We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ibis Hamilton Tainui

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

886 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ibis Hamilton Tainui
See the most recent reviews
Showing 866: English reviews
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Great location and comfortable hotel. Staff where helpful and accommodating. As we had 2 adults and 3 kids we booked 2 room which were a-joining rooms, which was excellent. Enough space for us all. The rooms had all your basic amenities and we had a great view. The buffet breakfast was lovely and the kids enjoyed it very much. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank J496UEpamelac
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review

Dear J496UEpamelac Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards Clare Eccles Hotel Manaer

Australia
Reviewed 26 October 2016

I visited with my cousin and both of us ordered a cappuchino and he ordered a bowl of Kumara chips and garlic aioli. The young girl that served us looked like she was a trainee as evidenced by the fact that she forgot to bring the cappuchino to us, so we waited for awhile before my cousin got up and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EuniceTravels
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review

Dear EuniceTravels Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I apologise that is was not a positive one, I have shared your comments with the team to ensure improvements are made. Kind regards Clare Eccles Hotel Manager ibis Tainui Hamilton

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

I'll do a pros and cons first Pros Price Location - 6 mins walk to shops Room size - we got one with a single bed added in, just right for two people. View - river view Breakfast - included Staff - read review below Blanket included in room, didn't need to ask Cons $20 for parking- found out about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vid2uvid2u
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review

Dear vid2uvid2u Thank you for choosing to stay at ibis Tainui recently, I really appreciate you taking the time to post your review. It is great to read such positive comments about the team and I am sure when I share it with them it will encourage them to continue exceeding our guests expectations. We hope to welcome you again...

Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Stayed for one night on business. As usual, I had a prompt, efficient check-in, with a spotless room. The dinner was excellent and reasonably priced, with great service. Quick and easy check-out. Would happily stay at Ibis again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Napiercv
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review

Dear Napiercv Thank you for your great review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards Clare Eccles Hotel Manager Ibis Tainui Hamilton

Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Room setting is great and very tidy but without microwave. Toilet is sparkling clean but shower area is moldy - disgusting. Towels are clean but no longer as fluffy - like it been used for 5 years. I expected Ibis to be better than this ...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MurrayGie
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review

Dear MurrayGie Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is disappointing to read that you were not satisfied with your stay. Please accept my apologies for our short comings and rest assured that I have shared them the team so improvements can be made. Again thank you for your feedback and we hope...

Masterton, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 October 2016

I stayed here one night on business - the company travel agent made the booking. Small, compact room but good views of the river and at the end of the corridor. Even so, the noise from people coming out of the lift echoed down the corridor. Bed was comfortable, shower was good pressure. Having travelled a lot though I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey011
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review

Dear Tracey011 Thank you for choosing to stay at ibis Tainui recently and taking the time to post your feedback. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your visit and apologise that you were disappointed with our internet offering. We do offer guest complimentary internet in the public areas and for all LeClub Accorhotels members internet is also complimentary within...

Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

We went down on Queens birthday weekend . We found the hotel room to be good value for what you pay for($99) it had most the usual things in a good location. Parking was the only problem we found. We ended up parking at the casino instead.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick R
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review

Dear Nick R Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards Clare Eccles Hotel Manager Ibis Tainui Hamilton

Hartselle, Alabama
Reviewed 12 October 2016

The room was fairly small but clean. Our sleep was comfortable. The "amenities" stopped there, however. There was a charge for Internet / Wi-Fi / Parking ($20) / Breakfast. Essentially, only the 6 or 7 channels on the TV were included in the room rate. Granted, we typically stay in a private home when in NZ, but we will not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review

Dear Steve A Thank you for taking the time review your stay with us at Ibis Tainui Hamilton. I apologise that your were disappointed and your visit did not meet your expectations. I am pleased you found the reception team friendly and I will share your feedback with them. Kind regards Clare Eccles Hotel Manager Ibis Tainui Hamilton

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 October 2016

We stayed here on the night of our wedding so arrived late and left early the next morning. The room had a large, comfy bed and view of the river (shame it was a dreary day). Bathroom could be modernized. Buffet breakfast was included in the price, and although we had to eat in a rush as we were getting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alicem2
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review

Dear Alicem2 Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Ibis Tainui. It is pleasing to read that your enjoyed your quick visit with us. We hope to see you again another time. Kind regards Clare Eccles Hotel Manager Ibis Tainui Hamilton

Wellington
Reviewed 27 September 2016

I've stayed here a few times now and the place is consistently good. Even very, very good. The reception staff are very accommodating and helpful. The rooms have always been immaculate. I ordered the salt and pepper calamari for dinner and I was blown away with just how succulent and fresh it was. It just melted in your mouth. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RoverReturns
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review

Dear RoverReturns Its great to read that you always enjoy your visits with us at Ibis Tainui. I will share your comments with the team and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Clare Eccles Hotel Manager Ibis Tainui Hamilton

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.1 km away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#6 of 65 in Hamilton
1,052 reviews
0.2 km away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#13 of 65 in Hamilton
138 reviews
1.4 km away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 65 in Hamilton
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Quality Hotel @ The Ambassador
1.0 km away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
0.8 km away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#14 of 65 in Hamilton
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on the banks of the Waikato River, the Hotel Ibis Tainui Hamilton is your gateway to New Zealand's wonderful Waikato region. Primely positioned in the heart of Hamilton City, the brand new 126 room hotel is ideal for both leisure and business trips. Just 20 minutes from Hamilton International Airport, the hotel also offers easy access to relaxing river walkways, cafes, restaurants, Skycity Casino, shopping and entertainment. Part of the only international hotel chain in Hamilton, the Ibis hotel is a great way to enjoy your stay in the Waikato! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ibis Hamilton Tainui

Address: 18 Alma St, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Price Range: ₹ 4,492 - ₹ 8,644 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Hamilton Tainui 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Ibis Hamilton Tainui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hamilton Tainui Hotel Hamilton
Accor Hamilton Tainui
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Hamilton
#9 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hamilton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ibis Hamilton Tainui staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
3 months ago
Hamilton, New Zealand

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Ibis Hamilton Tainui staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Superior river view.”
 of 5 bubbles Andysafrica11, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“River view is better to avoid town side traffic noise, but some noise from the trains which seemed to run overnight.”
 of 5 bubbles HollyHants, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose river view room as high as possible”
 of 5 bubbles Dougie_the, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ask for a riverview room to capitilize on the river views”
 of 5 bubbles EuniceTravels, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Higher floor, ask for a river view”
 of 5 bubbles Alicem2, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay