We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Corner Victoria and Federal Streets, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010 New Zealand
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$172
View deal
Free cancellation until 13/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$163
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/10/22
Official Hotel
$133
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com$165
Travelocity$163
Lol.travel$184
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (753)
Room & Suite (256)
Dining (26)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Updated 24/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from SkyCity Hotel
Updated 24/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#17 of 72 hotels in Auckland Central
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Gold level
Centrally located, SkyCity Hotel facilities are top-class, rooms are spacious and the iconic SkyTower is right on your doorstep. Choose to dine in style at one of 20 plus restaurants, café and bars and experience the thrill of the world-class Casino. Wi-Fi is complimentary.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Casino and Gambling
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Car park
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Arabic and 3 more
2553Reviews35Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,210
  • 925
  • 292
  • 66
  • 60
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
R4705BLcarolined wrote a review 2 Oct
Henderson, New Zealand128 contributions17 helpful votes
When booking I asked for a nice view. We booked priemer twin and they gave us the best available. It was a nice view. Room good except for lighting. Very dark. Room service great. Shower strong. Beds as always comfortable. Check in and out smooth.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa Schreivogel, Guest Services / Front Office at SkyCity Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Hello R4705BLcarolined (and mum), Thank you so much for such lovely feedback. I am so very pleased that you and mum enjoyed your stay and time with us. I do hope we get another opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Take care. Warm regards, Lisa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RetzApia wrote a review Sep 2022
Auckland Central, New Zealand17 contributions5 helpful votes
We travel monthly within Auckland to experienced HOTELS so for September we picked SkyCity. But our first stay in house was January to celebrate our long overdue anniversary due to lock down. I must say our both stayed was awesome from the check in @ reception to our room was very nice. Room was spacious and very clean (Thank you Housekeeping team) The staffs were friendly, approachable and very helpful. First hotel in Auckland we stayed in twice and I can see the 3rd staying soon when I convinced my husband for November cos October this month we’re already at another hotel close by. Overall Thank you Sky City for a wonderful wonderful staying. Regards Mr & Mrs Tua
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Use the valet parking @ hotel. City is under heavy road construction so a lot of going around on...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa Schreivogel, Guest Services / Front Office at SkyCity Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Mr & Mrs Tua, Thank you so much for such a lovely review. I am so happy that you always enjoy your time with us at SkyCity Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again in November. Take care. Warm regards, Lisa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rosey C wrote a review Sep 2022
Kew East, Australia12 contributions2 helpful votes
Somehow this hotel ended up on my companies preferred hotel list and I booked it for a business trip without checking reviews. That was a mistake. This is not a hotel that is suitable for business travellers. However, let me start by saying that the concierge desk has been delightful and very helpful. The valet has also been lovely and courteous. 1. Parking - I have no recollection of a hotel ever charging my company extra for parking. It is ALWAYS included in the highly rate. However, upon arriving I discovered that parking was $35 extra per ENTRY! Not just per night, per ENTRY. This gave me absolutely no flexibility to come and go during the day. They did offer valet parking with unlimited entry but the cost was $55 per day. This is unreasonable for business travellers who need the option to come and go in between meetings. 2. Room - I was advised at check in that my room would not be serviced every day. I was so shocked that I did not even question it. It took me a while to process the fact that a hotel charging over $200 per night would expect me to make my own bed. Completely unsatisfactory and for this reason alone I would not stay here again. I also checked my travel agents booking details and there is NO MENTION of limited housekeeping. Not impressed. 3. Breakfast - where do I start? So the fruit bar was mainly stocked with canned fruit. Canned peaches, canned apricots, canned passionfruit etc. They did have fresh pineapple but that was it. The continental section was meagre and included processed ham and processed cheese. If you wanted coffee then you had to make it yourself using a machine. No barista service. The hot food was OK and there was a decent selection of breads. What really annoyed me was the fact that the servers wandered around the restaurant area wearing rubber gloves and clutching a roll of paper towel and a spray bottle of cleaning fluid. Not a crime I suppose but reminiscent of a very cheap/nasty cafeteria. Whilst I was making my own coffee, they cleaned my table which is commendable but unfortunately they left it wet with cleaning fluid. Then, whilst I was actually taking a bite of toast, a server tried to clear my plate (which still had food on it). Lack of attention to detail and very poor customer service. I would say that there is a major training issue. I know people like to blame everything on COVID related staffing issues these days but companies still need to take responsibility for setting standards and providing training. This is lacking at this hotel. 4. Room Service - well I just enjoyed a COLD steak which cost my company $46 + $6 service fee. I did not bother to send it back because I had little confidence that the situation would be resolved to my satisfaction. Last night I had the pork ribs at $46 + $6 service fee. Just pork ribs no salad. So I ordered a salad and they forgot to bring it and I had to wait and then I had to make it clear that I would not be paying another $6 service fee. If I want some ice then I have to pay $6 service fee. If I want cutlery - $6 fee. You get the picture. Every opportunity to reduce service and yet charge extra. 5. Location - the main reason that I am using the room service option is that this hotel is not in a great location. It would be a long and dodgy walk to a nice restaurant. This is annoying given that I work a long day. Again, just not good enough for business travellers. 6. Toiletries etc. - There is a communication in my room that says that my room is stocked for the duration of my stay. I am here for 4 nights (at significant expense). There is enough water bottles and coffee/tea etc. However, there is one (tiny) bottle of shampoo and one of conditioner - for 4 days. Come on! 7. Gym - actually pretty good. I use the gym each morning and it is well equipped. A bit surprised that there is no pool. Every hotel has a pool. This is just another example of cutting back on offering but charging the same as all the other hotels. 8. General vibe - this is a casino, not a business hotel. The clientele is here to use the casino and the restaurants are all on the casino floors. Absolutely fine if that is your thing but it is not mine. I am here to work and I expect a different atmosphere. I understand that I should have done a bit more research prior to booking however, this hotel has positioned itself to my corporate booking service as suitable for business travellers. I don't think that I should be made to sort through the details (or lack of details) of their offering. THIS IS NOT A SUITABLE HOTEL FOR BUSINESS TRAVELLERS. 9. General Upkeep - OK, not the best that I have ever seen but OK. 10. Cost - Far too high for the amenities provided. I understand that this hotel is just not suitable for my needs, however, my main concern is that it is priced at a comparable rate (or higher) than other hotels in the area and yet they seem hell bent on limiting services/amenities. That is unreasonable. I will not use this hotel in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa Schreivogel, Guest Services / Front Office at SkyCity Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear roseyc2014, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, and for being so detailed and informative. Feedback like yours is so important so we can continue to improve on our product and services. On behalf of SkyCity Hotel, please accept my sincerest apologies for any discomfort or inconveniences caused to you during your stay. Please be assured that your feedback has been shared with the wider management team to review. I am sorry to read that our establishment is not suitable for your business needs. Perhaps, in the future, we get the opportunity to welcome you back during a leisure stay. Do Take care. Warm regards, Lisa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SKW wrote a review Sep 2022
Queensland, Australia31 contributions7 helpful votes
We finished 2 weeks with 2 nights in this hotel. Central… it’s not the viaduct but has its own appeal. Room was very large huge comfortable bed and modern facilities. TV options and a comfortable couch. Special mention please ensue AIDEN in concierge duty is acknowledged for outstanding service on 2 occasions… we had a breakfast confusion and he was so easy to understand polite efficient and personally escorted us to ensure all went well. He was professional wit customer service above and beyond. The hotel would be well to ensure his type of commitment is rewarded. Overall excellent in every way
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa Schreivogel, Guest Services / Front Office at SkyCity Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Kia Ora SKW1967, Thank you for the lovely feedback, and for taking the time to share your experience. I am so pleased that you had such a wonderful time, and that Aiden added such value to your stay. That's awesome! He really is a true SkyCity Hotel Ambassador, and an amazing team member. I have shared your feedback with him and the wider management team. :-) I do hope you get another opportunity to visit NZ and SkyCity Hotel. Do take care. Warm regards, Lisa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John wrote a review Aug 2022
Plimmerton, New Zealand2 contributions
We have stayed here a few times now and each time have really enjoyed the service and facilities but especially the rooms. They are really clean and tidy and very quiet compared to a lot of hotel rooms. Lovely decor, bedding and bathrooms too.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa Schreivogel, Guest Services / Front Office at SkyCity Hotel
Responded 22 Aug 2022
Kia Ora Camper64392782645, Thank you for the awesome feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Do take care. Warm regards, Lisa & The Hotel Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christine M wrote a review Aug 2022
Pukekohe, New Zealand35 contributions9 helpful votes
Disappointing. Very basic toiletries provided. No servicing of the room. The tea was horrid. Not enough milk. Basic. Not luxurious st all. Pillows were too thick. I have written enough. I hate having g to write more when I have finished. The place was ok but certainly not luxurious. I have never been told that my room would not be serviced because we were only staying two nights!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa Schreivogel, Guest Services / Front Office at SkyCity Hotel
Responded 10 Aug 2022
Dear 145christine, Thank you for your feedback – whilst it was disappointing to read it is very important for us to receive so we can continue to improve on all our services. I am so sorry that you had such a disappointing experience, and you were not informed at check-in regarding our Express Cleaning Service. I have forwarded your feedback to the Managers to take up with the Reception Team. Again, please accept my sincerest apologies on behalf of SkyCity Hotel for the miscommunication and for all the discomfort this has caused you. Warm regards, Lisa @ SkyCity Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Grant R wrote a review Aug 2022
Huntly, New Zealand16 contributions2 helpful votes
Anyone who could be planning a weekend at sky city apparently they have a new policy Which is not on display or given to you when you book into the sky or the Grand regarding time on the casino floor, unfortunately you will not know about these rules until you are asked to leave. Just remember if you are there for just a coffee or a few drinks with friends and then go to your room for a rest for a couple of hours they class this as gambling time even if you have not touched a poker machine.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa Schreivogel, Guest Services / Front Office at SkyCity Hotel
Responded 4 Aug 2022
Dear GrantR477, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I do apologise on behalf of SkyCity that you were affected by the policies recently implemented by the Casino. I have forwarded your feedback to the Host Responsibility Team to ensure they are communicating this openly and effectively to all our customers. For more information, you can find this on our website - https://skycityauckland.co.nz/about-us/host-responsibility/ Again, I am so sorry that your stay was a disappointing one. I do hope we get to welcome you back to make it up to you. Take care. Warm regards, Lisa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tony P wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
The valet and check-in are fine. The room was adequate. However, for the price paid, one should expect more—excellence, not mediocrity. The bathroom is quite dated. The room is OK. East Day Spa has clearly seen better days. Maintenance hasn't been done. Overall, SkyCity is showing its age. I wouldn't stay here again. If I were going to spend that sort of money, I'd go to the Hilton is something else.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa Schreivogel, Guest Services / Front Office at SkyCity Hotel
Responded 31 Jul 2022
Dear tonypY3985PI, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am disappointed to read that East Day Spa did not exceed your expectations. They always receive such great reviews so I am rather surprised by this. I have forwarded your comments to them to look into. You are right that certain areas of the hotel are beginning to look a bit dated. If not for covid a refurbishment would definitely have taken place already, however, this has has to be pushed forward a bit. Please be assured that a refurbishment will take place in the near future. Thank you for mentioning the valet and reception staff, and they great work they do. I do hope we get to welcome you back in the future. Take care. Warm regards, Lisa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
coral4u wrote a review Jul 2022
9 contributions1 helpful vote
There were 6 of us in our party who booked 3 rooms. The valet parking staff were so accommodating and assisted us in what to do and where to go. Check in was also very easy. The concierge staff were helpful in calling taxis for us and very polite. My room was overlooking the courtyard and i found the lighting to be very dim, after spending an hour in the room my eyes were hurting. The light switch for the headboard lights were very hard to find. One of our party had to call down for help to switch them off. But apart from the lights everything else was great. our rooms were clean and well stacked with condiments. All in all very nice stay
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa Schreivogel, Guest Services / Front Office at SkyCity Hotel
Responded 24 Jul 2022
Dear coral4u, Thank you for the awesome feedback, and for taking the time to share your experience. I am so pleased that our Concierge Team and Reception Team were so accommodating and helpful. Thank you for letting us know about the room lighting. I have forwarded this to our Property Services Team to investigate. I do hope you all get another opportunity to visit. Do take care, and stay safe. Warm regards, Lisa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Torrz wrote a review Jul 2022
New Zealand38 contributions10 helpful votes
Great experience staying at Sky city hotel. Took the kids and stayed for a couple of nights they absolutely loved it! Had a massive window with great view of base of sky tower. The only downfall was the size of the beds were small very tight for 2 adults (fine for the 2 kids) in the room we were in and unfortunately our room was situated right under the gym so loud banging notices from people dropping weights right above us actually gave me a heck of a fight until I realized what it was and had to ring reception as we couldn't sleep, then got woken up very early the next morning with same thing! Otherwise stay was amazing!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lisa Schreivogel, Guest Services / Front Office at SkyCity Hotel
Responded 11 Jul 2022
Dear Torrz, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am delighted that you had such a great experience, and the children thoroughly enjoyed their stay. Of course, I am disappointed to read that you were woken up by the gym noises. I am so sorry about that. It is something management have been looking at. We do hope we get to welcome you back again soon. Take care, and stay safe. Warm regards, Lisa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$144 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
skycity hotel auckland
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandAuckland Central
NUMBER OF ROOMS
323
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about SkyCity Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to SkyCity Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Weta Workshop Unleashed (0.07 km), Escapade NZ (0.4 km), and Great Escape (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at SkyCity Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at SkyCity Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at SkyCity Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at SkyCity Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to SkyCity Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Culprit., The Grove, and Fondou Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at SkyCity Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does SkyCity Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, SkyCity Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is SkyCity Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Auckland Central.
Are any cleaning services offered at SkyCity Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does SkyCity Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.