We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Great Ponsonby Arthotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Great Ponsonby Arthotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

503 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Great Ponsonby Arthotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 460: English reviews
Odenton, Maryland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Great Ponsonby Arthotel was our first stop after a long and bumpy flight from San Francisco. We were quite tired....and wanted a nice hot shower and some peace and quiet....and we got it in our charming room. We received a kind and warm welcome from Holly, and after we rested up, we went off to see downtown Auckland (bus...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Margaret T
Morrisville, Vermont
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I travel a great deal and prefer to stay in small inns and bed and breakfasts. We appreciate a unique sense of place offered by the hosts and quests in a well run establishment. The Great Ponsonby Arthotel was a great example of the advantages for this way of travel. The location was perfect for getting to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nan Carle B
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we loved it here! and would stay again in a minute. very relaxed atmosphere, friendly helpful staff and generous well turned out rooms. lovely garden to relax in or in the sitting area. there is a large choice of cold or hot breakfast or create your own, nothing is too much trouble.if you like walking Ponsonby is an easy stroll...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kathleen O
GreatPonsTeam, Manager at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - we would love to have you back again as well (to try another breakfast - it can change depending on what is in season, too!). We are glad that the garden and common areas are appreciated by guests, and we are fortunate to be in such a wonderful location.

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The staff were so friendly!! After a long 13 hour plane ride, it was such a pleasure to be welcomed into this quaint inn by friendly faces. Breakfast was delicious! The room was spacious and comfortable. Thank you for the fan! We worried about nighttime noise, but we had the best night's sleep since we left home. The location is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mokemo
GreatPonsTeam, Manager at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review

We are very lucky to be on a quiet street yet so close to the city and to Ponsonby, and we are pleased that you were able to get a good night's sleep - we know that this can be difficult while you are away from home. Thank you for your wonderful review.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a charming and very comfortable B and B. Rooms very tastefully decorated and very comfortable, excellent breakfast served, lovely garden to relax in and close to the amenities of Ponsonby Rd. Sally and Gerry the owners pay great attention to detail.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Davids27892
GreatPonsTeam, Manager at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us - we are very blessed to be in such a wonderful area and do our best to make our guests' stay relaxing and memorable. Thank you for such a lovely review.

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at Great Ponsonby Art Hotel on our early arrival into Auckland for 2 nights. Greeted with coffee and cake whilst our room was prepared, we then spoke with Sally who briefed us on the district, bus routes into the city centre and local eateries etc and then showed us to our allocated room - The Green Room - comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrissie46-11
GreatPonsTeam, Manager at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Many of the staff consider the Green Courtyard studio their favourite room, so we are pleased that you also enjoyed it.

Naples, Florida
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Sally, the owner, was not at all accommodating at our stay last week. We had a question about our rooms upon arrival and rather than speaking with us privately she approached us at our breakfast table in the morning. She came right up to us and started discussing the issues and trying to prove she was "right" and we were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rebeccamfisher
GreatPonsTeam, Front Office Manager at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review

We are sorry your experience at the Great Ponsonby is not what we like our guests to have. It should have been handled more professionally. We did what we could to make your stay as pleasant as it could be but we were trying to think about your friends who had complained about noise and people going down the driveway....

The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for just one night on our return to Europe. We were very graciously received and enjoyed our upgrade to the penthouse Suite immensely. Thanks to the advice we received we had a pleasant walk and dinner at the waterfront. As we had to leave early we could not enjoy the breakfast but it looked very appetising. When we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rvanderborch
GreatPonsTeam, Manager at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay (including the upgrade), and we hope that you will be back some time to try one of our breakfasts - after all, we always remind our guests that breakfast is the most important meal of the day!

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 February 2017

I've known the owners of their bed and breakfast for quite some time. However, I think I got to know them even better now that I had the chance to stay at their establishment 2 weeks ago (yes I know this review is long awaited). I was assigned to stay in the "Morning Room", a name that is as peaceful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael C
GreatPonsTeam, Manager at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. It was lovely to finally have you stay with us, and we are so glad that you enjoyed it and hope you will be back to try some of the other rooms - the Courtyard Studios and the villa rooms with balconies are also lovely places from which to enjoy the summer sun in...

Contoocook, NH
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

We arrived tired and travel weary and were greeted with a cup of tea and walking recommendations. As we settled in on our darling little porch with a glass of wine before dinner, our wonderful hosts joined us and we had a most enlightening talk about the Ponsonby section of Auckland which is easy to navigate and interesting. Breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matha J
GreatPonsTeam, Manager at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review

One of the highlights of being in this profession is being able to chat and share our knowledge with visitors. Thank you for such a lovely review, and we would have you back any time to continue the conversation!

154 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (147)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
4:31
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.6 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.5 km away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 68 in Auckland
280 reviews
2.2 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
3,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
2,373 reviews
3.0 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
2.2 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Relax in a quiet, heritage, 1890's villa in the middle of cosmopolitan Auckland, just 2 minutes stroll to Ponsonby's vibrant cafes, restaurants and galleries. Fifteen minutes by eco bus, five minutes by taxi to the waterfront or a 30 minute amble through Ponsonby's interesting streets. Close to Eden Park, the Zoo and all main attractions. Qualmark 4 star+ and Enviro Gold. Breakfasts are legendary. They are cooked to order, not just left in your fridge the night before. This is a place to have fun & meet other guests.Free, unlimited wifi throughout hotel, ipod docks, all sky channels in your room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Great Ponsonby Arthotel

Address: 30 Ponsonby Terrace | Ponsonby, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: ₹ 12,696 - ₹ 18,063 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Great Ponsonby Arthotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Great Ponsonby Arthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Ponsonby Arthotel Hotel Auckland Central
Great Ponsonby Arthotel Auckland, New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Great Ponsonby Arthotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Great Ponsonby Arthotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I was worried Room 1 by the front door would be noisy, but had no problem at all.”
  • Room 1 - bed was comfortable
  • Room 1 - clean bathroom
  • Room 1 - not huge, but quite comfortable
 of 5 bubbles Dingo40, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 1 was a little small for the price, but the balcony was great!”
 of 5 bubbles P4499CNamyb, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms would be quiet as on very quiet street with no through traffic.”
 of 5 bubbles MPC69a, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“"Uncle" who can pick you up at the airport is Always a good idea - just makes everything go easier.”
 of 5 bubbles jhalbe01, 5 May 2016 | Read review
“Parking is a challenge. Auckland is a good starting point, though does not begin to represent the wonders of NZ.”
 of 5 bubbles Respitesearch, 1 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5