We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Econo Lodge City Central

PricelineUS$ 69*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 79*
US$ 69*
Great Deal
US$ 70*
US$ 70*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

319 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 266: English reviews
Start your review of Econo Lodge City Central
 Click to rate
Glenorchy, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Although the standard rooms, being small they are adequate - have stayed here twice before - booked to stay again - clean - staff friendly - central cbd location etc (you're only sleeping there after all) There is a breakfast restaurant downstairs if required. Has quite an attractive lobby / foyer reception entrance area. Also will store luggage if departing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TonyS1
Econoldge c, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge City Central, responded to this review

Dear Tony We would like to thank you for taking the time and doing a review on Econolodge City Central Hotel. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay. Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 1 week ago

We checked in for an overnight budget stay before leaving early in the morning and found that it was an acceptable alternative. The room was small but perfectly tolerable, and the bed was comfortable which was the main thing.The Receptionist was helpful, for example with the loaction of the nearest New Zealand Post outlet.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Perry B
Econoldge c, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge City Central, responded to this review

Dear Perry, Thank you for taking the time in doing a review on Econolodge City Central Hotel for your recent stay. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and was happy with our service. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our room was tiny and barely had enough room for the double (yes that's right a double) bed. The room was tiny. No fridge, no aircon and windows didn't open. Although we were on one of the top floors, heaps of road noise. No where to put your luggage to store it or use it and hardly any wardrobe. Bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have spent here one night. My room was tiny which was fine for one night. But I didnt have normal windows. Noise area. Breakfast is not included in the room price you have to buy one if you want. Shower was small, carpet felt dirty..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eva D
Econoldge c, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge City Central, responded to this review

Dear Eva Thank you for taking the time to review Econolodge City Central Hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. You booked and stayed in the compact budget room which is one of the smaller room, however we do have larger room types, which are double glazed and more...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Econo lodge Positives: Central city location, Close to the casino Staff helpful and gave good advise Neutral: Small room but it was expected but not tiny There Is limited free wifi but had to ask staff about it Under the blankets it's really warm,good for winter Negative: Shower is small and stainless steel floor but at least the hot water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger H
Econoldge c, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge City Central, responded to this review

Dear Roger Thank you for taking the time and providing us with your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. We do have larger rooms which are double glazed so they are quite room, if you do decide to stay with us...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is my second stay here. Once again I can't fault anything. Just love the location and all the very handy and diverse eateries. Transport is easy to come by, you can shop to you drop. Lots of culture nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
Econoldge c, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge City Central, responded to this review

Dear Guest We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay. Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future. Kind...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I read people's reviews and looked at photos before booking so knew what to expect. It was better. It was clean and central. Tiny room which is fine for one night. Drawback is the overpowering deodoriser which they drown the carpets in. Don't expect a lot when staying here and you won't be disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 192holidaymaker
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 24 April 2017

Arrived to check in at the Econo Lodge Auckland to 1 of the concierge arguing with the cleaner, while we were trying to communicate with the concierge who was checking us in and it was very difficult to hear him. And not a very comforting welcome to guests. We had arranged for a late check out of 11am the following...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelYippey
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

Booked 2 nights here but leaving after one.building is run down and over priced. Can't even open a window for fresh air. Old air con, awake at 3am and feel like I have throat cancer. Like everywhere in New Zealand they give you Barely any wifi, and it's super slow. Avoid like the plague

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
Econoldge c, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge City Central, responded to this review

Dear Michael Thank you for taking the time and doing a review for Econolodge City Central Hotel regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. I can see that you booked and stayed in a compact budget room. We do have larger rooms available,...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 2 April 2017

If you want a budget hotel in downtown Auckland, this is ideal. Central to buses, trains, harbour, shopping, restaurants, etc. We found several local pubs within 2 blocks of the hotel. Easy to get to from the airport

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sdspring

213 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (14)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (137)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
One Double Bed (19)
Viewed
One King Bed, Business Room (19)
Viewed
One King Bed, Superior Room (26)
Viewed
One Queen Bed (19)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (20)
Viewed
Two Single Beds (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.7 km away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#31 of 67 in Auckland
672 reviews
0.3 km away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.3 km away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
668 reviews
3.0 km away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 67 in Auckland
90 reviews
0.7 km away
Ascotia off Queen
Ascotia off Queen
#54 of 67 in Auckland
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Econo Lodge City Central

Address: 37 Wellesley Street | Corner Wellesley & Albert Streets, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly City Central Hotel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: ₹ 3,285 - ₹ 7,620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Econo Lodge City Central 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge City Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Central Auckland
Hotel City Central
Econo Lodge City Central Auckland, New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Econo Lodge City Central staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Sydney, Australia
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
4 months ago
Montreal, Canada
4 months ago
San Diego, California
6 months ago
Perth, Australia

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge City Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is a certain amount of city noise which is unavoidable”
TonyS1, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“A corner room looking out over Wellesley Street is nice.”
PerryB137, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“My room didn't have normal windows but a weird ceiling vent with sunlight coming through so don't be surprised if you get that.”
liaml411, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room that is not facing onto the street”
mw66, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“T/he internal room was fine but if you want room facing the exterior make sure to ask at the desk.”
WingerJack, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$ 69* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 70
Hotels.comUS$ 70
HotelQuicklyUS$ 79
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates