We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Tanoa Paihia Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Tanoa Paihia Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tanoa Paihia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 167: English reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2015 via mobile

Every single staff member we dealt with was absolutely wonderful! All happy, helpful and caring. Big smiles and willing to go the extra mile! The rooms were clean but everything was very old and dated and the pillows needed upgrading as they were flat and lumpy. Bathrooms nice though. Spa pool and pool area looked great, though we didn't use...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Georgia R
socmed, General Manager at Tanoa Paihia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Georgia Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding our Team here at Tanoa Paihia. We have a mission within the Tanoa Hotel Group that leads with "The Tanoa Way" and key to fulfilling that mission is our People doing things excellently for our Customers and having fun. It pleases me very much when Guests like yourself acknowledge...

Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewed 4 June 2015

Let me start my review by saying that the only reason we stayed at this hotel was because it was part of a tour package that we booked through a travel agency offering an amazing deal on travel to New Zealand. But, if I were to actually have picked this hotel on my own, I think I would have been...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Deborah H
TanoaPaihia, General Manager at Tanoa Paihia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Your comments raise a number of positive aspects regarding the hotel which I'd like to highlight in brief: 1. "impeccably clean" 2. "spotless bathrooms" 3. "no bugs" 4. "nice staff" "super friendly" "go above and beyond" 5. "very affordable" Guest Laundry "very clean" Regarding the negative aspects: Carpet and Beds need replacing - we're aware that some rooms...

Auckland
Reviewed 19 May 2015

Book this hotel for 2 days, the guy at the reception is very friendly and helpful (Kanish), but Duty Manager "Shirley Mosbey" was really rude and keep a close watch on all the guest, (I felt that way), She completely ruined our holidays...I never visit this hotel please pay bit extra and go somewhere else where you can atleast use...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 403ruchits
socmed, General Manager at Tanoa Paihia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer I apologise if you feel you weren't treated with the courtesy that all Guests deserve and usually receive at this hotel. I note that your complaint is not about the hotel but about an individual and it would have been helpful if you had brought this to my attention while you were here. I certainly would have dealt...

Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 May 2015

I stayed here with my Topdeck Travel tour group and I was pleasantly surprised. The beds were super comfortable with a very clean room and bathroom with all the amenities that were needed for a two night stay. The pool and hot tub area was small but lovely and relaxing in the sunshine, although the pool was incredibly cold! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KatieDev92
TanoaPaihia, General Manager at Tanoa Paihia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Katie Thanks for your comments regarding the Hotel and the Paihia area generally. Naturally we love the Bay of Islands and what it has to offer travellers and, we are especially delighted to host Top Deck Tours and have been doing so for a number of years now. I hope future travellers will note your comments. Kind Regards, Ted...

Rotorua, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 May 2015

My wife and I went to Paihia for a two day, two night, break from the family and work. We got a great deal when the owner matched a Grabone deal that was operating at the same time. We spent most of each day doing the tourist thing and our evenings at restaurants so not having a kitchen was fine....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tiraiwaka
TanoaPaihia, General Manager at Tanoa Paihia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer We are always happy to hear from Guests who have enjoyed their stay with us. We get thousands of travellers here each year who enjoy the beauty of "The Bay" and we hope you can find the time to stay again in the future.........contact me directly. Your "Tip" is spot on - leave the car in the hotel...

Reviewed 5 May 2015 via mobile

Our 2nd stay here. Both times have met our expectations. Rooms are a good size, beds are comfortable and both times we have been it has been very quiet to stay. Walking distance from the main strip of Paihia, handy if u want a few drinks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thabeardfromoz
TanoaPaihia, General Manager at Tanoa Paihia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest It's great to hear that you returned from Oz to stay a second time with us. Returning Guests are the best recommendation any property can receive and we hope we will see you again in the future. Do let me know before you book. We remain "good value" accommodation, our weather is warm (in summer) and our beer...

Reviewed 1 May 2015 via mobile

I thoroughly enjoyed this hotel, it is a short walk into town where everything is, the rooms are well presented and comfy including a nice shower .... It wasn't too expensive neither so definitely get value for money!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank james9burton
socmed, General Manager at Tanoa Paihia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James Thanks for posting a review. You have identified exactly what we set out to achieve and that is value for money with great service, nice facilities and clean, comfy accommodation. I trust you enjoyed the rest of your travels and we hope to see you again. Kind Regards Ted Hatch General Manager

Reviewed 28 April 2015

We stayed here in the weekend, the rooms are okay but had a terrible experience with the staff at the dining area and front desk. We were told that f we wanted to add the hot breakfast, that will be additional $5 per child and $10 for adults, but once my child was getting her food, the person in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank G7459ZCcindyc
TanoaPaihia, General Manager at Tanoa Paihia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer I apologise sincerely for any unpleasantness experienced by you and your family at this hotel. I am surprised at the responses to you by our staff, it was totally out of order and I will take appropriate action. I expect a high standard of conduct from the staff here and both should have known better. With breakfast being...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 26 April 2015

This is a great place to stay with a few caveats. The big thing is that there is not much privacy because the area can get hot and the windows in the rooms need to be kept open. Also, the breakfast that comes with the booking is not very good. However, the staff is A+. the night skies are extraordinary,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank innerbum1
TanoaPaihia, General Manager at Tanoa Paihia Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property and your kind evaluation of our staff. We appreciate all constructive and objective comments as these allow to review our services and operation to better meet Guest requirements. I'm sorry that the breakfast didn't meet your expectation. The package you brought did only offer a Continental Breakfast. If there was anything in...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 12 April 2015

Stayed here for 2 nights, the rooms are clean, good sized and decent toilets. There is ample storage space in room. It is near the center of town with access to passenger ferry to Russel island and other island ferries. A nice supermarket is close by. You can use free wifi for certain GB and after that u pay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank leisure1507
TanoaPaihia, General Manager at Tanoa Paihia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer I'm so pleased that you have identified us as "good value for money" since we always try to offer rates which are competitive and, which booking seekers can easily see are reasonable for the location, facilities and services offered. Thank you for taking the time to review us. Kind Regards, Ted Hatch General Manager

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.8 km away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.5 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
1.0 km away
Falls Motel & Waterfront Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel
0.8 km away
Edelweiss Motel
Edelweiss Motel
#16 of 43 in Paihia
141 reviews
0.8 km away
Averill Court Motel
Averill Court Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Tanoa Paihia Hotel

Address: 5 Joyces Rd, Paihia 0252, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Price Range: ₹ 3,896 - ₹ 7,890 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tanoa Paihia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Tanoa Paihia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanoa Paihia Hotel Bay Of Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tanoa Paihia Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Corunna, Ontario, Canada
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Tanoa Paihia Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Value for money I guess if you don't expect a lot from housekeeping.”
 of 5 bubbles 753RogerG, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Our double room had 3 beds in it - too many. Otherwise all great.”
 of 5 bubbles , 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Wifi is limited and then you pay.”
 of 5 bubbles Gill300361, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We had the room at the back on the first floor. It was quite and peaceful.”
  • Room 2
  • Room 01
 of 5 bubbles Mumbaikar_Biker, 23 May 2016 | Read review
“There are no elevators so best to choose a lower level room if you can't carry all your luggage.”
 of 5 bubbles Weli, 2 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay