We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Motel de la Mer

Show Prices
#18 of 48 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Motel de la Mer
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

212 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Motel de la Mer
See the most recent reviews
Showing 203: English reviews
Palmerston North
Reviewed 27 July 2016

My wife and I took advantage of a winter special on a penthouse apartment and loved it. We had previously stayed on 2 occasions in the regular rooms but the penthouse was a step up. The extra space and the sun filled lounge was brilliant for relaxing in on a winter's day. Great friendly service from the proprietors too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick F
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review. Best wishes John

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed in a penthouse unit on our birthday getaway. It was an immaculate setting with 180 degree views over Napier and the shore. The roar of the waves crashing onto the beach was awesome. The huge spa bath was a fabulous mood setter and the California King bed sealed the deal. The entire room layout just made you feel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerry H
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Hi Romantic Weekend We hope to see you back again someday. Best wishes John

Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

I have stayed at many places along the esplanade in Napier but rate this at the top. The 1bdr spa unit is fabulous with a view of the ocean and walking distance to the town. The hosts are friendly and helpful, the unit well presented and very comfortable and the position excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanna L
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review Best wishes John

Phuket, Thailand
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Have stayed here a few times and always good . Linen is always fresh . Always spotlessly clean and the owners are very friendly . This is just a short walk away from the town . Plenty of Restaurants close by . Would go back .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Thank you for your friendly review. Best wishes John

Papamoa, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 May 2016

John & Llanys were very accommodating and changed our room with no issues. Room with a view, spa, and bl**dy great big bed, also serviced to a very high standard daily On Marine Parade and near to everything, but just back off the road. Great place and hosts.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YvonnePapamoa
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Thank you for your warm review. Best wishes John

New Zealand
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Great place to stay ,Great location and great views from the 3rd floor and close to shops and beach .And super hosts will stay there again The room came with a spa and had a small kitchen and separate lounge The hosts were a great help with restaurants to and places to visit

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joandnoel
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

We look forward to you returning in the future. Best wishes John

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 April 2016

upon our arrival(early) they gave us some great recommendations for things to see while in town. very accommodating, had a wonderful stay,would happily recommend to anyone visiting or the surrounding areas.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank psharrow
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you agin someday. Best wishes John

Lyttelton, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 April 2016

We arrived at the motel late afternoon and were welcomed by John. After the usual check in formalities John asked if we would like any suggestions for dinner that evening. We hadn't anything booked for two of the three nights we were in Napier and welcomed his suggestions. We were not disappointed. John gave us a choice of milk options...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChrizBee59
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Thank you for fair and friendly review. Best wishes John

San Diego, California
Reviewed 2 April 2016

The two stars are for the accommodation, which was lovely. However, the small refrigerator was half full of mini-bar-type items that were for sale, and the coffee table had "art" on it that made it unusable. The main complaint is that, we, like a couple of other reviewers, found the insistence of the owners on servicing the room daily and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LandCruisers
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have few items in the mini bar but we only put them there from repeated requests. Most people do not seem to mind. There is a magazine on the table for you to read and can be moved if requested. We do take the customers views into consideration. We have a policy of servicing...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 March 2016

Motel de la Mer is a fabulous place to stay. Luxury at its best, fantastic operators, great views handy to everything perfect place to chill out.stayed 3 nights and if we wanted an apartment it would be designed the same as our aprtment here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger N
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Thank you for your warm friendly review. Best wishes and we hope to see you again someday. Best wishes John

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.3 km away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 48 in Napier
533 reviews
0.7 km away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 48 in Napier
642 reviews
0.9 km away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#8 of 48 in Napier
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The County Hotel Napier
2.4 km away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
2.4 km away
The Crown Hotel Napier
The Crown Hotel Napier
#3 of 48 in Napier
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Motel de la Mer looks forward to welcoming our customers having established ourselves as a favourite with business travellers and discerning holidaymakers, who relish luxury, and a genuine, hospital experience. Our stunning oceanfront location complemented by our spacious motel apartment suite accommodation is lavishly appointed with tasteful interior décor. Each of our suites has a luxurious, relaxed atmosphere and facilities to match. Spoiled for choice: Executive Studio, Deluxe Executive Suites with large in-room fresh water private spa's and Executive One Bedroom Suites (no spa), and Deluxe Penthouse Apartments with large fresh water in-room spas and spectacular views. Situated close to Napier's C.B.D, a variety of top class restaurants, cafe's, boutique shopping and a selection of activities with the oceanfront and promenade at your door. "McLean Park" is just a 12-15 minute stroll. A "Fabulous Sporting Arena" where all our "Major Rugby and Cricket" events are hosted!. Motel de la Mer has now achieved the TripAdvisor "Certificate of Excellence Award" for the fifth year running, and a place in the TripAdvisor Hall of Fame. This is all the more reason to come explore and experience Napier and the Hawkes Bay Region and our friendly hospitality at Motel de la Mer. Motel de la Mer - quality, superior, oceanfront suite accommodation - Relax with us in Napier, Hawkes Bay, where "Art Deco" lives on. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Motel de la Mer

Address: 321 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Price Range: ₹ 7,210 - ₹ 12,242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Motel de la Mer 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Motel de la Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De La Mer
De La Mer Hotel
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#17 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Motel de la Mer staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Motel de la Mer staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were happy with the ground floor due to my arthritic ankle, but the views from the balconies would be superb!”
 of 5 bubbles Oolonz, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I was in room 8. It was very good. View good You have to share the balcony - tho which I didn't like.”
 of 5 bubbles MrsBeasley09, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“No. 7 hard to beat if you don't want a spa”
 of 5 bubbles LoisM_13, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“John very good at helping and advising on the room that would best suit what you are looking for. He chose well for us anyway.”
 of 5 bubbles , 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Avoid giving out credit card details before your stay if possible”
 of 5 bubbles Hui_Chch, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay