We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

240 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 238: English reviews
Start your review of Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
 Click to rate
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although this is not a new property , the rooms are very clean and spacious. My husband and I enjoy the locality and prefer to book a room with a view over the river and port which we find interesting.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry W
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a nice, modem well equipped motel on the river near the log loading boats. The room was quiet , with a nice view of the hill and the water. The front desk staff were super helpful and really wanted me to enjoy my stay in Gisborne . There wasn't quite enough room for my stuff in bathroom and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jronkowski
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Driving through Gisborne late on Friday afternoon after a long East Cape trip we found the Portside Hotel. An absolute gem of a property with stay enhanced further by 1. Extreme professionalism of the front of desk staff. 2. Quality of room with full services 3. Easy walking distance to city restaurants and bars. Highly recommended and will definitely stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glenn M
StephanRMR, Manager at Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection, responded to this review

Dear Glenn and Angela, Thank you for your positive review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, The Team at Portside Hotel Gisborne

Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is well situated, in an interesting location by a ship canal, and close to the beach and the historic statues. Our unit was really well equipped and spacious, having a washing machine, drier, and excellent kitchen facilities. Bit like a home from home, but you do have to do everything yourself - they don't provide breakfast, or indeed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 634Richardd634
StephanRMR, Manager at Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection, responded to this review

Dear 634Richardd634, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. Our facilities are indeed fully equipped and perfectly fitted as a home away from home. Please do inquire about our Continental Breakfast offering next time you are with us as this is available through Reception. The selection includes a variety or cereals, fruit, yogurt, toast,...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed for two nights. The room was on the ground floor with a nice view of the harbour. I wasn't in my room much, but it was very comfortable and was almost like an apartment with a mini kitchen. They have a nice range of amenities. All the staff were very helpful, courteous and friendly. It was within walking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moo57
StephanRMR, Manager at Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection, responded to this review

Dear Moo57, Thank you for your positive review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed our facilities, services and complementary cooky. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, The Team at Portside Hotel Gisborne

San Diego
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My wife were passing through Gisborne and spent one night at the Portside. It is new, modern, and clean but the decor is pretty spartan and the bed was just average. We stayed in a suite with a large and well equiped kitchen and dining area which could be good for a family although this hotel is not in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank imcookn
StephanRMR, Manager at Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection, responded to this review

Dear imcookn, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, The Team at Portside Hotel Gisborne

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in the penthouse on the 14th march and it was very nice. However the second bedroom was very small. We had a problem getting around the bed with our suitcase on the luggage stand, which I believe is where it should have been. The entrance hallway was huge, I think wasted space. Also the lounge, living room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patjef2015
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The room itself is quite good really. Spacious and with a little kitchen. Well appointed with large TV. BUT... we chose this place based on getting a water view. We selected a Deluxe room which has an outlook out the back across an industrial area and carpark. Fully booked so we couldn't upgrade to their Premier room with water views....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raynboz
StephanRMR, Manager at Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection, responded to this review

Dear Raynboz, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the room you selected upon making your booking. Indeed, the Deluxe rooms are on the car park side, some of which have partial views of the city and mountain ranges around Gisborne, whilst our Premium rooms have...

Canterbury Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Very unfriendly reception when we arrived after our wedding night, 1hr later than arranged. We had to dial reception 5 times before getting an answer and were hung up on twice. When the door finally opened we felt very unwelcome and uncomfortable I would have walked out if we had an alternate option.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stormah
StephanRMR, Manager at Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection, responded to this review

Dear stormah, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss your disappointment over your recent stay. Kind regards, Stephan Rudich gm@portisdehbc.co.nz

Reviewed 18 March 2017

We stayed here in Feb and had a great time, our room was on the 3rd floor and on the port side. Great view from the balcony and surprisingly quiet given the location and proximity to the port (when we stayed there was a cargo ship being loaded, and with the sliding door shut we could not hear any port...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah F
StephanRMR, Manager at Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection, responded to this review

Dear kernow1985, Thank you for your positive review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that your enjoyed you sojourn with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, The Team at Portside Hotel Gisborne

83 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
0.5 km away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gisborne
265 reviews
0.2 km away
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
#13 of 27 in Gisborne
67 reviews
3.1 km away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#2 of 27 in Gisborne
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
#6 of 27 in Gisborne
164 reviews
1.1 km away
Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel
0.2 km away
Senator Motor Inn
Senator Motor Inn
#1 of 27 in Gisborne
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection

Address: 2 Reads Quay, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Price Range: ₹ 6,219 - ₹ 13,981 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portside Hotel Gisborne
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gisborne
#3 Family Hotel in Gisborne
#5 Business Hotel in Gisborne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gisborne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“One side of the hotel views the canal and hills; the other side views a car park and industrial estate!”
634Richardd634, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Most of the rooms were fine, just the second bedroom was far too small.”
Patjef2015, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Top floor at the harbour end for the best views”
, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Habour view rooms only ones with any decent views”
petti77, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“water views”
640andrewt, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5