We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

VR Auckland City

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,097 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 990: English reviews
Start your review of VR Auckland City
 Click to rate
Adelaide
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our apartment was spacious and clean - 2 big bedrooms, living area, dining table and chairs and well equipped kitchenette. Had everything we needed for preparing meals. Free WiFi, safe and washing machine. Unusual breakfast of sandwiches, juice and fruit delivered the night before. Reasonably close to city centre, and extremely close to the Bus terminal. Staff friendly, polite and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pasqualie
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience! We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient staff, so it is wonderful to hear that they assisted in making your stay even more enjoyable. Please stay in touch with us and we look...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Positives- close to city center and sky city casino which was worth a visit. Cooking facilities adequately equipped to prepare a meal. Washing machine and dishwasher available all very good. Negatives Hard as rock bed I have never ever in my life slept on a harder bed then the ones supplied here it makes it worse that I have chronic...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NatFrequentTraveller
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was less than top notch. We pride ourselves in offering a high level of service. We are disappointed that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay. Once again we thank you for taking the time to provide...

East Midlands
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here one night at beginning of holiday and 3 nights at the end. I would consider staying here again. It is fairly central, the 2 bedroom accommodation we stayed in was roomy. The beds are large and comfortable. Sheets clean. Mattress protector used. A few coat hangers and space to hang clothes and shelves for clothes. There is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoEastMidlands
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, It is great to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon! Warm regards, VR Auckland City!!

Milton, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed for two nights at this motel. We had flown from Toronto through Sydney to this place, and quite frankly were not that impressed. It is very basic, with an unusual breakfast of egg and onion sandwiches, yougurt and apples! Not the best location, but was adequate enough for the short time that we stayed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fred G
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was less than top notch. We pride ourselves in offering a high level of service. We are disappointed that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay. Once again we thank you for taking the time to provide...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for two night and it was ok don't order breakfast as it comes up the night before it was two sandwiches and yogurt the beds was as hard and un comfortable the bathroom was very basic the toilet seat was broken a lot off broken tiles throughout the room and if you have a car you will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your feedback. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. There are a number of issues raised in your feedback that will help us improve as a property. We have passed on your recommendations and feedback to the relevant department heads to address. Further to your concerns, we would like to...

Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location of this hotel is it's biggest enemy. A short distance from the Auckland Mission, we experienced somewhat disheveled men sleeping on the pavement, and on one occasion a full blown fight. Our room was fine and offered all that was needed for a two night stay, however, the 'breakfast' was slightly bizarre. Ours comprised egg and onion sandwiches,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roseglen1
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review

Dear Valued guest, Thank you very much for your feedback!! As you have rightly mentioned, Auckland City Mission is a government organisation that is located 500 meters away from us close to Auckland Sky Tower - we have no control on where the City Mission is located and instead encourage the Mission that is in place by the government by...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

customer service was bad. the 2 staff who was at the desk looked so confused what they were doing i have all pre paid booking still they try to charge me. we booked parking in advanced but they couldn't find that . didn't get the Break fast second day we have to ring up twice and finally got the breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chathurika K
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thanks for your review. Without constructive feedback we will not be able to improve as a property. We have undertaken a comprehensive training scheme with our staff in regards to customer service and the next time you are at our property there will be noticeable differences. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future....

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed one night , but for the amount of money paid , I could have stayed at a much nicer hotel in Auckland city . In fact the sky city grand has better deals than this "apartment" . The paint is old, mold in the shower , the wifi is difficult to connect to . And the free breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank meow_22
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies for all the inconvenience caused. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better It is disappointing to know that standard of housekeeping was less than top notch .This is of a major concern to us. You can see by our other reviews that...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Good location for Queen St and the Ferry terminal and provides modern well appointed 'apartment style' hotel rooms probably good for larger families, students, self-catering etc although customer service could be better as prior enquiry emails went unanswered and there is an inflexible policy of requiring a credit card guarantee or cash bond on arrival against 'damage' ? Although breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LondonTumi
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, It is great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our central location and explored the City. We appreciate your feedback, it will assist us in improving our services for future guests. Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Warm regards, VR Auckland City

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Internet works really well. Showers very good. Kitchenette has oven, dishwasher, washing machine dryer and large fridge that works very well. The oven is great because we like eating in and your cooking choices expand a lot ( Pizza Yes ! ) :)) The apartment is L shaped so you get a feeling of living in a proper apartment. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VANS_HH
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon! Warm regards, VR Auckland City

261 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (238)
Viewed
Room/Suite (94)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Other (71)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 km away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.6 km away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.5 km away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#21 of 66 in Auckland
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
1,193 reviews
0.5 km away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland
659 reviews
1.4 km away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about VR Auckland City

Address: 188 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: ₹ 6,461 - ₹ 16,016 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — VR Auckland City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your VR Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Oaks Hotel Auckland Central
Oaks On Hobson
VR Auckland City New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from VR Auckland City staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from VR Auckland City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Non roadside facing room - though you cant hear much traffic with window closed”
JoEastMidlands, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“close to aminities”
chathurikak, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay elsewhere”
johnwY9626MK, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“make sure it cleans”
B95_Junior, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher the floor the better the view”
314margieh, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5