We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Asure Barclay Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Asure Barclay Motel
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

48 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Asure Barclay Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 47: English reviews
Bourail, New Caledonia
Reviewed 14 June 2015

We have been staying at this motel for at least fifteen years, while visiting Fieldays. It changed hands early last year and we have found that service is slipping, while prices certainly aren't. Basics like soap etc. are not renewed daily and sheets weren't changed often enough. My group has rented 5 units for many years running, the bill tops...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank andrewnc2015
Ken Y, Owner at Asure Barclay Motel, responded to this review

Hi Andrew, thanks for your time to review. Understanding you were upset about the price but the unit's rate has been increased last year and someoneelse in your team paid without any questions. Because we have huge demand during Fieldays period and always keep best rate for you guys, 20% less than normal market price. Also, would appreciate if you...

Reviewed 28 February 2015

Me and my family of 5,turned up at Barclay motel on the 25/2/15,and out of all the motels along Ulster st,we picked this motel,without not booking,we tried our luck by walking into reception and asking if we could have a room,that would be suitable for me and my family,with a welcoming smile the reception said sure,she then showed us too...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank missocarroll
Ken Y, Owner at Asure Barclay Motel, responded to this review

Dear missocarroll, It is great to hear that you had a happy stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We hope you will come back and visit us soon! Best regards.

Reviewed 21 February 2015 via mobile

First 250 mb is free only, then after you have to pay. Manager said its this way everywhere, but we walked across the street to Best Western and their wifi is totally free. Pool and hot tub are disgusting. Hot tub was cold so really it was just a small dirty pool. Staff is undertrained, poor girl. Probably due to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jacob H
Ken Y, Owner at Asure Barclay Motel, responded to this review

Dear Jacob H, Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion. I'm sorry we can't give you free cancellation when you arrived at that day which is peak season. For the data ilimit which is stated "free wifi with condition' on the website, however, my minder who was the first day on duty gave you more than 250mb...

Reviewed 12 February 2015 via mobile

I thought it was a nice motel. Very clean an tidy. Comfy beds. Gave my 250 dollars bond back str8 away. Room was 145 4 1 room dubbl bed an single bed. The service wen we got there was terrible the lady seemed racist. But the man was very nice morning greetings very happy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank misreal
Ken Y, Owner at Asure Barclay Motel, responded to this review

Hi Misreal, thanks for your time to review us. It was the first day for our new minder, she was a little bit nervous:). We'd like to see you again. Kind regards.

Rotorua, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 January 2015 via mobile

Me and my friends all stayed here for new years, the staff were very nice and so were the rooms. We stayed in room 17 I think it was. With a private courtyard, spa, a bbq and huge outdoor table. By the look of it there was a room upstairs above it and if someone were in the room the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peacelovehappinessx
Ken Y, Owner at Asure Barclay Motel, responded to this review

Dear peacelovehappinessx , Thank you for your great feedback we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly strive to achieve excellence in every aspect of our business. We look forward to welcoming you back to ASURE Barclau Motel in the near future. Kind regards,

Timaru, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 December 2014

I have often stayed at the Barclay when travelling to Hamilton. It has always been a great value proposition with spotlessly clean rooms and a friendly welcome from the owners/managers. In November I was travelling to Hamilton for one night for work again and asked my PA to make the booking. She came back to me - there are different...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ross W
Ken Y, Owner at Asure Barclay Motel, responded to this review

Hi Ross, appreciate your time to review us, also give a chance to have you stayed with us. We will always offer our best and looking forward to meet you next time. Merry Christmas & Happy New Year :)

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 November 2014

We had to make a last minute change to our accommodation for our second night and although we didn't get to use the pool (which is something we enjoy) the weather kept changing on us, our stay in Hamilton was good for what time was spent there, and the room was good for the 1nt. We had the very last...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jojo834
Ken Y, Owner at Asure Barclay Motel, responded to this review

Hi Jojo834, thanks for your time to review us and glad to know you had a good time with us. Looking forward to see you soon:)

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We picked this motel for our weekend stay in Hamilton. The new owners were very friendly, and the room was very clean. As with many older motels, it wasn't hard to hear voices from the adjoining room, and despite being in one of the furthest units away from the road, traffic noise was very noticeable. There were a couple of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank john j
Ken Y, Owner at Asure Barclay Motel, responded to this review

HI John, Thank you for the review. We are sorry to hear your experience was not to your liking. As we don't have a SPA pool for 2 bedroom unit, I assume that you stayed at our most popular 1 bedroom SPA tub unit which has SPA tub in private backyard. We valued your feedback and improve our service level,...

Waitara, Taranaki, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 July 2014

hey peeps nice place very friendly staff actually got a discount as was on own was stoked saved 25 dollars on rate so very happy also helped me place motorbike out of site very accommodating highly recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grant W
Ken Y, Owner at Asure Barclay Motel, responded to this review

Hi Grant, thanks for your comments, we appreciate your feedback. Would like to meet youagain.

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were absolutely disgusted with this motel, we had never stayed in this place before but it was the only accommodation available and we had tickets to the All Blacks. They would only let us book for 2 nights so with no other option we did this. The email confirmation stated that the room we were booking was a 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tauranga2014
Ken Y, Owner at Asure Barclay Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for this interesting post. We were definitely not aware you were unhappy with the room rate as you seemed happy and accepted the rate when you paid for the room. I would have thought that if you were not happy with the room rate and the room layout you would have said so at the time and chosen...

3 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.5 km away
Arena Court Motor Lodge
Arena Court Motor Lodge
#6 of 64 in Hamilton
143 reviews
0.5 km away
Park View Motor Lodge
Park View Motor Lodge
#11 of 64 in Hamilton
161 reviews
2.5 km away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
0.1 km away
Auto Lodge Motel
Auto Lodge Motel
#24 of 64 in Hamilton
45 reviews
0.3 km away
BK's Settlers Motor Lodge
BK's Settlers Motor Lodge
#13 of 64 in Hamilton
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Asure Barclay Motel is located just minutes away from the Hamilton central business district and close to the Waikato Stadium. Family friendly and safe, Asure Barclay Motel provides an environment for total relaxation for adults and hours of fun for the kids. We offer a full-size solar heated swimming pool for our guests to enjoy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Asure Barclay Motel

Address: 280 Ulster Street, Hamilton 3200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Price Range: ₹ 5,559 - ₹ 10,529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Asure Barclay Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Asure Barclay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Hamilton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Asure Barclay Motel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Asure Barclay Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room at the back end away from the road.”
 of 5 bubbles Lorns1960, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“One bedroom Spa unit”
 of 5 bubbles afergusson, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are quiter”
 of 5 bubbles 921wallyr, 20 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Away from the road best for light sleepers”
 of 5 bubbles 394BrianB, 20 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Surprisingly quiet on the main road , but probably furthest from the road the better”
 of 5 bubbles Yahn-nz, 21 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5