We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

227 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre
See the most recent reviews
Showing 221: English reviews
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 23 November 2016

We were pleased with the outside, the foyer and the staff but that's where it ended. The 'block' our unit was in was on the road so it was noisy. The corridors are long and hae carpet patches where other carpet tiles have become worn or damaged....the original carpet is beige...the patches are blue. The room was dirty, the bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caz G
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You will be pleased to know that we are currently in the process of refurbishing 55 of our accommodation rooms. The carpet tiles you refer too are actually the pattern- beige and brown. They are not patches that we have tried to fix. However there is no excuse for your...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Originally Kinsgate, booked for 5 people for 3 nights and got a written quote. When we arrived, found Hotel had changed ownership. They verbally said they would honour original agreement, but then overcharged us and refused to negotiate. Would NEVER stay here again or recommend it to anyone wanting a honest friendly Hotel. Complained in writing, got a phone call...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank br0wnkat
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

We are disappointed that you feel like this. At check in your party asked for the booking to be changed to include breakfast. Your original paperwork showed that you had booked a room only rate. We changed the rate type to be one that includes breakfast but obviously the charge increases. When the phone call was made we were thanked...

Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Having stayed on a number of occasions when previously Kingsgate we booked although we had read some rather negative reviews. This hotel is obviously an older hotel and would benefit from some upgrades but all we wanted was spacious clean and comfortable accommodation. We always book ground floor because yes there is no lift and we are not as young...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan0753
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We really appreciate it. We are undertaking our refurbishment currently so hopefully next time you return you will experience the fabulous new modern rooms. I will make sure I pass your comments on to all the team.

Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night for work. Pleased it was one night. The reception and restaurant area look good but the accommodation areas are looking very tired and in need of care. The air con in my room didn't work, the TV didn't have a remote (one part of the hide and seek) & although it could be switched on at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LRaeN
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review. I am sorry you didn't enjoy all aspects of your stay. If you ever have any problems in a hotel while staying they can normally be immediately corrected if you just make a quick call to reception. Our refurbishment is currently being worked on and the new rooms will be much more modern.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Run down and quite shabby. Once upon a time this place must have been busy and maintained, sadly nowadays it's just not. My room had peeling wallpaper, a fridge that didn't work, and the worst rock hard bed I've ever tried to sleep in anywhere in the world. You know it;s bad when you get all the pillows and lay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank T
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. You will be pleased to know that we are currently undertaking a major refurbishment project. However your comments have been noted and passed on to the team.

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Absolutely repulsive state of linen, towels & general cleaniness of room 403. Bathroom had not been cleaned as tap & sink had what appeared to be spit marks. Hand towels were terribly worn & discoloured. All bed linen was thin, worn out & discoloured. Pillow protector yellow stained as was bed duvet. Bed also contained human hair & stains. Bad...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tania19612016
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

We are obviously disappointed to read your comments. I have passed your review on to my team mebers for review. It is a shame we did not hear anything about this from you prior to your departure. Please be assured we take your comments very seriously.

Reviewed 20 September 2016

Check in to the hotel you enter a grand reception, staff were super friendly and we were very impressed to be able to check in earlier than normal. (With kiddies this means the world to us). I called to request a room with a bath and this was arranged without any hassle. Decor seems dated and perhaps a soft refurb...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren R
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. I will be sure to pass your comments on to the team. We are about to start a refurbishment in our guests rooms so I hope you can come back some time and enjoy the hotel again.

Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 September 2016

This is the second time I have stayed here for a work conference. This Hotel is basic but very comfortable. It is clean, staff are friendly and breakfast is great. Maybe a bit to far out of the city centre for my liking but it is only around a 5 minute drive away. The Hotel is located next to a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jmnc_12
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel. We will soon undertake a refurbishment of the property so we hope you are back to see the new product soon.

falmouth, maine
Reviewed 12 September 2016

went here as a last minute choice for rugby match at WAikato stadium. Sort of an interesting mix of dated decor and quality. Room was fine. Creaky floors in halls. wooden doors, almost dorm like. But room was fine. fixtures all worked, not super modern or trendy but perfectly fine. Very clean, no peeling wall paper, cracked tile, etc. Plenty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chimayred
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. We really appreciate it. We are about to undertake a refurbishment of our accommodation rooms to make them far more modern. We hope you come back and visit again once this is complete.

Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Chose this hotel due to its location adjacent to Te Rapa race Course. We were disappointed with the cleaniless and presentation. We had 3 rooms and 2 of these were not cleaned properly..A.large pile of biscuit crumbs beside the bed and unvacummed look throughout in one room, very rumbled sheets on bed in another and bathroom not cleaned properly The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrissy g
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am disappointed that your room was not up to standard and I have passed your comments on to our new Housekeeping Manager. I do hope you return another time.

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
2.0 km away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 64 in Hamilton
224 reviews
3.4 km away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#11 of 64 in Hamilton
153 reviews
2.4 km away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#9 of 64 in Hamilton
915 reviews
4.3 km away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
3.5 km away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#7 of 64 in Hamilton
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 100 Garnett Avenue | Te Rapa, Hamilton 3241, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Price Range: ₹ 6,410 - ₹ 8,900 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Hamilton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upstairs and at end of corridors for quietness.”
 of 5 bubbles rolandp676, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ring somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles TPC63, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on level 5”
 of 5 bubbles sonalib730, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't bother...if our room is any guage, I wouldnt recommend you stay there at all.”
  • The hand basin tap.
  • The tap in the shower.
  • The bathroom tap.
  • The shower.
  • Dirty, damaged tiles.
  • Unclean floor.
  • Disgusting exhaust fan.
 of 5 bubbles cazbar62, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor if having no lift is an issue for you.”
 of 5 bubbles Susan0753, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5