We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Hotels.comUS$ 74*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 83*
US$ 74*
Great Deal
US$ 82*
US$ 82*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,455 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,351: English reviews
Start your review of Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
 Click to rate
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It is ideally situated with Pak n' Save just a corner down, thermal hot springs just a walking distance away and of course it is just next to the lake. Stayed in the newer rooms of this hotel for two nights, which had modern and clean rooms. They don't have a lift in the building that we stayed in and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suaneywaney
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for your kind comments and review, I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager

Berkeley, California
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel was just okay. Standard motel rooms, okay bathroom, okay TV, limited wifi service. The hotel seemed pretty crowded with a lot of university kids using the common areas. We were able to get some laundry done fairly cheaply which was a nice plus. Unfortunately we saw a cockroach in our room, which was rather unpleasant. We were quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nachty
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for your time to post your feedback and rating, I am sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your stay with us, we do have a pest control program in place but unfortunately we will get the odd unwelcome bugs. Kind regards Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager

Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Beautifully situated right next to some thermal activity and views of the Museum. There were lots of parking available with easy access to all rooms. We booked late, and needed a room for 4, and were accommodated for at a very affordable price. The staff were personable and looked to make conversation and be helpful. The rooms had everything we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juno R
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Hi Juno Thanks for your kind comments and review, I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff made such a nice impression. Kind regards Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

An older hotel at the "smelly end" of Lake Rotorua. If the sulphur smells bother you, seriously, stay somewhere else. The smell hits you as soon as you open the door and you can't sleep with the windows open. The hotel itself is large, and caters mostly to groups - think busloads coming and going at the same time. Also,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Windyindy007
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for you feedback, we are constantly refurbishing our rooms and public areas as you mentioned and we do have mobility access to the restaurant (maybe missed the sign at the lobby?) we also provide with accessible rooms if requested on your booking, I really appreciate your kind comments in regards to our staff, thank you. Kind regards...

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Was disappointed with my stay at this hotel, my husband and I were travelling with friends the hotel block where our rooms were situated I feel need a makeover, our rooms which were adjacent definitely had a damp odour (not Rotorua sulphur) our stay was over a a night of heavy rain and the roof above us did leak rather...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry W
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Hi Terry Thanks for your review and rating, we did have a very bad weather and storm for several days in Rotorua unfortunately we weren't aware of some leaks on the roof I am really sorry about this and the inconvenience, by the way we have already fixed the leaks, I am happy to know that we were able to...

Manila, Philippines
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We love this place not only for its accommodations and hospitality, but for its strategic location. It's situated beside the famous Polynesian Spa and a stone's throw away from many commercial establishments and eateries. The bed is comfortable and warm.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brianmikelim
Maree W, Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Brianmikelim Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay on Tripadvisor. I am glad you enjoyed your trip to Rotorua and hope we can welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Maree Welgus Executive Assistant Manager

Auckland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Amazing staff all over this hotel from the front desk to the bar and restaurant they couldn't do enough for you, were very helpful and genuinely seemed like they enjoyed the jobs. Location is great just by the lake and they have a very relaxing heated pool

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
Maree W, Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Dave G Thank you for sharing your experience at Sudima Lake Rotorua on Tripadvisor. We do have a very friendly team here who genuinely want our guests to enjoy their stay at Sudima and also enjoy our beautiful city of Rotorua. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Maree Welgus Executive Assistant Manager

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent 2 nights here . One of which was our Wedding Anniversary. The room was ok but overlooked the car park where the tou buses picked up and dropped off which was sometimes late into the evening so it could be noisy. The air conditioning was poor and we ended up sleeping with the window open and the smell of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank midge_10
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for your review, I am sorry we couldn't provide the service you were after for such a special occasion, I also apologize if our team didn't deliver the quality of service for which we are well know,l I hope you give us another opportunity at some stage in the future. Kind regards Atalo de la Rocha /...

Gisborne, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent two night here over Easter. Nice, clean and friendly staff. Nice and warm throughout the Hotel and great central location. Didn't eat at the restaurant but it looked pretty good. Nice bar area too overlooking the lake.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rus H
Maree W, Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Rus H Thank you for you sharing your comments on Tripadvisor. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Sudima Lake Rotorua in the near future. Kind Regards Maree Welgus Executive Assistant Manager

Culver, Indiana
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The front desk staff welcomed us on our arrival and were well organized and helpful. We got to our superior rooms quickly. My room was certainly of decent size and with very good air conditioning. The room as well as the bathroom could really use an overhaul. The bed was quite comfortable. The breakfast buffet was not outstanding but certainly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jney777
Maree W, Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear jney777 Thank you for your comments from your recent stay... I welcome your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Kind Regards Maree Welgus Executive Assistant Manager

347 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (318)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Other (120)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 km away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.0 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.7 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#32 of 93 in Rotorua
1,100 reviews
2.3 km away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 93 in Rotorua
797 reviews
0.6 km away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#38 of 93 in Rotorua
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rotorua is one of New Zealand’s most exciting destinations - with fascinating history, rich Maori culture, and an enormous selection of attractions to experience. While visiting Rotorua, your premier accommodation choice is Sudima Lake Rotorua. Sudima Lake Rotorua is the largest hotel in Rotorua, and is set right on the shores of beautiful Lake Rotorua. The hotel is also adjacent to the world famous Polynesian Spa complex, Rotorua Museum and Government Garden, and just a short stroll from the Rotorua Convention Centre, the Energy Event Centre and Rotorua’s vibrant city centre. Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua offers 250 guest rooms in a range of accommodation options, many with superb views across Lake Rotorua. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Address: 1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: ₹ 4,706 - ₹ 10,034 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#28 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Clearwater, Florida
Mont Tremblant, Canada
8 months ago
Gold Coast Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request for the newly renovated rooms”
suaneywaney, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Request a room not on the ground floor!”
nachty, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms closest to Main Hotel are best”
junor2017, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you want a view of the lake, ask for a room in block 1. Everything else overlooks the car park or the blocks opposite.”
Windyindy007, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try to get one with very little stink of the Sulphur”
  • Plenty of walking area
  • Nice bathroom area
  • Plenty of to sleep in
  • All supplies needed
  • Relaxation area
4x4wheelers, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$ 74* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 82
Sudima RotoruaUS$ 82
TripAdvisorUS$ 74
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates