We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

River Retreat Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
River Retreat Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 32: English reviews
Start your review of River Retreat Bed & Breakfast
 Click to rate
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The accommodation is separate but very close to the owner’s main property. The room we had was a good size with a lot of nice touches and attention to detail. The room had a real quality feel to it. The bathroom was a good size with a nice shower. The bed was large and comfortable. The side of our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris-and-Soo
Karen O, Owner at River Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Hello again Kerry and I are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Our aim is for our guest to feel comfortable while they are here, and to have a pleasent time. Being central to Paihia and Kerikeri makes touring the Bay of Islands easy. It was really nice of you to take the time to write about your...

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I cannot fault this wonderful bed and breakfast. Spacious clean and comfortable rooms separated from the main building by a covered walkway. A deck area on which to sit with a drink and enjoy the river view. One bedroom has a river view and one has its own pretty garden area. The grounds are spacious with more seating areas provided...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet K
Karen O, Owner at River Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your lovely words. Kerry and I are happy you enjoyed your stay with us, we do try to do that little bit extra for our guests. Maybe we will see you again in the future. Many thnaks Karen & Kerry

Perth
Reviewed 1 week ago

You cannot complain about this place - it's beautiful. Very new, very clean, very fancy and a bottle of wine included (albeit Australian wine which is disappointing when in NZ). I think the only down side is the lady that runs it. She's very friendly but a little intimidating. There I've said it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank olthomas44
Karen O, Owner at River Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your kind words about our property and I am regret you were disappointed about the wine. I try to buy the best red in the price range we use for our guest to enjoy whether it is NZ Aust or from another country. I really go out of my way to be as helpful and friendly...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had the best start to our New Zealand holiday guesting at the River Retreat just outside of Paihia. Karen was a warm and welcoming hostess who made us feel special and looked after us very well, greeting us with a bottle of wine and special chocolates on arrival and cooking up the most amazing breakfasts every morning that kept...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trish2912
Karen O, Owner at River Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Hello to you all I hope that you son recovered enought to enjoy all the things you had planned. Kerry and I loved that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for all your knid words they mean a lot. We hope that in the future you might visit again it really was a pleasure meeting you and...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is an excellent B&B in a secluded and delightful riverfront setting. The rooms are spacious, self contained and beautifully furnished. The hostess is a charming lady who provides a wonderful breakfast and surprises her guests with edible treats left in the refrigerators in their rooms every day. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoff W
Karen O, Owner at River Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Hello Geoff Thank you for taking the time to review us. Kerry and I as very please you enjoyed your stay with us. We try to do that little extra to make our guest stay a pleasent one. Many thanks Karen

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a fabulous place to stay. Karen looks after her guests so well. The complimentary bottle of wine and Makana truffle chocolates on arrival were a lovely surprise. The accommodation is excellent with the view of the river just so beautiful. I would highly recommend you to stay here! Thanks so much Karen and Kerry.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miranda C
Karen O, Owner at River Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Hello Miranda We are very happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure having you and look forwrd to see you again in the future.

Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a spacious beautiful room at the back of the property with a balcony overlooking woods and the river. There was a huge comfortable bed, a well appointed shower room and tea and coffee making supplies and equipment, including a fridge into which Karen the host placed snacks such as fruit, cheese and pate every day. In addition there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cath212
Karen O, Owner at River Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We are very pleased that you enjoy the experience amybe we will see you agin in the future

Venice, Italy
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I took my wife here for a surprise weekend away and we had a great time. The room was super tidy, the host was very nice and the breakfasts were yummy. They even put champagne and chocolates in our room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danny495
Karen O, Owner at River Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. Kerry & I really hope that you enjoyed you stay with us and was a lovely week end for you both to celebrate your Anniversary. It was a pleasure having you.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2017

It's out in the country, overlooking the River Waitangi. You need a car. The rooms are spotless. The breakfast excellent. There is a beautiful grounds to walk in. The hosts are friendly and as helpful as possible. The guest rooms are set off to the side of the main house and offer privacy and a nice outside garden area. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank L0nd0nvisit0r
Karen O, Owner at River Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for you very kind words. We hope all our guest enjoy the eperience of our Property and we enjoy meeting new people. Many thanks

seattle wa
Reviewed 18 February 2017

We arrived at this B&B with no big expectations.. We were greated by Karen and a warm smile. She showed us our room... Beautiful.. clean.. comfortable... They had left us local chocolates and a bottle of red wine! The first morning we got up for breakfast only expecting the basics.. man were we wrong! Karen made us a full hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ashleyanne81
Karen O, Owner at River Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for you kind word we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Our aim is to make you stay as friendly and happy as possible. It is always ice to hear that we have done that. Look forward to seeinf you again in the future. Regards Karen & Kerry

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
1.3 km away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
6.6 km away
Morepork Riverside Lodge
1.9 km away
Chalet Romantica
Chalet Romantica
#3 of 21 in Paihia
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast
1.4 km away
Allegra House
Allegra House
#2 of 21 in Paihia
326 reviews
2.0 km away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Magical riverside setting, private and tranquil. 10 minutes to beaches. ... more   less 

Additional Information about River Retreat Bed & Breakfast

Address: 838 Puketona Road, Paihia 0204, New Zealand (Formerly RiverRun Retreat)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Price Range: ₹ 8,103 - ₹ 9,011 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — River Retreat Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your River Retreat Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Retreat Bed & Breakfast Paihia, Bay Of Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from River Retreat Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The attic room suitable for singles or larger group with queen bed and two singles”
Trish2912, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Garden room provides a lovely private garden courtyard sitting area. River room provides views of the river.”
geoffw121, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There are three private villas but ask for the one facing the river.”
TriciaH516, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Limited rooms available and I imagine all are good.”
Manyon, 8 Nov 2015 | Read review
“River room”
Sooji173, 30 Dec 2013 | Read review
5 of 5