We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

VR Auckland City

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,067 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for VR Auckland City
See the most recent reviews
Showing 962: English reviews
Varsity Lakes, Australia
Reviewed 15 February 2013

2 bedroom apartment was neat clean and well maintained. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. I'm a walker so the hills and the walk down to the harbour didn't worry me. Only took 12 to 15 mins. Even other family members who are not walkers coped really well.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Deb367
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon! Warm regards,

Varsity Lakes, Australia
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We had a 2 bedroom apartment on the ground floor. The view was the brick wall of the police station. The towels and face cloths were stained and thin. The breakfast was disappointing, delivered the night before in a basket, not one bit interesting. Who wants a chocolate chip muffin for breakfast. We were hesitant to go out after dark...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Priscilla2589
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Spent two nights after arriving in Auckland onboard a cruise ship. Convenient location, with an easy walk to the harbor. The neighborhood might not be the best at night. We had a very nice two bedroom apartment, however it was on the first floor and we would have preferred one on a higher floor with a view/balcony. A well equipped...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarolMCleveland_OH
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, It is great to hear that you had a great stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon! Warm regards,

Dublin
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Easy to find from airport, make sure you reserve underground parking. Short walk to harbour area. Upgraded to two bed apartment, well equipped inc wash machine, cooker etc $75 per night , good value and you get adequate continental blast delivered night before.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Getaway247
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 27 January 2013

The advantage of Auckland City Oaks over other hotels in Auckland, is the fact that it's a well furnished apartment. We stayed in the two-bedroom apartment that had a microwave, dishwasher, stove-tops, ironing board, pots and pans, and an array of cutlery, so it's really easy to prepare your own meals. There is also an asian grocery store nearby, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eugoose
UdaiSarin, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed the apartment and all that it offers as compared to a traditional hotel that offer smaller rooms at higher prices. We do apologize if we could not meet your last minute request due to our high occupancy, however our staff always go out of their way to...

Denver, Colorado, United States
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Do not stay at this hotel, the people there are not friendly, and don't treat customers right. No parking, the hotel smells bad and housekeeping slack off and don't want to provide service. If you decide to stay at this hotel, after check in, you must move your vehicle in the front of they will call the tow company and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Le Z
UdaiSarin, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was less that top notch. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. I would love for you to contact me directly at aco.fom@vrhotels.co.nz as there a number of issues you have raised in your review that are a real...

Havelock North, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We had an apartment with 2 seperate bedrooms at an affordable price - hard to find in Auckland. The free breakfast was either a muffin or bread with spreads, some fruit and muesli bar, and a box of juice - plenty to fill you up. Very clean and spacious. The beds were comfy. The girls on reception were very helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suzyloo99
Jenny J, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review

Dear suzyloo99 Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience! We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient staff, so it is wonderful to hear that they assisted in making your stay even more enjoyable. Please stay in touch with us and we look forward...

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Great central location, although very quiet and the room had everything I needed and more, only stayed for one night but wish I could have stayed longer. Breakfast was included in the price which was great and free WIFI was a nice change also. Most definitely worth the money, I would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oogle90
Jenny J, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review

Dear Oogle90 We are very glad to hear that our little touches enhanced your stay and you had a lovely time. It is wonderful to know that you would recommend this hotel. Thank you and please stay in touch with us via Facebook and Twitter so we can provide you with our best rates for your return! Warm Regards

Santa Monica, California
Reviewed 17 January 2013

I loved our room in Auckland! It was a mini studio apartment with a full kitchen and a washer/dryer in the room! The bed was comfortable and we were able to walk to everything. The only complaint I have about the room itself was the bathroom shower door didn't close all the way so every time you take a shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
Jenny J, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review

Dear Christine C It is great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our central location and explored the City. We appreciate your feedback, it will assist us in improving our services for future guests. I have addressed your concerns with our Maintenance Manager and will follow up personally to understand what we can do better as...

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 17 January 2013

This is ideally located in the down-town. The kitchen and laundry are with in the apartment. There is no room service but you can always walk down to a nearby restaurants in the area. The wi-fi in the room is chargeable. Although you can access the free Ethernet enabled internet on the hotel's computer in lobby for as much time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank imvvirgo

253 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (230)
Viewed
Room/Suite (94)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Other (63)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.4 km away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
0.1 km away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.6 km away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#30 of 68 in Auckland
612 reviews
0.1 km away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.7 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#7 of 68 in Auckland
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about VR Auckland City

Address: 188 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: ₹ 7,229 - ₹ 16,998 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — VR Auckland City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your VR Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Oaks Hotel Auckland Central
Oaks On Hobson
VR Auckland City New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from VR Auckland City staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from VR Auckland City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher the floor the better the view”
 of 5 bubbles 314margieh, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Name has changed and prebook your car parking.”
 of 5 bubbles mark2390, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Carpark required? Make sure to book a carspace when making a room booking!!”
 of 5 bubbles Kracker_1, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Expect the only the basic's, rooms very small rooms on top floors quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles , 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles StanleyL875, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay