We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre

Orbitz.comUS$ 95*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 108*
US$ 95*
US$ 108*
US$ 95*
US$ 108*
US$ 95*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

230 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre
See the most recent reviews
Showing 224: English reviews
Auckland
Reviewed 6 December 2014

The room (400 block) is of reasonable size, but dated & smells of smoke. Filthy stairs leading to the 1st floor, dust & particles still there a day later, so obviously not cleaned. Rather pathetic coffee facilities - 4 sachets of coffee total, all less than 1 level teaspoon, milk so small (15ml!!) that 4 are needed for the mugs...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DadZun
KHamilton, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to make comment. It is appreciated that you have taken the time to make your criticisms known and where possible we will address them. Certainly smelling of smoke is difficult as the Hotel is entirely non smoking. The milk and coffee sachets are standard sizing for all hotels & motels and extra is always...

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 December 2014

We stayed for 7 nights in June 2014. We are a family of 5. We were expecting a high quality room because we thought the Highgate name was associated with quite a high standard of hotel, but we found the rooms were pretty dated. Our room was right beside the driveway so we had to keep the curtains closed or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NZLawProf
KHamilton, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay in June. I am surprised that you were unable to obtain food during the night as we run a "night owl" menu throughout the night once the kitchen is closed. This is advertised in the compendiums. I will follow up with the Duty Manager on the night of your arrival and thank...

Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 November 2014

Having stayed at many Kingsgate hotels would have to say this is not one of their best. It seems they are directing their attention towards flash looking reception area's whilst neglecting pretty much everything else. Clean but far from comfortable and in desperate need of a make over, think the beds may have come over with Captain cook on his...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
KHamilton, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to make comment. I have been through all maintenance sheets, guest comments and reception diary and am unable to find any complaint regarding the uncomfortable bed you experienced. Unfortunately I cannot also find a booking from your non-de-plume so unable to identify your room this way. We have a store of new replacement beds...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 November 2014 via mobile

Driving out to the hotel, I was thinking, hhmm this place is a bit further from the city then I thought. We arrived at the hotel, situated slightly behind a block of shops containing a bakery, liqiour store, post office etc.... A couple of good convenient shops to have near your hotel. We entered the driveway of the hotel. Wow!...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MyOpinionNZ
KHamilton, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Unfortunately we can not identify the room you were staying in so we will search all down stairs rooms for the toilet paper and brown goo in the room. This is totally unacceptable and certainly not indicative of our rooms or standards. It is appreciated that this has been brought to our attention. Mini bar...

Bournemouth
Reviewed 4 November 2014

The room was outdated and tired looking. Bathroom was clean. We had two heavy cases and were in a first floor room. With no lift, it was actually quite a struggle/trek to get to/ from the room. We had room service as my partner was not well and didnt want to go out. his Gnocchi was really nice apparently, however...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lm1986
KHamilton, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Wi-fi at this stage is $10 for 24 hours 500mb. This has come down from previous rates as installation costs are gradually being paid off. This will be reviewed again in 3 months time to making a gb available. Porterage of bags is available on request at reception and someone would have been more than...

Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 September 2014

grubby shower, hairs on wall and in soap dish, dirty quilt cover with stains on it. Noisy room with parties going on in corridor until 4am. the Jacuzzi was nice and breakfast was ok, the parking is great

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vicky m
KHamilton, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments the bathroom issue has been taken it up with Housekeeping and put on the top priority list for programmed spring cleaning. We had a number reservations from a group of people who booked rooms over the night in question. They booked individually and as such were allocated rooms through various parts of the Hotel and...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 September 2014

I stayed two nights. My room was spacious, well lit, hot shower, good (slightly noisy) heat pump and lovely towels . The room looked over an internal grass courtyard which meant it was quiet, and you could hear a bird singing. But there was no lift and I had two cases, one quite heavy, and no offer of assistance when...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Finona68
KHamilton, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to make comment. We would be more than happy to help with luggage or move guests to a ground floor room, if requested. Your comments regarding the room and meals are appreciated and help indicate area's we may be able to make improvements. Constructive feedback such as yours is always appreciated. Kind regards Murray...

Reviewed 17 September 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at the kingsgate twice for business over the last 3 years and to be honest I try and avoid it. The rooms I've stayed in are between $180-200 per night. The staff are friendly and the hotel is equipped and feature large rooms but the main let down is you feel like you've stepped back into a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reppin
KHamilton, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for the comments. As you have stayed twice in the last 3 years hopefully you would have noticed quite a number of changes over this period. In the rooms all TV's have been replaced with flat screens, all wooden tops have been re-varnished, the curtains replaced and new chairs and carpet in the rooms and throughout the Hotel....

Kaitaia
Reviewed 14 September 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night $99 including breakfast all u could eat, very good deal. Room very spacious and quiet, restaurant meal was very nice. Good sized light bathroom but unfortunately the shower did have a bit of hair in it, but would definitely stay again. Staff very friend and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KaitaiaAlison
KHamilton, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and great that you managed to take advantage of one of our special Bed & Breakfast packages. I also thank you for your comment regarding housekeeping as it is an area we have been focussing very hard on over the last month and will continue to do so in upcoming months. Having comments such as...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 September 2014

Stayed here for one night with my hubbie as he had to work in the area for the day. Fantastic service with friendly staff. They also allowed me to check in early no problem. The room was slightly dated (hence the lower rating) but large, clean and very comfortable. We also ordered room service which was surprisingly fantastic food. Did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlie W
KHamilton, General Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to accommodating you again when next in Hamilton. Hopefully this time you get to use the gym, steam rooms, spa's and pool. We have just updated our free wifi in reception up to 30 minutes and 50 mb. A recent installation of wifi equipment has now given access throughout the...

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
3.5 km away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#7 of 62 in Hamilton
1,125 reviews
2.1 km away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 62 in Hamilton
234 reviews
4.2 km away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#11 of 62 in Hamilton
162 reviews
2.4 km away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
1.8 km away
Asure Barclay Motel
Asure Barclay Motel
#29 of 62 in Hamilton
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 100 Garnett Avenue | Te Rapa, Hamilton 3241, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Price Range: ₹ 5,965 - ₹ 8,515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Hamilton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“119 was upstairs, no lift but not a problem, will be better after refurbishment. Currently refurbing the 200 wing”
AndAkiAnd, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs and at end of corridors for quietness.”
rolandp676, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ring somewhere else.”
TPC63, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on level 5”
sonalib730, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't bother...if our room is any guage, I wouldnt recommend you stay there at all.”
  • The hand basin tap.
  • The tap in the shower.
  • The bathroom tap.
  • The shower.
  • Dirty, damaged tiles.
  • Unclean floor.
  • Disgusting exhaust fan.
cazbar62, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$ 95* /night
View Deal
Agoda.comUS$ 95
Expedia.comUS$ 95
TripAdvisorUS$ 95
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates