We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bounty Motel

Show Prices
#13 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bounty Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

184 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bounty Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 174: English reviews
Mumbai, India
Reviewed 13 June 2016

Very nice place to stay. Rooms are clean and good atmosphere. Its a budget hotel so bedrooms are little small but convienient. No regrets for staying there. Balcony is lake facing and ambience is good. Recommended for budget stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mayurharia
BountyMotel, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments.I was puzzled when you mentioned "lake front"as we have no lake here only the sea/ocean,so was wondering whether you are reviewing the right place. The unit if you stayed here in was our newly renovated rooms which do have a balcony. One thing though you would have found that we are in easy walking distance to...

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 May 2016

Nice place with an owner that actually cares about whether you had a good stay or not. Rooms are clean and tidy and the internet is very fast and free and depending what deal you are on has a free continental breakfast thrown in which is basic but good. Overall very nice place to spend some time.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mozzroom
BountyMotel, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

thank you, we certainly do care that you enjoy your stay, that is all important to us and I am glad you noticed!

Cooma, Australia
Reviewed 28 May 2016

Breakfast , studio,clean friendly staff. Close to township and all the action in walking distance. If not happy with this abode you are very hard to please. We got the sandwich board deal which had a king size bed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andybibb
BountyMotel, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Our aim IS to please, so thanks for that. By the way, ALL our rooms have super-king size beds, and even most of our single beds are king-single too.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 26 May 2016

This motel is in an excellent location. It is only one block back from the beach & the shops, so it lacks the bay views, but also avoids the people & traffic noise. Room was very large, perhaps the largest we had in 11 days' stay in NZ. Room was very comfortable & well set up. Room had bed lights...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dstargazer
BountyMotel, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

We are delighted you were so happy with your stay. Thanks for the great review. Hopefully we may see you back again some day?

western australia
Reviewed 19 May 2016

Just left the bounty motel after 2 nights fantastic value very clean . The bed was super comfy wifi great , came with continental breakfast , hot drink ,toast, spreads ,4 different cereals ,fruit,yogurt . A great bonus included to start the day . Paul on reception was very helpful recommend a yummy resturant great value jimmy jacks ,very pleasant...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank candymum
BountyMotel, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive review. Our aim is always to make your stay a great one, so we love to hear from happy guests!

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 May 2016

We stayed in a family room for 4 people to explore the Bay of Islands and we found the rooms to be pleasantly made. They even had an extra bed set up apart from 2 single beds & 1 double bed. Our car broke down at the motel just as we were about to leave, and they made sure that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank avp5
BountyMotel, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay!

Camberley, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 May 2016

Paihia is a premier resort. Central, though Paihia is not large. Large rooms. Fridge, microwave and associated implements. Beach, lots of restaurants and cruises all available within a few minutes' walk. Very nicely laid out, not as utilitarian as standard motels. Helpful receptionist. Breakfast at extra cost but not worth the money.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Antony O
BountyMotel, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your mostly positive comments. We charge only $7.50 for a buffet choice of stewed fruit, yoghurt, cereals, toast and spreads, tea and coffee. I know of nowhere else you could get the same cheaper. Let me know if you find somewhere!

Sydney
Reviewed 9 April 2016 via mobile

We used this as a base for a couple of days to explore the Bay of Islands and it was perfect for what we needed. 5 min walk to the beach and ferry/jetty and with easy access to the local bars and restaurants. Paihia is a tourist town, but a good example of the type and it's a great jump...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pam G
BountyMotel, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Thanks Pam, glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are indeed so handy to everything, but not right on the main road so it's very quiet mostly.

Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed in a 1brm refurbished room over the New Years period which was nicely furnished and comfortable. We were happy with our room and the close proximity to the waterfront without the hefty pricetag. The hosts were very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable with the attractions in the area and helping us find tickets for the tours.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nzchick7
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 27 March 2016

My partner and I spent two nights in Paihia and stayed in one of the new renovated suites. We were greeted by a lovely owner who was more than happy to spend time giving us suggestions for dinner, activities and also where to find things like supermarkets around town. He gave us a fantastic suggestion for dinner which turned out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Megan H

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.1 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.9 km away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 44 in Paihia
432 reviews
0.1 km away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 44 in Paihia
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
0.9 km away
Averill Court Motel
Averill Court Motel
#5 of 44 in Paihia
273 reviews
0.2 km away
Outrigger Motel
Outrigger Motel
#4 of 44 in Paihia
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bounty is a Kiwi owned and operated property, located in a quiet suburb approx 100 meters from the Paihia Beach, shops and restaurants. It is a 3 minute walk to the wharf for dolphin watching, fishing trips, sightseeing and ferry to Russell. Tours to 90 mile beach and Cape Reinga pick you up at the motel entrance.We have a conference area for small groups up to 60 with catering facilities and kitchen. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bounty Motel

Address: 42 Selwyn Rd | PO Box 170, Paihia 0200, New Zealand (Formerly Paihia Central Motel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Price Range: ₹ 4,333 - ₹ 10,417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bounty Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Bounty Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bounty Hotel Paihia
Bounty Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Paihia
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#19 Family Hotel in Paihia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bounty Motel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
over a year ago
Paihia, New Zealand
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Bounty Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It is two stories so if you need ground floor ask the question.”
 of 5 bubbles 158tomo, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 22 is ground floor and at the attractive front of the property.”
 of 5 bubbles Pepster56, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 27 has a view.”
  • Inside unit 27
  • Interior.
 of 5 bubbles penhen33, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“From motel 23 we looked out to stairs both front and back leading to upstairs so not the most private and made unit dark.”
 of 5 bubbles marief74, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I assume higher units have views. No view in our studio at ground level, but very quiet with easy access to vehicle.”
 of 5 bubbles JohnandKayleneB, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5