We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

VR Auckland City

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,091 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for VR Auckland City
See the most recent reviews
Showing 985: English reviews
Batam, Indonesia
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Why: arrived 24 hours later than planned, due to cancelled flight. Inflexible management refusing to reschedule our stay for one night, forcing us to pay a second night. This, only due to the cancellation policy. We could inform them only 16 hours before instead of 24 hours. Even, they weren't willing to take into account the official letter of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sylvie667
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review

Dear Sylvie We are sorry to hear your experience due to your flight has been cancelled on the arrival date. Please understand due to our 24 hours cancellation policy we were not able to make any change by receive a cancellation notice on the same day. You may claim your compensation from the airlines or your travel insurance. We do...

brisbane
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Very disappointed with this hotel. Check in was slow, staff were ok. Told there was limited parking and therefore we couldn't park our vehicle. The room we were in was extremely average with no air conditioning! One of the chairs has a loose leg, surely this should be looked at. The free continental breakfast consisted of yogurt, juice, 2 bananas...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenant143
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest I thank you for taking the time to share the experience during your last stay. We pride ourselves in offering a high level of service. I am very disappointed that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay. Due to the limited parking space in our hotel, we always recommend guest to pre-book one...

Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We had space for our 3 young daughters to play but still have room to move around in. Easy walking distance to shops & food. Staff was friendly. My only complaint was the room wasn't as clean as I would have liked it too be, especially with an infant crawling on the ground.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KarsinOhana
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review

Dear KarsinOhana Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience! We appreciate your comments about the standard of housekeeping. This is of a major concern to me, I have addressed your concerns with our Executive House Keeper and will follow up personally. We hope you...

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Check-in was smooth, and the staff were friendly throughout. I loved that our room had its own washer, but it's some strange washer + dryer all-in-one that absolutely murders your clothes. Everything we put in there came out insanely wrinkled -- some of my pants still aren't wearable after numerous ironing sessions, so beware of that. I'd recommend the proper...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DarrenNCSU
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review

Dear Darren Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience! We are sorry to hear that you were facing difficulty with our washing machine, you may call reception anytime for assistance. Take care and I hope you choose us next time when you are in...

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

I arrived at the property and was told that although my room was pre paid I had to give them my credit card- normal hotel practice, no problem. I gave them my visa debit card and was told that as its a debit card they would have to take a bond of $250 in case of damage! I'm a 55...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GoodTriptips
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed to read that you had trouble upon check in with your security bond. It is very clear on our website and all other 3rd party websites that a credit card and a valid photo i.d is a requirement upon check in at our property. Further, when a credit card...

Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We have stayed at this venue several times now and recently stayed here again for our visit to see the musical WICKED. Our bookings are always for a two-bedroom apartment. The location is ideal for anyone wanting to walk to the CBD. It is within walkling distance to The Civic Theatre, Aotea Centre, Sky Tower and many restaurants. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard M
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review

Dear Richard It is great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our central location and explored the City. We appreciate your feedback about our complimentary breakfast and friendly staff, it will assist us in improving our services for future guests. Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the...

Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Was in Auckland to see the stage show Wicked (which was fantastic). Our room at this hotel was fantastic, service friendly and helpful, great value for money. Had a room (2 bed apartment, when we ordered a 1 bedder, so that was a nice surprise) facing out over Police Station (yard) was fine. Some reviews of breakfast pack were not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kiwi_Travellers3204
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review

Dear Kiwi_Travellers3204 We are so glad to see that you embraced what we offer here at our property. Great service, Great price, Great location – there are no properties in Auckland that can match what we offer with complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi. Take care and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 24 September 2013

stayed for 5 nights, Basic clean, but tied looking, only 3 chairs in a 2 bedroom apartment, only the basic in the kitchen. Coffee and black the, no other choice like a herbal the. Breakfast strange, no bread or cereal, but sweet cake, oak bar, sweet drink, yogurt, and a banana. would be so easy to make it a nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank liz_h255068
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review

Dear liz_h255068 Thank you so much for your feedback. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. We are a 4.5 star serviced apartment, we offer more facilities rather than traditional hotel rooms. However, there are a number of issues raised in your feedback that will help us improve as a property. I have passed on your recommendations and...

Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Terrible staff. The environment is like being in prison. 2 cameras on each lobby + 2each in 2 lifts + a few in the mainlobby.... 265 bux per nite? No guests. Strictly allowed after 10pm? R u kidding me? Been all sorts hotels, never been treated like that.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lilwaynoe
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review

Dear lilwaynoe I appreciate your concerns about our night security and reception not being as friendly as they should have been. It is important to be aware that we have a ‘no party policy’ at our property and therefore some measures need to be taken to ensure this is upheld. Our main concern is ensuring that our hotel guests have...

pisa
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Very well located, the staff was very kind and our 2 bedroom apartment was very comfortable and clean. Very good value for money. We had to book the parking in advance, but everything worked wery well. The wifi was a bit slow, but faster than in the rest of New Zealand!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank piera c
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review

Dear Piera It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!

261 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (238)
Viewed
Room/Suite (94)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Other (71)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 km away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.6 km away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
1.4 km away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 68 in Auckland
641 reviews
0.5 km away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#21 of 68 in Auckland
515 reviews
0.7 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about VR Auckland City

Address: 188 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: ₹ 6,545 - ₹ 21,525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — VR Auckland City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your VR Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Oaks Hotel Auckland Central
Oaks On Hobson
VR Auckland City New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from VR Auckland City staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from VR Auckland City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“close to aminities”
 of 5 bubbles chathurikak, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles johnwY9626MK, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“make sure it cleans”
 of 5 bubbles B95_Junior, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher the floor the better the view”
 of 5 bubbles 314margieh, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Name has changed and prebook your car parking.”
 of 5 bubbles mark2390, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5