We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Base Auckland Central Backpackers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

803 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Base Auckland Central Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 646: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2016

We had been driving from South island. We asked about where we can park for luggage etc and staff advised us that they had no idea. They also had no clue on where to park the car for the night, I found the car park next to the hostel later myself and various free parkings around the venue till 8am....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine_LDN
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I really appreciate the time you have take to rate us online.Unfortunately we do not have car park facilities in our location to provide you details on them. It is find of hard to find car park in the mid city therefore we do not promise anything to mislead our guest. We will...

Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 5 January 2016

We only stayed for one night but were very satisfied. Staff was very friendly at check in. We stayed in a double private room. Seemed well kept and clean, no issues with bathroom either. Not 5 star clean but remember this is a hostel. The location was great, there is also a fun little bar with cheap drink specials and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KNicoleH246
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review.We really appreciate your time taken to review us online. I am happy to her that you had a good stay.Thank you for staying with us.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 January 2016

It is a very large backpackers in the heart of the city, the biggest in NZ possibly. Despite this, it is pretty comfortable. Check in at 10pm (took ages understaffed but it was late at night and there was a big queue). Room was clean and comfortable. I got a good nights sleep. No hand soap in the men's shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darryl2222Pictures
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review.We really appreciate your time taken to review us online. Check in time can be bit busy for us we try our best to clear the queue as fast as possible. Thank you for staying with us.

Milwaukee, WI
Reviewed 4 January 2016

I had a private room on the second floor - and heard the ruckus at Habana Joes well into the night. I'm sure a higher room would be better. The staff was good, attending to all needs. Average accommodations.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JIBuchholz
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you had a good stay with us. we do have three bar in our location I can understand it can get bit noisy - please let us know next time when you stay with us we can try our best to keep you on the top floors.

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

Where do i begin? The while layout Of the Hostel is Bad. You have to walk forever to get to the bathroom or to the kitchen. Everything is dirty, from shower to toilets to rooms to kitchen. It is just a hughe mess. Toilet was full of SH*** for a day until someone closed the lid with a sign on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wanda M
Amanda R, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Wanda Thank you for the feedback, I am sorry to hear your less than satisfactory stay with us here at Base Auckland. I will look into the details of your stay with us and speak to the departments concerned. We do have clean team which refreshes the toilets and the communal areas at least five times during the 24hrs...

Reviewed 31 December 2015 via mobile

Our room was located on the 7th floor in the 'girls sanctuary'. Wasn't noisy and room was clean. Electronic key wouldn't work for the first room, but they switched us to another room without any fuss. Bathrooms a little dingy, could use a good clean. Staff are helpful. Great kitchen and lots of space in lounge/quiet areas. Tried the continental...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lela S
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 December 2015 via mobile

Dirty, rude staff and not helpful at all. When checking in, the staff told us our booking had been cancelled so we had to rebook again! We were woken up during the night to police sirens, drunk people in the corridors and horrible smells. Wouldn't recommend this hostel to Anyone and I'll never book a base again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelaholic2014
Amanda R, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Travelaholic Thank you for the feedback you have provided us. I am not sure at this stage what room type or what floor you had stayed on. As we are in the heart of city at times the noise from the street is hard to escape. However we do have quieter floors where people can opt from. I will...

Reviewed 29 December 2015

If you want a good nights sleep, dont stay here as at night the road that it is on comes alive with police cars, loud music and drunks shouting. Our door wouldnt close as it stayed on the latch which obviously isnt that safe. We only stayed one night so we didnt set foot anywhere else except our room and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danni C
Amanda R, Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Danni Thank you for your feedback, being in the heart of the city some of the floors on the Hostel are little more noisier than others. We have security locks on all the doors and times some of the guests leave them open. If you could email me more details and I will check the dorm you had stayed...

Reviewed 28 December 2015 via mobile

We needed last minute accommodation and we rang base, alarm bells should have went off when they said they had loads of rooms available. When we arrived we were greeted by a rude staff member who didn't so much as utter a smile took our money that was it. Bad first impression! Then we went to our room it felt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cara M
Amanda R, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Cara Thank you for providing us with the feedback. It seems like that we have unfortunately failed to meet your expectations and our usual high standards and for that I apologise. If you could please email me on virender.sehgal@stayatbase.com to further discuss the matter that would be appreciated. As I would like to know the staff member you had...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 28 December 2015

I stayed here for two nights. Check in was at 2pm, which is a bit late, but you can leave your bags in bag storage in the meantime. The location is right off of Queen St, which is one of the main streets in Auckland. There are events taking place every night that the hostel highlights, and there is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael L

103 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 km away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 66 in Auckland
313 reviews
0.4 km away
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
0.8 km away
YHA Auckland City
YHA Auckland City
#20 of 108 in Auckland
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Queen Street Backpackers
Queen Street Backpackers
#51 of 108 in Auckland
141 reviews
0.7 km away
YHA Auckland International
YHA Auckland International
#17 of 108 in Auckland
263 reviews
0.6 km away
Jucy Snooze
Jucy Snooze
#11 of 53 in Auckland
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Award-winning Base Backpacker Auckland is located in the heart of Auckland city, less than 5 minutes walk to everywhere. We have fun working here so we know you'll have fun staying in our hostel. Former ACB, Base Auckland hostel is located in the heart of the city - central to shops, cafes, museums, Sky tower and only a few minutes walk to train, bus and ferry terminals and Vector Arena. The airport bus (Airbus) stops right outside our door! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Base Auckland Central Backpackers

Address: 229 Queen St | Cnr Queen St. & Darby, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: ₹ 1,421 - ₹ 5,194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Base Auckland Central Backpackers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Base Auckland Central Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Auckland Central Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Base Auckland Central Backpackers New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Base Auckland Central Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“not the 3rd floor”
lauraaQ7301MB, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“4 person dorm room was the perfect size/people ratio.”
laurenob1, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“there is a bar that works until 9pm at 6 floor.”
N3908XO_, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Pack ear plugs and a mini fan; can't open windows so it gets hot. 7th floor rooms are quiet.”
, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Expect weekends to be noisy and you get what you pay for.”
fuzzyslowmo, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5