We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
92-102 Gladstone Road Parnell, Auckland Central, Auckland 1052 New Zealand
Lowest prices for your stay
$89
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/07/22
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Traveluro
Expedia.com$89
eDreams
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (114)
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (15)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 29/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Updated 29/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#42 of 72 in Auckland Central
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We are a New Zealand owned and operated hotel Located in one of Auckland’s oldest and most prestigious suburbs neighbouring the picturesque Parnell Rose Gardens and an easy stroll to the vibrant buzz of Auckland’s downtown CBD, the Auckland Rose Park Hotel pairs comfort with convenience for travellers, families and conference groups. Set on a sprawling site of more than 7,000 square metres with ample of free car parking, the Auckland Rose Park Hotel boasts 111 rooms, comprehensive conference facilities, a swimming pool and the Garden View restaurant - the only restaurant in the city to enjoy sunny views over the spectacular Sir Dove Myer Robinson Park and the Parnell Rose Gardens. Equipped with a long history of visitor satisfaction, repeat guests appreciate our hotel’s incredible city-adjacent location from which world-class café’s, cocktail bars and art galleries at Parnell Village are just a stone’s throw or an easy walk down the hill delivers you to events at the city’s premier concert venue Spark Arena. Extensive conference facilities include bespoke packages that cater specifically to your group’s needs, and from sports groups to international businesses.Auckland Rose Park Hotel has a proud history of hosting successful functions, events, seminars and conferences.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Car park
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi

Location

Full view
82Good for walkers
Grade: 82 out of 100
20Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
8Attractionswithin 0.5 km
429Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 52
  • 157
  • 141
  • 46
  • 33
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Canckiwi wrote a review 11 Jun
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand50 contributions8 helpful votes
Hotel staff are friendly, rooms are clean and the usual amenities. Location is opposite a lovely rose garden. My rating is influenced by the horrible meal I had tonight; Chicken confit. The vegetables were cold and almost raw and the chicken was very dry. Needless to say I will be going out for meals.. Even McDonald's would be better.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Braxmere wrote a review May 2022
Tokaanu21 contributions2 helpful votes
Very dated and old. Towels were not only small but also two were marked. There is obviously govt housing here which is a shame. Lovely location next to the Rose Gardens and gorgeous cafe nearby - Rosie….highly recommend. If this is revamped it could be stunning, as it is brilliant location
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Ramon James, General Manager at Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Good morning Brazmere, Thank you for your online review, Great to see you enjoyed our location, we are incredibly lucky being so close to the CBD but yet so far away. We do not entertain any government housing requests, there are alternative options for this in and around Auckland CBD. Our team and I do hope to see you again soon, Kind regards, Ramon James - Hotel Manager
Read more
2015FamilyK wrote a review Nov 2021
Whangarei, New Zealand45 contributions9 helpful votes
The room we had originally booked was unavailable so we were given a different room for the first night, which did not contain all the amenities we were expecting (until I complained to the desk staff, I got the feeling they were hoping we wouldn't notice). The guy I spoke to when I checked in seemed totally disinterested, however, the manager I spoke to the next morning was very friendly and seemed genuinely sorry about the mix-up. Although the room we had booked became available the following day, it meant we had to pack up and move all our luggage, which was extremely inconvenient, especially as my husband was recovering from surgery. It would have been better if the guest before us, who stayed an extra unplanned night, was inconvenienced, rather than expecting us to move through no fault of our own. The room itself was much larger than you normally get for the price, however, although it contained a kitchenette and a dining table, there were no cutlery or utensils provided. The entire place looks tired and dated, with cracked tiles in the bathroom and worn carpet in the hall, but it was spotlessly clean and extra pillows were provided with no issues when requested. Assuming we were to actually get the room we booked, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Premium King faces the road so a bit noisier, but better amenities, sunnier & great views...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Ramon James, General Manager at Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Responded 17 Feb 2022
Thank you for your feedback
Read more
KerryRad wrote a review Jul 2021
Wellington, New Zealand105 contributions10 helpful votes
We had to rush our sick dog from Wellington to Auckland as the only specialist who could help was here. We arrived at 2.15am and called over 20 hotels, everywhere fully booked. My husband, 11 year old son and myself had to sleep in my car. My sister called the Auckland Rose Park Hotel at 9am and asked if they had space and if so can we check in asap. We arrived at the hotel at 10am. They were fixing up the room. They gave us complementary hot drinks and allowed us to rest in their lounge. By 11am the room was ready so me and my family could shower and climb into bed. Such a stunning hotel with amazing, friendly staff
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Parking available, room service, free wifi, swimming pool and incredible staff
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Ramon James, General Manager at Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Responded 17 Feb 2022
Thank you for your feedback
Read more
Kiwikid0 wrote a review Jul 2021
Auckland, New Zealand186 contributions79 helpful votes
Stayed one night. Last visit was enjoyable. Nice meals. Service friendly. All that has changed. Given no choice of room which was bland and more, lacking any information. Staff indifferent and not very polite on reception. Dinner menu very small and lacking Kiwi style fare. I ate out in Parnell. Won't be staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ramon James, General Manager at Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Responded 17 Feb 2022
Thank you for your feedback
Read more
Kelly B wrote a review Jun 2021
Whakapapa, New Zealand157 contributions56 helpful votes
Nice hotel, Comfy bed, clean and pretty spacious, food in restaurant was ok, just had light snack before heading out. didn’t have breakfast. Shower was ok but not a lot of pressure. Convenient location and friendly staff. Would stay here again, Thankyou
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ramon James, General Manager at Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Responded 17 Feb 2022
Thank you for your feedback
Read more
Rose wrote a review Apr 2021
New Zealand99 contributions20 helpful votes
Hotel rather run down. Stairways and hallways shoddy and bed updating. Reception staff very underwhelming. No interest in how they come across as the first faces you see. Left no impression. NEGATIVES *Dinner at hotel was not hot and not attractive for the price. Decided not to eat there again. Neither of us thought our dinner much chop. Fish and chicken. * Room toilet seat loose and ill-fitting and moved all the time when sat on. Very concerning with an elderly lady had to sit on it. Room 210.informed staff. *Quite noisy from traffic times *No electric blankets which we would have liked. POSITIVES * Breakfasts were really good. In room and weekend help yourself in restaurant. Staff there were very nice. * A reasonable amount of sky channels. 1 movie, many sport, a few doco ones etc * Clean room and great view of Rose Garden upstairs in rooms that faced there. Others hv city views. * Good shower and comfy bed
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Ramon James, General Manager at Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Responded 17 Feb 2022
Thank you for your feedback.
Read more
Dunnos wrote a review Apr 2021
Christchurch73 contributions6 helpful votes
We are a family of 2 adults and 2 teenage boys visiting Auckland for 3 days. This was our second stay at the Rose Park as we had such a good time there last time. The Rose Park is just so good on so many fronts and we travel as a family a great deal here in NZ and overseas. First it is very reasonable, rooms are perfectly fine and great for us as the boys can have their own twin room. The hotel is in Parnell which is extremely convenient, close to restaurants and shopping in Parnell, Newmarket, but also only 25 min walk to Queen Street and ferry terminals. Also lovely and quiet as over the road from the rose garden. Then there is the very nice pool and excellent car parking. On top of all that is a perfectly fine restaurant and bar if you want that convenience. Also staff very nice and friendly. I mean it’s not the Hilton but any shortcomings are more than made up for by its sheer convenience. We would never stay anywhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Dave T wrote a review Mar 2021
Dargaville, New Zealand8 contributions4 helpful votes
Recently stayed 3 nights at the Rose Park Hotel. Our room was very clean & the bed and pillows very comfortable. Fantastic value for the money accommodation. Great location, very easy to get to most Auckland locations from here. Free parking. The breakfast served at the restaurant here is top quality, and a bit of a hidden treasure I feel. Top quality ingredients all cooked very well. I rate it very highly. So all in a very great value & decent place to stay. Worth a look!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ramon James, General Manager at Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Responded 21 Mar 2022
Good morning dagdavecam, Thank you for taking the time to review and rate our hotel online, Great to see you enjoyed your stay, our team and I do hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Ramon James - Hotel Manager
Read more
422iana wrote a review Feb 2021
Dunedin, New Zealand3072 contributions245 helpful votes
+1
Close enought to the city to walk. Well it is for us. 3km into town along the water front. The Parnell Rose Garden is across the road and is worth a visit. There is a small pool outside and plenty of parking. The rooms were a good size.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$65 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kingsgate hotel auckland
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Kingsgate Hotel Parnell
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandAuckland Central
NUMBER OF ROOMS
111
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Auckland Rose Park Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Parnell Rose Gardens (0.06 km), Parnell (0.3 km), and La Cigale French Market (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Auckland Rose Park Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Auckland Rose Park Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Auckland Rose Park Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Auckland Rose Park Hotel?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Auckland Rose Park Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cibo, Rosie, and La Cigale.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Auckland Rose Park Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Auckland Rose Park Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Auckland Rose Park Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Auckland Rose Park Hotel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Auckland Rose Park Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Auckland Rose Park Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.