We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

SKYCITY Hotel

Show Prices
#11 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
SKYCITY Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,785 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for SKYCITY Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,632: English reviews
Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 2 September 2015

I had booked in at Sky City with my partner to have an enjoyable night of wining dining on the final night of our holiday in NZ. The hotel and the service from staff far exceeded expectations and we were provided with warm and welcoming hospitality all round. I would most definitely recommend it and would definitely stay again!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank joolsrulesnz
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear joolsrulesnz Thank you very much for taking the time to post up such a lovely review on Trip Advisor. I have gladly shared your kind words with our team as I am certain they will be very appreciative of your gratitude. I am thrilled to learn that you had such an exceptional time and that we were able to...

Whangarei
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Absolutely worth staying there, value for money and right at the Casino for convenience. Food is excellent as well as the service and drinks are reasonable. Rooms are very clean and well maintained. Close to Queen street shopping and not too far away from checking out the cruise ships at the waterfront. Would I stay there again. absolutely. Was this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Woolies
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Woolies I would firstly like to share my gratitude for your fantastic review on Trip Advisor. I am so thrilled that you had a great stay here with us at SKYCITY Hotel and I am equally pleased to see this is not your first time with us. We are so very fortunate to have such great amenities and facilities...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 31 August 2015 via mobile

The hotel has a less than average Lobby and Reception and this does not inspire confidence but that is the worst of the experience because the rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. SkyCity Hotel is well situated for the Auckland CBD and nightlife and if you are a gambler then having the Casino in the same building as the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GallopingGourmet51
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GallopingGourmet51 Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely honest review on Trip Advisor and also for the recommendation. I am thrilled to learn that you had an enjoyable stay here with us at SKYCITY Hotel and I do hope that you were able to fully benefit from our comfortable and spacious rooms. I am happy...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 August 2015

We stayed here 3 nights in July and is the second time in the last few months. But I've stayed many of times throughout the years as has my Dad for business and Sisters for the nightlife. As I write this review its just before I make a reservation for a surprise Father's Day treat. I'm new to trip advisor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank E_Renata12
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear E_Renata12 Thank you so much for posting up such an excellent review on your previous stays here with us on Trip Advisor and I am thrilled that we were able to be a partial reason to you joining TripAdvisor. Such a pleasure to have had you stay here with us in the recent months and it is very exciting...

Marmora, New Jersey
Reviewed 26 August 2015

We had an 18 hour layover enroute to Sydney. This was a great spot to stay so we could at least get a brief glimpse of Auckland. As we got in quite late, it was nice that were local restaurants open that we could eat dinner at. In the morning we were able to walk to the waterfront and get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank riodoc
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear riodoc, I would firstly like to share my gratitude for taking the time to post such a lovely review on Trip Advisor, I have shared your kind words with our team as it is so encouraging to receive such positive feedback. I am so pleased that you were able to have such an enjoyable time here with us at...

Wellington
Reviewed 20 August 2015

I've stayed at Sky City on business over the past year around 12 times. I've always been extremely impressed by the whole experience from the initial welcome through to the standard of food, quality of rooms, and overall service. I've stayed in both their standard rooms and their suites which I must say are lovely and spacious. It's also the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Al B
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Al B I would firstly like to share my gratitude for taking the time to post up such an excellent Review on Trip Advisor. It is such a pleasure to have had you welcome you back to SKYCITY Hotel and I am equally thrilled that you had such an enjoyable time. Here at SKYCITY we strive to provide our...

Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 August 2015

I often stay at Sky City for business purposes but this time it was for my husband and I to relax and enjoy. we purchased the 'experience' package with dinner at the Orbit Restuarant and Sky Tower tickets, valet parking and lovely room for the night, Champers and chocolates included. Wow, what a night, thoroughly enjoyed it and excellent value...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Diseyn
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Diseyn, Thank you very much for taking the time to post up such a lovely review on Trip Advisor. I have shared your feedback with the Orbit team as I am certain they will be very appreciative of your kind words. I am thrilled that you had such an enjoyable time here with us at SKYCITY and that our...

Reviewed 18 August 2015 via mobile

It was the last getaway before our first baby came and we have heard some spectacular reviews about the service here and it was nothing short of fabulous. The free wi-fi speeds were running faster than the speeds I had at home on our fibre connection. We booked through the skycity website to get the promo; adventure or relax winter...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kelsey B
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kelsey B I would like to share my gratitude for your excellent review on Trip Advisor. I am so thrilled to learn that you had such an enjoyable time here with at SKYCITY Hotel and that you were provided with the exceptional service that we pride ourselves on here. I have forwarded on your lovely and kind words to...

Greymouth, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 August 2015

The room is clean, tidy, spacious, quiet - in fact everything you could wish for. There is construction taking place in the hotel at the moment so very noisy in the lobby and coffee shop during the day.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robin H
Colin_McClean, Hotel Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your feedback and we were pleased to read that you found our rooms to be clean, tidy, spacious and quiet. Thank you for highlighting the construction work that is taking place in the Atrium area adjacent to our hotel lobby. We are very excited about what lies for our customers. The...

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 August 2015

In Auckland for the Bledisloe Cup and stayed the night at the Skycity Hotel. Found the location very central and not too far from Britomart. We had room 357 which was at the end of a coridoor and very quiet. Room was modern , clean ,fresh and nice. Bathroom was standard hotel set up. Bed is a huge super king...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank koochie2011
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear koochie2011 Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a fantastic review on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled that you were able to have such an enjoyable time here with us at SKYCITY Hotel. We are very fortunate to be as centrally located as it only proves great convenience to guests such as yourselves. I am...

531 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (502)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (104)
Viewed
Bathroom (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (116)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (195)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
2,321 reviews
0.4 km away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.6 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
3,875 reviews
0.3 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
1,132 reviews
0.8 km away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Centrally located, SKYCITY Hotel facilities are top-class, rooms are spacious and the iconic Sky Tower is right on your doorstep. Choose to dine in style at one of 20 plus restaurants, café and bars and experience the thrill of the world-class Casino. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 

Additional Information about SKYCITY Hotel

Address: Corner Victoria & Federal Streets, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: ₹ 10,686 - ₹ 23,994 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SKYCITY Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your SKYCITY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SKYCITY Hotel Auckland, New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Auckland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#10 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Family Hotel in Auckland
#14 Business Hotel in Auckland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from SKYCITY Hotel staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from SKYCITY Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Would choose high floor as it is a busy casino hotel and can be noisy”
 of 5 bubbles 873rizr, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Make sure they know what you need and they will do their utmost to help”
 of 5 bubbles , 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher up if possible to get the best views”
 of 5 bubbles Caroline20013, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Buffet Breakfast at Fortuna is amazing”
  • Bathroom Tabletop
  • From the lounge to the bedroom
  • View from the entrance to the living area
  • View from the bedroom to the living area
  • View from our suite at night
 of 5 bubbles robbiea231, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The courtyard is located on Level 1 with some rooms providing direct access”
 of 5 bubbles DINKZ, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5