We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
27/8/2017 28/8/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Ponsonby Backpackers

    2 Franklin Road | Ponsonby, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    27/8/2017 28/8/2017
    Lock in the lowest price from our partners
    US$ 44
    View Deal
    Traveller (17)
    Room & Suite (5)
    Dining (1)
    Overview
    • Excellent56%
    • Very good35%
    • Average6%
    • Poor2%
    • Terrible1%
    Travellers talk about
    Paid Wifi
    Free Parking
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Laundry Service
    Self-Serve Laundry
    Breakfast included
    Pool
    Restaurant
    All hotel details
    Offers from Ponsonby Backpackers
    Deals (4)
    27 Aug28 Aug
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • 7 Bed Mixed Dorm
      US$ 44
      View Deal
    More deals for this property
    • 7 Bed Mixed Dorm
      US$ 44
      View Deal
    • 4 Bed Mixed Dorm
      US$ 48
      View Deal
    • Double Bed Private Shared Bathroom
      US$ 57
      View Deal
    • Single Private Shared Bathroom
      US$ 80
      View Deal
    Collapse room deals
    View more room deals
    Showing room deals 1 - of 4
    Kiwi International Hotel
    687 reviews
    #32 of 67 hotels in Auckland
     
    The Langham, Auckland
    4,302 reviews
    #6 of 67 hotels in Auckland
     
    Abaco On Jervois
    314 reviews
    #2 of 67 hotels in Auckland
     
    Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
    2,837 reviews
    #3 of 67 hotels in Auckland
     
    Write a Review
    Turn Your Opinions into Points!
    Turn your opinions into JPMiles
    Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
    *You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
    JPMiles / Payback Arrow
    JPMiles / Payback Arrow
    50
    Reviews (381)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    There are newer reviews for Ponsonby Backpackers
    See the most recent reviews

    11 - 15 of 339 reviews

    Reviewed 17 June 2017

    I decided to stay at ponsonby backpackers the last 3 nights of my time in New Zealand! It was the right decision!! Kirsty and Curtis, working reception, made the stay even better!! The atmosphere and people I met there made me feel like I should...More

    Thank 732mathiasj
    Response from AklHostels, General Manager at Ponsonby BackpackersResponded 29 June 2017

    Hi thanks for leaving us an awesome review, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be awesome. :) Stoked that you found the atmosphere and people to be amazing and so much so that you...More

    Reviewed 13 June 2017 via mobile

    There are alot of hostels in Auckland, but If you just need a good one, wich is clean, not far from the center, with free carpark and everything for a reasonable price! Just go here, its the best! U won't regret it.More

    Thank Pusher v
    Response from AklHostels, General Manager at Ponsonby BackpackersResponded 29 June 2017

    Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found us to be clean and reasonably priced. Stoked that you think we are 'the best'. We would love for you...More

    Reviewed 31 May 2017

    Stayed in one of the garden rooms at the end of a recent tour of NZ during which we had stayed in many fantastic hostels, which meant that Ponsonby Backbackers was a bit of a disappointment. The room was small, smelled of damp and could...More

    Thank Rob B
    Response from AklHostels, General Manager at Ponsonby BackpackersResponded 1 June 2017

    Hi thanks for leaving us a review, We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. We do all we can to help prevent damp, however being an old 19th century villa it sometimes can't be prevented due to the old wood....More

    Reviewed 29 May 2017

    Ponsonby Backpackers was a great end to my New Zealand stay. It is a nice little hostel with a homely feel due its size. Location in Ponsonby is also great. Quiet side street location but just 1 minute walk to Ponsonby Road with lots of...More

    Thank mrjimmyhu
    Response from AklHostels, General Manager at Ponsonby BackpackersResponded 1 June 2017

    Hi thanks for leaving us an awesome review, We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we did not disappoint as your last hostel. :) We do consider ourselves lucky to be located in a great suburb such as...More

    Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

    We only stayed one night at Ponsonby Backpackers, but have a great stay. The staff were very friendly, the kitchen very clean, and the rooms kinda homely. We were upgraded from a 6 bed to a 3 bed free of charge, and enjoyed the location...More

    Thank katy_thomas_1994
    Response from AklHostels, General Manager at Ponsonby BackpackersResponded 1 June 2017

    Hi thanks for leaving us a review, We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very lucky to have an awesome team who love their job and will always go that extra mile for our awesome guests, as do our...More

    Kiwi International Hotel
    687 reviews
    #32 of 67 hotels in Auckland
     
    The Langham, Auckland
    4,302 reviews
    #6 of 67 hotels in Auckland
     
    Abaco On Jervois
    314 reviews
    #2 of 67 hotels in Auckland
     
    Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
    2,837 reviews
    #3 of 67 hotels in Auckland
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Laundry Service
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$ 22 - US$ 56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 45
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ponsonby Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • New Zealand >
    • North Island >
    • Auckland Region >
    • Auckland
    • Also Known As
    • Ponsonby Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central ,
    • Ponsonby Backpackers Auckland, New Zealand
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (17)
    Room & Suite (5)
    Dining (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (22)
    Family and Play Areas (1)
    Nearby
    Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
    2,837 reviews
    1.39 km away
     
    Abaco On Jervois
    314 reviews
    .91 km away
     
    Kiwi International Hotel
    687 reviews
    1.43 km away
     
    The Langham, Auckland
    4,302 reviews
    1.66 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Prego Restaurant
    431 reviews
    .10 km away
    Ponsonby Road Bistro
    144 reviews
    .14 km away
    Farina
    119 reviews
    .19 km away
    Adam Arnold Kitchen & Bar
    35 reviews
    .09 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Ponsonby
    477 reviews
    .69 km away
    Foxes Island
    9 reviews
    .67 km away
    Western Park
    7 reviews
    .66 km away
    Victoria Park
    13 reviews
    1.01 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Ponsonby Backpackers staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "You can't really go wrong: even the dorm rooms are nice."
    Read review
    "I stayed in a private double w/ shared bathroom. Just fine. Would love a small table."
    Read review
    "I can imagine that the 2nd floor rooms are quieter, but it is a very quite and respectful place"
    Read review
    "take ear plugs as this is in a great busy location"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing