We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kiwi International Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Kiwi International Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

611 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 509: English reviews
San Francisco
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Service and accommodations were what we expected in a budget establishment although Internet connection was sub-par. We stayed in on a warm summer night and the noise on Queen Street was bad (granted, it was a Saturday night). To make matters worse, one of the beds in the room has its head against the wall directly opposite the elevator which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
kiwihotel411, Guest Relations Manager at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Ken. Thanks for stopping by to place a review. It can get quite noisy in the area, especially on the weekend, as we are placed in between Queen St and K Rd, which contain many bars and nightclubs. Aside from this we hope you received value for money from our pricepoint. Best regards.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Kiwi International Hotel is on Queen Street, which is where I wanted to be. The room was pretty poor and the beds were crap, but it's on Queen Street, which, as I said, was where I wanted to be. I've read a lot of complaints about the place on TripAdvisor which are out of the hotel's control. The lift system...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YummyRashers
kiwihotel411, Guest Relations Manager at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. As mentioned in our other review responses, the best time to raise any issues with your room is at the time you are not satisfied; with a receptionist or duty manager. This then gives us the opportunity to genuinely help any unsatisfied customers, rather than mentioning something after...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I enjoyed my short stay at the Kiwi International. I liked, the price, fair sized room, Airport bus stops outside, quiet location, downhill walk into town, good housekeeping, generous Tea / Coffee supplies, the Asian Restaurants almost opposite. I disliked, 2 stage lift up to 3rd floor, uphill walk back from town, WiFi was slow at times. I would return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AuldJimmy
kiwihotel411, Guest Relations Manager at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased that you found value for money based on the price you paid. We welcome you back again anytime. Best regards.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 1 week ago

last time i stayed here, the parking was free. now they charge 20 dollars, this makes this hotel way over priced for what it is (very budget). Next trip to Auckland I will stay somewhere else. I was a bit annoyed when we phoned to book, as the person at the hotel who took the booking just said parking was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ozlad
kiwihotel411, Guest Relations Manager at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there. Thanks for placing a review. All hotels in the CBD vicinity charge $20-$30 to secure an over night carpark space as they are extremely scarce. The public carpark building across the road from us charges $32 overnight, which make our carpark charges the cheapest option available. We have tried to keep our rates as competitive as possible for...

Kennington
Reviewed 1 week ago

They made a mistake when making the signage for this place and missed an 's' out of HOSTEL. I know it positions itself at the budget end of the market but it's much too basic to be called a hotel, let alone an international one. I arrived here after a 10 hour drive to be met by a really rude...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaun M
kiwihotel411, Guest Relations Manager at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Shaun. I'm very sorry that you are extremely angry about not getting a carpark. Queen Street is the main street through the largest and most populated city in New Zealand. It is unrealistic to expect a carpark for everyone in a city of a million and a half people when we only have 14 carparks on our premises. This...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The place is about a one and a half star if that. About the next level up from a backpackers. It is at the wrong end of Queens Street just around the corner from the notorious K Road. We booked for eight nights (silly us) at $120 per night and they wanted us to pay all the money in advance....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank garylX511WR
kiwihotel411, Guest Relations Manager at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Gary thank you for taking the time to place a review. I can't help but feel very disappointed that you have placed such an adverse review. Yes we do charge $119.00 NZD for a double ensuite room with tv, unlimited free wifi, free tea and coffee on the main street through Auckland City. we we believe is great value....

Groningen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The rooms of this hotel are small and outdated but it's clean and affordable and right there in the city centre. What dissapointed me was that the lights in pur room were as white as the ones on an airport bathroom and that the bar was only opened until 8.30pm. We arrived rather late and we're too late for dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EstherBrunner
kiwihotel411, Public Relations Manager at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Esther. Thank you for placing a review, our rooms are on the smaller side, however that can be very typical of the CBD area. Our prices are the cheapest in Auckland City so our facilities are based around the price we offer. Our limited bar hours are based around our license restrictions and keeping our noise levels at a...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Terrible stay bed springs gave me a sore back.rooms small. Hard 2 get a car park Because they were letting them to public $20.00 a night. restaurant menu poor.$18.00 for a cooked breakfast 2 small sausages .little bit of bacon. TV in room only got 6 channels when i complained to reception. It feel on deaf ears.i tried explaining about...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Daniel H
kiwihotel411, Guest Relations Manager at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Daniel. Thank you for placing a review. Yes carparking is limited - we only have 14 spaces, I'm sorry this is inconvenient, but it is beyond our control. Parking in Auckland city is extremely limited. We are sorry that you did not find value for money in our full cooked breakfast. For $18.00 you received, 2 sausages, 2 peices...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

More like hostel accommodation without the kitchen. The room was clean and basic, no air conditioner and a tiny refrigerator. A short walk to the centre of town made this the best selling point for the hotel. Fast free wifi-excellent. TV small and limited channels. Doors are very thin and walls made of concrete but the noise from the lift...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Megan R
kiwihotel411, Guest Relations Manager at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Megan. Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We agree that we provide clean, basic accommodation in the heart of Auckland City, however that's why we are able to provide such a competitive price in Auckland's bustling CBD. Thanks for staying with us and we hope we have the opportunity to host you again in the future....

Singapore
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed for 4 days in this hotel when I was travelling for a business trip. The room is pretty small and looked old. The room and toilet was clean although the bedsheets looked old. The location of the hotel in Queen street is a good location. The Britomart station and ferry is a 10 min walk away.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Suvajit_m
kiwihotel411, Guest Relations Manager at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Suvajit. Thank you for placing a review on our hotel. We also think we are placed in a great location. Our hotel is in the budget sector of the Auckland hotel market, so our furnishings are reflective of our pricepoint. All our rooms are held to a very high cleanliness standard though, as you mentioned. We are glad you...

138 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (118)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
2:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
2.3 km away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 68 in Auckland
597 reviews
0.8 km away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#46 of 68 in Auckland
278 reviews
2.1 km away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 68 in Auckland
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
1.0 km away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.6 km away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Quiet yet centrally located and of a size to provide the facilities that modern travellers expect while retaining a sense of comfort & friendliness. We offer friendly & affordable accommodation in the heart of New Zealand's largest city - free wi-fi, free baggage storage, no surcharge credit card payment and friendly 24/7 reception & service. Some parking is available on a "first come first serve" basis. Spaces are not guaranteed and cannot be reserved. Ideal for travellers and groups seeking quality, value and location. All the city's major attractions are within walking distance - Skytower, Skycity, Aotea Square, Viaduct Basin, the central business district, 'K' Road, theatres, restaurants, universities & tertiary institutions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kiwi International Hotel

Address: 411 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: ₹ 3,684 - ₹ 6,685 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwi International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Kiwi International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi International Hotel Auckland, New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kiwi International Hotel staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Kiwi International Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't take room 118 or any other room close to the elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles kshultz10, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are noisy. The best part was leaving!”
 of 5 bubbles garylX511WR, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles vzrider, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Lack of air-conditioning can make the rooms hot during summer”
 of 5 bubbles WanderingEric, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 128 view of Sky Tower, slightly larger”
 of 5 bubbles emyliamohdnor, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay