We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,397 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,299: English reviews
Start your review of Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
 Click to rate
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our room was a superior room with a queen bed in the main room and two twin beds in a separate room so would have been good for a family. There was plenty of room to store your luggage/clothes and finally a bathroom with a bath tub and space to put your toiletries! Our room was very clean and one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pcanders
Monza, Italy
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Staying at theSudima Lake Rotorua Hotel l has been a real pleasure. We got a huge and comfortable ensuite double room with 2 king-size beds. We also had the possibility to test some free samples of excellent spa products (we found them in the bathroom). The hotel is not in the very city centre, but it is well located on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BurgerQueen78
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Awful, reminded me of university halls of residence. Tired in desperate need of up grade and decoration. Curtains torn bathroom dirty, fridge old with black mould on the seal. Bed clean linen clean, air conditioner did not work. Would not go back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hellfire28
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for your feedback, I am sorry that our property reminded you those university halls, we are trying our best to upgrade our facilities and most of our superior rooms have gone through the process which will still continue this year, I have addressed some of the issues you mention to our team as ripped net curtains and...

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

My wife and I came here for vacation and stayed 2 nights. Advertisement says its lake view hotel, which it is... however truth is hotel is next to body of water called sulfur flats. Constant rotten smell. Beware ...,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam O
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel was clean and comfortable,though our room was a bit dark and cramped due to two double beds in the room. Great for families but not couples. The bar area was big and airy but one of the settees was torn. It was a big breakfast area, breakfast was ok. The staff was very helpful. This hotel also had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Kim Thanks for your feedback and review, we are totally replacing the couch you mention in a couple of weeks, we are just waiting for the new ones to arrive, thanks for your kind comments in regards to the rest of our facilities and our staff. I hope we can welcome you back at some stage in the near...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Having stayed in Sudima hotels in the past I had high expectations of the Sudima Rotorua Unfortunately I was very disappointed. The building had the look of 1970s University accomodation and the rooms are very tired. For example our room had ripped net curtains with a large hole in them. The bathroom was showing its age. All in all the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Broardie
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for your feedback, I am sorry that our property has disappointed you, I totally understand your comments as by no means we can compete with our other Sudima Hotels which are new or recently refurbished, we are trying our best to upgrade our facilities and most of our superior rooms have gone through the process which will...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The rooms were reasonable. They were clean and modern enough. However, the room was quite hot (found out later that the thermostat was set very high). The staff were extremely friendly, they always greeted you, even when walking past you in the hallway. The breakfast was really good with a wide range of options.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liam E
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Liam Thanks for such a nice review, I really appreciate your nice comments and I'm so happy to read that our staff made such a nice impression. Kind regards Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Quite an outdated hotel, and we needed to pay to use the wifi. The rooms were small and quaint and there was free parking nearby which was good. Staff were friendly and bathrooms were clean so can't complain.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed one night and booked three rooms. All six of us were pleased with our rooms. They were clean and comfortable, and the staff was helpful in every way. We would like to mention especially the duty manager Mr Koczinski ( I am sorry if I spell the name wrong) who did a great job.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lin T
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Lin Thanks for your kind and nice review about our hotel, I am really happy to read that you enjoyed our hospitality and facilities, I hope we can welcome you back at some stage in the near future. Kind regards Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed for one night could of stayed for more. We had a lovely big room facing the lake in a good position opposite Polynesian spa which we visited, room was spotless and had everything you needed. Enjoyed our buffet breakfast and evening meal and also happy hour in the bar and all staff were so friendly. We will definitely stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane D
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Diane I am so please and happy to read your feedback, it is always nice when our guests mention the words "Loved it", I hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager

321 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (292)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Other (113)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.2 km away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
2.4 km away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 93 in Rotorua
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#26 of 93 in Rotorua
1,068 reviews
1.5 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
2.2 km away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#47 of 93 in Rotorua
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rotorua is one of New Zealand’s most exciting destinations - with fascinating history, rich Maori culture, and an enormous selection of attractions to experience. While visiting Rotorua, your premier accommodation choice is Sudima Lake Rotorua. Sudima Lake Rotorua is the largest hotel in Rotorua, and is set right on the shores of beautiful Lake Rotorua. The hotel is also adjacent to the world famous Polynesian Spa complex, Rotorua Museum and Government Garden, and just a short stroll from the Rotorua Convention Centre, the Energy Event Centre and Rotorua’s vibrant city centre. Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua offers 250 guest rooms in a range of accommodation options, many with superb views across Lake Rotorua. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Address: 1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: ₹ 5,568 - ₹ 11,280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#25 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Clearwater, Florida
Mont Tremblant, Canada
5 months ago
Gold Coast Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If needed, mention need of elevator access when booking.”
 of 5 bubbles pcanders, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Visit Tutanekai St. for dinner and visit the redwoods in the evening with the lights shining upon them”
 of 5 bubbles 630bass, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were in 300 room block which had air con.”
 of 5 bubbles Pupstar05, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't book near the entrance if you value quiet nights.”
 of 5 bubbles alatoa, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“would be nice to have a room facing the geyser.”
 of 5 bubbles 984evelyns, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5