forward to welcoming you any time day or night. Till then, safe travels

Sunnyvale, California
Reviewed 29 March 2017

Distinction Rotorua Hotel is just an average place; it is not great but it is not bad. The breakfasts are OK; but not special If you are going to Rotorua and can get a good price at this hotel, then OK.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Robert H. Our apologies you felt the hotel was only average and our breakfast which has the largest selection in Rotorua was not special. Thank you for staying with us.

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
812 reviews
2.1 km away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
2.8 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
2.9 km away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#33 of 92 in Rotorua
1,120 reviews
0.6 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 390 Fenton Street | PO Box 983, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: ₹ 5,877 - ₹ 10,076 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Rotorua Hotel And Conference Centre
Distinction Hotel Rotorua
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Suite in room 314 is lovely, spacious and airy.”
Darren_R_Beckett, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Delux King rooms haven't been updated yet.”
matu64, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“noisy ground floor, only one working lift”
ash139, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upper floors facing south have nice views.”
  • View from room
  • Inside room
jeffr415, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose GF room”
JohnnnyBGood, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$ 95* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$ 203
Expedia.comUS$ 95
TravelocityUS$ 95
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates