We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Nautilus

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Nautilus
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

553 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Nautilus
See the most recent reviews
Showing 544: English reviews
tauranga
Reviewed 18 December 2014

I recently stayed with a group of golfers for 3 nights at the Nautilus and the spacious apartments allowed for 3 adult men to comfortably share with room to move & relax. The apartment was spotlessly clean & the staff were extremely helpful. My only criticism would be the lack of wardrobe space but the bathroom & kitchen areas were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mcalpine
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do appreciate your feed back and we are pleased that you and your group had a great time and appreciated the property. Delighted to hear that you all enjoyed the buffet breakfast.

Ngaruawahia, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 December 2014

Myself and my 24 year old daughter and 10 week old granddaughter were in dire need of a peaceful break. Accommodation was spacious and the spa bath fantastic. Bathroom was big enough for two women to put their make up on at once. The ocean views spectacular. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Yes there is a main road but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 4SherylH
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the wonderful view from your room. Hopefully we can accommodate you and your family again in the future.

Cheddar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2014

The problem with the Nautilus is not the room or the motel itself it is the really busy road that it sits on. We were given their quietest room but that meant at the side, two rooms from the front so still noisy. There is a port on the edge of Napier and all the large lorries from port drive...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sandjtravels
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review

Sorry you didn't have a comfortable stay. All our windows have hush glass. Napier is a highly productive region that imports and exports commodities through the port. The trucks travel along the parade only during peak periods.

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights over our wedding weekend and a large number of our guests did as well. The rooms are lovely and the location is great, but the service was a huge let down. The management had changed since we booked which was such a shame as the previous people were great to deal with. The new managers...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JetSetterJim
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review

We are glad that you were impressed with the facilities and the location of The Nautilus. We hope you enjoyed the complimentary bottle of bubby and chocolate & fruit platter. When the reservation was made for your wedding guest they were all given a special off peak rate for the rooms even though it was Labour Weekend. This was all...

Reviewed 22 November 2014

Stayed 2 nights in napier. Reason why I picked your hotel was spa pool, beach front and large bed. Very disappointed with the bed was really uncomfortable and our backs were sore each morning. Defiantly could upgrade as $175 a night is expect a great bed. Room was spacious and nice and clean. Thanks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ktlee2321
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review. Its great that you enjoyed the spa pool and the scenic view from your room. Most people don't have an issue with our beds as they find them very comfortable, but we are very sorry that you didn't. Thank you again for your comments.

Palm Springs, California
Reviewed 22 November 2014 via mobile

This hotel has several good virtues however it is not what I was hoping for based on other Trip Advisor feedback. First, the good stuff. The room had great views, was reasonably priced and was clean. Our room was on the third floor and gave us fantastic sunrise ocean scenery. The Internet strength was also very good. As for reality,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 758Paul423
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed the wonderful view from your room.

A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2014

Great location, fantastic spa in our room and comfortable bed. Booked a room on wotif the day before driving to Napier and were very happy with our choice. Parking spaces are very short but lots of them.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Many thanks for posting a review.

Upper Hutt
Reviewed 9 November 2014

A group of us - about 20 - meet every 2/3 years for a "re-union". This time the choice of venue was Napier. 6 months out The Nautilus was booked. Right from day one the service and help was superb. Communications sensible and timely. Room rate good value especially with the option of $40 for set menu dinner and breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review

We are delighted that you and your group had a wonderful time staying at The Nautilus. We are pleased that you appreciated the property and the facilities. Thank you so much for such a positive review.

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 9 November 2014

We stayed at The Nautilus for two nights on our tour of the North Island. Our second floor I bedroom apartment was spacious clean and well presented with furnished balcony for a glass of wine overlooking the beach and Marine Pde. Our tariff included breakfast that was served in the restaurant dining room, continental and full breakfast was excellent, this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrenB14
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review and for the positive feedback. Its great seeing guest making most of their time in Hawke's Bay visiting our local attractions. Would love to accommodate you again.

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 November 2014

Overall enjoyed my stay at this motel; the service, parking and views were excellent and the room large (larger than expected). I didn't experience any noise issues as other travellers have mentioned. And the views in the morning were simply gorgeous. Room: large bedroom equipped with floor to ceiling windows, couches and chairs plus a super comfy bed. Bathroom: featuring...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thetubmans
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review

Many thanks for your wonderful comments about the facilities that we offer. We are so pleased that you had a wonderful experience when staying with us. Yes the view from your room is quite spectacular especially the sunrise in the morning. So glad you enjoyed your meal from the Restaurant.

127 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (125)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
2.6 km away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.9 km away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 48 in Napier
808 reviews
1.0 km away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
1.2 km away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 48 in Napier
743 reviews
0.2 km away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 48 in Napier
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Nautilus Restaurant
The Nautilus Restaurant
Cuisines: International, European, Contemporary, New Zealand
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to The Nautilus Napier, New Zealand. The Nautilus is a sophisticated, Art Deco-inspired waterfront accommodation, designed for the discerning traveller. The Nautilus offers self-contained executive studios and suites, one bedroom apartments and premium suites, and a fully-licensed restaurant and bar. All 41 luxurious rooms offer stunning panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean, gorgeous double spa baths, private balconies and decor, furnishings and fittings with a contemporary twist on Napier's 1930's Art Deco theme. Designed for privacy and comfort, The Nautilus Napier is a world away from a traditional hotel. The apartments are spacious and beautifully decorated, offering the perfect choice for corporate travellers, couples searching for romance or those attending one of the many exciting events, concerts and festivals held here in vibrant Hawkes Bay, New Zealand. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Nautilus

Address: 387 Marine Parade, Napier, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Price Range: ₹ 7,200 - ₹ 11,913 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nautilus 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nautilus Hotel Napier
Nautilus Hotel Napier
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#5 Business Hotel in Napier
#6 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Nautilus staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Nautilus staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“First floor to get the views.”
 of 5 bubbles theoldone, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms face the beach”
 of 5 bubbles celine805, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Corner suites (I believe) are the biggest.”
 of 5 bubbles patricialA304ZV, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for first floor for views and a balcony to the sea front”
 of 5 bubbles 899salp, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for rooms on upper floors to reduce traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles HIK, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5