We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool

Show Prices
#54 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

28 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 23: English reviews
Start your review of MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Older property, has had some updates done in the kitchen with a newer fridge, microwave, stove & all the dishware needed to cook a meal or relax with wine, cheese & crackers. It was cute and safe, the bathroom needed some updating and the towels could have been a bit cleaner for our liking. While the place itself is near...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Msgraceful
HaiyanandHong, Owner at MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool, responded to this review

Thank you for kindly taking the time to write a review for us. We appreciate the positive feedback and are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in Malfroy. We will take your advice to change the towels soon. We look forward to meeting you again when you have chance to come up to Rotorua

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A group of us stayed in the family suite. Beds, lounges etc were great. Kitchen didn't have anywhere near enough equipment for a family, bathroom shower door wouldn't stay closed, shower rose wouldn't stay up. Amenities and geothermal pool were great idea but untidy and not maintained, very uninviting, none of us used. Wifi was garbage, dropped out then stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kerrie P
HaiyanandHong, Owner at MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool, responded to this review

Thank you, Kerrie, for spending time to view us. And also thank you for 2 day's staying in Malfroy from 5th April. We don't think we have communication barrier. Except of check-in, we only have communications when you came in the office on 7th April and told us you were leaving, and we informed you that we couldn't refund on...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice motel, comfy, warm (rainy day) nice to have comfy chairs. Could walk to town. Bus pick up for Maori performance and hungi dinner. Was raining so had to stay put and was comfortable to sit in recliner chairs for afternoon. Would recommend for price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda V
HaiyanandHong, Owner at MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool, responded to this review

Thank you for kindly taking the time to write a review for us. We appreciate the positive feedback and are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in Malfroy. We look forward to meeting you again when you have chance to come up to Rotorua

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Top service and accommodation. Including the lovely thermal pool. Its a terrific destination anyway, with just too much to see and do, rain or sun. The staff were excellent and our room exceeded expectation

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EFranklin123
HaiyanandHong, Owner at MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool, responded to this review

Thank you Mr. Franklin for kindly taking the time to write a review for us. We appreciate the positive feedback and are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in Malfroy.

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

Everything you would need, a full kitchen, comfortable bed, TV and Internet that both worked well. They also have their own mineral pool for a free soak and a small pool for relaxing in after the hot soak.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DJS1950
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We check-in in evening (due to wet weather traffic) and leave in next morning, not much time even to use the hot pool , which was once our plan. However we still say "worth" because we know how much we paid for. The facilities must had been up-graded , bed are comfortable, reasonable room size ,very tidy and good shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank topbeast
HaiyanandHong, Owner at MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool, responded to this review

Thank you Tommy for kindly taking the time to write a review for us. We appreciate the positive feedback and are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in Malfroy. We look forward to meeting you again when you have chance to come up to Rotorua

christchurch
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Stayed 2 nights here in a comfy room overlooking the garden, two recliner chairs for TV watching - what a treat - great range of toiletries including shampoo and vanity set, good selection of tea/coffee, enjoyed the small pools and pretty garden/hanging baskets. Easy walking to the main commercial area. Though it was on a main road there was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tesstravels10
HaiyanandHong, Owner at MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool, responded to this review

Thank you tesstravels10 for kindly taking the time to write a review for us. We appreciate the positive feedback and are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in Rotorua.

Bucks, England
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Stayed 2 nights whilst exploring Rotorua. Big clean room, with very well equipped kitchenette. Nice touch was the plunge sulphur pool in the garden which we used both days. Be warned do not wear silver or rose gold in the pool as they go black! If you forget, soaking in Coke will clean them up.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NickC1959
HaiyanandHong, Owner at MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool, responded to this review

Thank you Nick for kindly taking the time to write a review for us. We appreciate the positive feedback and are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in Rotorua. Kind Regards Haiyan and Hong

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 24 December 2016

This is an old hotel that has had much renovation. We were only here for one night. I believe the owners are doing the best they can to keep their place clean and comfortable. Our room, #5, could have used a new stove top and toaster. It is located on a busy road and parking is a little challenging. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dr John D
HaiyanandHong, Owner at MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool, responded to this review

Hi Dr John D Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Unfortunately we cannot help the traffic around the motel, since you have chosen a property that is conveniently close to the City Centre and alongside a roundabout. Anyway,wish you have a good trip in New Zealand Regards Haiyan and Hong

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

My family and I enjoyed a comfortable 2D1N stay in this clean and self-contained accommodation. The size of the lodging is not large but the entire area has been cleverly designed so as not to feel crammed i.e. toilet is partitioned into a wash basin, shower, and toilet bowel area. One inconvenience is that the bedrooms are located near to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 327tesq

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.8 km away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#14 of 93 in Rotorua
379 reviews
1.1 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.4 km away
BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Arista Capri Motel
Arista Capri Motel
#5 of 93 in Rotorua
512 reviews
0.5 km away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
1.9 km away
Red Rock Thermal Motel
Red Rock Thermal Motel
#23 of 93 in Rotorua
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With our own geothermal re-injection bore, MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool allows our guests a therapeutic and relaxing experience by providing comfortable and affordable, centrally heated accommodation for Families, Couples, and Business Travellers - plus free, unlimited, high speed, in room WiFi. Our apartments are set in attractive gardens with local artists murals, carvings and statues, a genuine Mineral Pool (Spa), a heated Plunge Pool, Barbecue, and a secure children's play area. We are conveniently located for the fantastic local attractions, are close to Rotorua's largest shopping mall, and to the CBD where you will find a choice of boutique clothing and souvenir shops, good coffee stops, a range of quality restaurants and a number of lively bars. Come and stay for a while, and we will look after you and help you to have a great time in and around Rotorua. ... more   less 

Additional Information about MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool

Address: 51 Malfroy Road | Victoria, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: ₹ 5,644 - ₹ 9,741 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malfroy Motor Hotel Rotorua
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#10 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#19 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#23 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#38 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pay for the family room”
EFranklin123, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Give this facility a big miss”
JamesaM371, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms near the pool will have less road noise, but more pool noise.”
crystalo978, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
3 of 3