We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

YHA Auckland International

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
YHA Auckland International
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

263 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for YHA Auckland International
See the most recent reviews
Showing 191: English reviews
Posthausen, Germany
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a week, and it was a good hostel. Kitchen is well equiped, rooms are tidy and with good space for everyone. At least where i stayed. Reception is really helpful and nice. One thing i am missing are toilet brushes. It Is a bit disgusting, if you see what happens on the toilet before you but you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank inlovewithgreen
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland International, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and it is an idea we will look into with respect to the toilet brushes, we just can't guarantee they'll be used... Steve, Area Manager

Montevideo, Uruguay
Reviewed 5 November 2016

Friendly staff, very nice kitchen area, good showers. Bathrooms: spacious but the floors were always wet, the cleaners didn't emptied the trashcan not even once during the 4 nights of my stay. Bedrooms: the worst mattress I've ever slept on. We had to sleep with the windows open because the smell in the morning is horrible if you keep it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karibrasuka
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland International, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. The washrooms are serviced 3 times a day. As they are open 24 hours a day and are used throughout that time there will be times between the servicing where they are not at their best. We are also replacing the older style beds in the next week. Thanks again and we do hope you will...

Cambridge Gardens, Australia
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We had the Twin Ensuite room. The size was good, very clean and amenities were excellent. There was a problem with noise though. Some sort of motor (Maybe A/C) was located outside our window. There were earplugs on the bed on arrival I assume to block out the noise but I would not have booked the room had I know...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KellnSteve
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Very good, helpful staff. This is one of the better run hostels.it has a nice big kitchen, plenty of washrooms and showers. Dorms are small but have secure lockers. Staff can book city tours, etc. The location just off Queen St is perfect with plenty of coffee shops and many sushi restaurants. A 20 minute walk gets you to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Staff was rude and very unwelcoming. The bed was clean but the room itself was dirty, white goo on the blinds to dirt all along the walls. The sharred bathrooms on the floor were all dirty, pee and gum everywhere and overflowing garbage bins. Very very unhappy with my stay. Even a "thank you" from the staff would have been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katkit77
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland International, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, and I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. This is far from what I expect of our staff and I am disappointed that you have had this experience. I will meet with the housekeeping team to raise the cleanliness in both the room and the washrooms. We will also...

Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

I didnt enjoy this hostel. The staff were not friendly at all, they looked very young and unexperienced. The card lose the magnetism so fast!!!! I had to change my card to open the doors sooo many times! It was a pain! The beds were very thin and the cover looks like it was houndred years old. The toilets were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Delfina P
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland International, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Delfina My apologies for the experience you have had here and while it is no excuse I can confirm that our staff are very new and you're perception that they are inexperienced is quite correct. During your stay we have had a number of new staff start in preparation for our refurbished Auckland City hostel opening...

Reviewed 24 August 2016

I had a very good time here as it closes to Queen st. The staff members are such a wonderful and very helpful. Person line Tianna and another bearded guy :) ( sorry, can't remember his name) are very dedicated persons and gave me a good guidance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elayaraja A
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland International, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind feedback, and it's great to hear you had great service. we have a couple of staff with beards so will pass your comments on to all of them :) Steve - Area Manager

summer hill
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Twice mid winter. We had a double ensure. Motel style accommodation. Great value for money. Easy access for step and stair challenged people. Located close to a range of Asian restaurants, the airport bus terminus and the Irish pub for great food, downtown and the harbour. ****. WiFi was a bit crappy but that have been due to the load...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank colin_n_jones
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland International, responded to this review

Hi Colin, thanks for your feedback, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. With our Free Wifi you are correct in that if a lot of people are streaming videos it does impact the speed for other users. Kind regards Steve - Area Manager.

Reviewed 11 August 2016

The kitchen is very large, enough dishes / pans / etc for everyone. Enough room for privacy. Clean and roach free showers/bathrooms. Big and robust lockers. But only two sockets in each four bed room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David G
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland International, responded to this review

Hi David, Thank you for your positive feedback about our hostel. The good news is we are currently installing power supply so that each locker will have it's own socket for you to charge devices securely in the locker. Steve Collier - Area Manager

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one the night and was really impressed with the staff, kitchen/dining area and tv/media area. All the facilities were well looked after. The rooms although basic did the job. However we had a room at the front and the noise from the road kept us awake all night, talking, singing, music, cars and the lorry taking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moonie2011
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland International, responded to this review

Hi there Moonie, Thanks for your feedback following your stay in Auckland, I am pleased the staff looked after you and the good news is we are planning an upgrade of our rooms. Unfortunately being in a City Centre location noise from the outside of the is a challenge and we do have ear plugs at reception for those customers...

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 km away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland
660 reviews
0.2 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4,053 reviews
0.9 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
2,399 reviews
0.2 km away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#21 of 66 in Auckland
523 reviews
0.2 km away
YHA Auckland City
YHA Auckland City
#20 of 108 in Auckland
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
YHA Auckland International is 5-star Qualmark rated, staffed 24 hours and offers excellent amenities. Backpacker accommodation includes small and large multishare rooms. Twin, double and ensuite rooms are also available. There is a large fully equipped kitchen as well as a spacious and relaxing lounge area with Sky TV and a pool table. Other amenities include gear and luggage storage, video library, stereo and a great book exchange make this backpacker hostel a complete facility. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Auckland International

Address: 5 Turner Street | P.O. Box 68-149, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: ₹ 1,407 - ₹ 5,130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — YHA Auckland International 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your YHA Auckland International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland International Hostel-Yha Hotel Auckland Central
YHA Auckland International New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA Auckland International staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Auckland International staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Maybe ask about room noise when you book if you are a light sleeper or dont like earplugs!!”
KellnSteve, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Private facilities are worth paying extra for”
FathomBruce, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Dorm rooms are too crowded. No room to move.”
, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“1st level very loud and hot, can't recommend”
Philipp791, 15 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ensuites are well worth the little extra for couples.”
barrow4, 6 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5