We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Saltwater Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Saltwater Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

81 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Saltwater Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 72: English reviews
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2016

I was only going to stay a night or two but ended up staying for over a week. Excellent facilities that are always clean and well looked after. The staff are friendly and very helpful. It's nice to have a dryer that dries your clothes the first time around. There's nothing I feel this hostel is lacking and would stay... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank HopelessWanderer1122
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing a lovely comments about your stay with us. We can't wish for more than happy guest who want to stay longer. Our priority is to make every stay an enjoyable experience. We wish you all the best on your journey around New Zealand. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2016 via mobile

I've recently spent the past two months staying at Salwater Lodge and I wouldn't stay at another hostel. Its a spacious, clean and well equipped hostel, with a great social vibe and nice common area. The friendly managers and good lay out means you'll not find it hard to meet people but if you want to relax and have some... More 

Helpful?
Thank kerryandrachel
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kerry, We would like to thank you for your amazing review and the time sharing your experience with travelers. We are thrilled that you had great time staying with us and that you went back to travel with lots of memories from Paihia. We appreciate your very kind words regarding our Lodge. We wish to have travelers like you... More 

Augsburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed here up for 4 nights and everything was perfect! The rooms are very big and clean, there is a big balcony where you can relax with your friends or just enjoying sitting in the sun. At the evening you can go to pubs, which are very close to the hostel or cook something in the kitchen and just have... More 

Helpful?
Thank marc_2096
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Marc, we want to thank you for commenting our Lodge so highly. It is our priority to make all of our guests happy and make them feel like home. Therefore we are glad to hear that you had a good time. We wish you safe travels and have a great time in New Zealand. More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2016 via mobile

This is an amazing hostel!! Right from the beginning the customer service was great when I wasn't sure if I was staying 2 nights or 3. I was able to pay for my first 2 nights and then come back to pay for my third when I decided how long to stay in Paihia. The wifi is free, unlimited, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sadiedude
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sadiedude, We appreciate you took the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at our Lodge. It sounds like you had a fabulous stay with us and we can't thank you enough for all your kind words about your experience. We wish you safe travels around New Zealand. Kindest regards, Lenka & Rohit More 

Benediktbeuern, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2016 via mobile

I could use the Saltwater Lodge Wifi free of charge without staying there, when the Wifi where I stayed didn't work properly. Thank you very much, Rohit, it was really very very kind of you! And it worked perfectly. Can only recommend your Lodge as I assume you would try to be of help for others as well. Gertrud

Helpful?
Thank Gertrud S
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your nice review. We are happy that we were able to assist you. We are very pleased that based on your experience you would recommend others to stay in our Lodge. Kind Regards Lenka & Rohit More 

Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
88 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2016

There aren't enough good things to say about this hostel. The staff was very helpful with the wifi and they were incredibly friendly. The rooms were very comfortable and I enjoyed every minute of it. It was a short walk to the beach and the internet worked very well, considering how many people were probably using it. If you're looking... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nick B
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing us for your stay and your delightful review. We are pleased to know that your stay was enjoyable. We are glad that our guests have pleasant experience and nice memories on Bay of Islands. We wish you safe travels around New Zealand. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit More 

middlesbrough
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2016

Ugly building but spacious clean rooms and kitchen area. One of the best equipt kitchens I've seen travelling, only downside was no pool. But 5 min walk to beach. not cheap but not expensive, would stay again.

Helpful?
Thank recharnock
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Recharnock, Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences about our Lodge. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you appreciated our Kitchen facilities, rooms and location. Our building structure unfortunately don't give us space for pool. But as you mention we are only 5 minutes from beach which means our guests... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2016 via mobile

I have stayed at many backpackers over the years but this one takes the cake. It was very clean, tidy and the facilities were great. The common room had a very family feel and was kept in a very clean condition. We had our own ensuite in the room which of above any of the standards of bathrooms I've experienced... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amy W
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are new in Paihia, however we think this is amazing place to visit. We try to do our best to help our guests enjoy this lovely place the most. We appreciate your feedback on our facilities and we are happy to hear that you found our rooms comfortable . Thank you for recommending our... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2016 via mobile

Staff are friendly and helpful Rooms and clean and have ensuites. Rec room has heaps of rooms with lounges and a big kitchen. Also has a bbq and plenty of cooking facilities. Also has movies and a tv. Close to the centre of Paihia if you want to take cruises out to the islands.

Helpful?
Thank Catia S
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Catia, Thank you for your nice comments. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Have a nice travels and if you will be in Paihia again we would be happy to host you. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2016 via mobile

Staff very friendly! Rooms are very clean with own bathroom. Common room big and clean. There is table tennis and a soccer table in the common room. Can borrow bikes to ride around town on. Also has washing facilities. Very close to town, and good price! Definitely stay here again!

Helpful?
Thank Jemma_Peterswald
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jemma, Thank you for your comments about Lodge. We appreciate that you share your experience about what we offer to our Guests to enjoy their stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and all the best for your travels. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit More 

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.1 km away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
401 reviews
1.2 km away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.7 km away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.6 km away
Haka Lodge Paihia
Haka Lodge Paihia
#3 of 28 in Paihia
145 reviews
0.8 km away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Saltwater Lodge

Address: 14 Kings Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Price Range: ₹ 1,919 - ₹ 6,786 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Saltwater Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Saltwater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saltwater Lodge Paihia, Bay Of Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Saltwater Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book early”
  • Spacious Double Room
 of 5 bubbles KelefehMan, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Choose the 2nd level, the rooms are larger!”
 of 5 bubbles Kiwicaty, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room 9 is the furtherest away from the road and bars, and also the communal lounge which can get noisy too.”
 of 5 bubbles Teagle, 10 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Chose a dorm with only four beds, it will be more quiet !”
 of 5 bubbles annb674, 2 Jul 2013 | Read review
“We had a double room with ensuite and it had TV and coffee making facilities and small fridge. Our room was on the second floor and we had a view of distant mountains across the bay. Had a table and chairs outside door on the balcony for sitting if we desired. Second floor is best as it is away from kitchen and this can get noisy at certain times of the day. .”
 of 5 bubbles Alexis935, 31 Mar 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay