We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Scenic Hotel Auckland

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

900 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Scenic Hotel Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Showing 821: English reviews
Milan, Italy
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Understandably as this is a city centre hotel the rooms lacked views but the room we had was dismal and looked onto other buildings within 5 m. The overall hotel was tired but clean, the staff tried to appear helpful although some training was obviously needed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cwhyankee
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we are sorry you were disappointed. You must have stayed in one of our Light-well rooms? Wherever we sell Light-well rooms we describe them as just that, except at Booking.com where they are described as Economy rooms, but in all cases the room type description states that they look into a light-well and...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the Scenic Hotel Auckland, and would certainly stay again. The kerbside view of the hotel was a little disappointing, as it is currently covered in scaffolding, and the reception area also is unprepossessing. The welcome, however, was warm and the staff friendly and informative. The valet parking system also worked very well. Our room (503)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PatP121
Waipukurau
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room 309 this is the noisiest hotel I have ever stayed in, the noise from outside late at night and early in the morning is horrendous. The 2 beds shoved together are old and uncomfortable. The My Bed topper pad (which normally goes a long way for additional comfort) can't have been lifted and shaken for many days/weeks, however I...

Review collected in partnership with Scenic Hotel Group
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Snadzilla
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

I am so sorry you were disturbed by noise, there are strict noise regulations enforced by the local authority between 10am and 7am but sometimes particularly at week-ends when bars close there are some rowdy patrons. I am also sorry about the other issues there should have been a plug and the socket should have worked, the bed is very...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived late Sunday night but and received a friendly welcome from staff. Cosy and comfortable room. Bathroom a bit pokey for our room. Enjoyed the restaurant and bar. Had a lovely chat to the bar staff. Great position to access the rest of the CBD. And airport shuttle dropped us practically at the door. Thanks for the stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sa_countryfolk
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the trouble to post your comments. Kind regards, Ken

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our bed on 8th floor is obviously broken and they have just put a duvet on top of the mattress to try to get more life out of it! Trust me, I'm no 'Princess and the Pea' but adding a duvet to a broken bed and mattress makes no difference. Went for a night cap at 9.30 in the evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Truthberko
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about these issues, we appreciate the feedback and are sorry you had a poor experience. The stain on the base of the bed is unacceptable and we have replaced the bed with a new one. I am sorry we didn't pick up on it, perhaps because it was on the base and hidden by...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This Auckland Hotel is located in the centre of the city, so within easy walking distance of the main attractions. This does mean that the street noise can be a bit disturbing at night as the windows are only single glazed. The hotel is of the Art Deco period and thus is listed. We were told that the hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexander1910
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for giving our team such positive feedback I will make sure that they are aware of your comments. Kind regards, Ken

Grimsby
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Oh, so close to a 5 star review but fell down on the bed comfort. Mattress was soft and well past its date for renewal. It was replaced the following day by a helpful and willing duty manager for one that was better but still not 100%. Come on guys, sort this and it will make the Scenic so much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonothan_and_Elaine
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

We really appreciate that you chose our hotel and took the time to review our hotel, thank you so much. Kind regards, Ken

Auburn, Maine
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here for 2 nights in late February. Well located--the SkyBus will drop you off pretty much at the front door, and about a 10 minute walk to the waterfront. Large rooms--our room basically had a separate bedroom, bathroom, and lounge area. Good service--I was especially impressed that the bags we left with the front desk for a few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CourtneyMD
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. kind regards, Ken

New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed one night in February. Was a tad nervous with the scaffolding! Good service. got into room early. nicely appointed. bathroom pokey but clean Good amenities and good sized bar fridge decent coffee too A bit tricky getting into the bathroom with the bed so close Was heading to a gig at that travesty of a venue (mt smart) so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chippie_7
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your positive online comments. Kind regards, Ken

Auburn, Maine
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Scenic Hotel is a decent choice if you're looking for a mid-range hotel in the central Business District. It's right on Queen Street, with tons of restaurants and shops in the surrounding blocks. It's a reasonably short walk to the waterfront, Auckland University, the theater district, etc. The Skybus also stops right outside the hotel. The hotel itself is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaineScott
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your positive online comments. Kind regards, Ken

298 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (157)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
1:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (126)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Lightwell Queen room (25)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Studio Queen (31)
Viewed
Superior Queen (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 km away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.6 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
1,169 reviews
0.5 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
3,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 68 in Auckland
2,364 reviews
0.9 km away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
2,132 reviews
1.1 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Auckland

Address: 380 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: ₹ 7,964 - ₹ 15,376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Scenic Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Scenic Hotel
Scenic Hotel Auckland New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Auckland
#19 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Scenic Hotel Auckland staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Scenic Hotel Auckland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms overlooking the main road can experience street noise”
 of 5 bubbles 452hilaryg, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“With a group of 6 couples, no one seemed to have a bad room.”
 of 5 bubbles foodiefool_10, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Check your room first or better still check if the scaffolding remains around the outside.”
 of 5 bubbles Cwhyankee, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Queen Street is right outside, so a room on a higher floor will be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles MaineScott, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Book at least a standard room.”
 of 5 bubbles 286cindiw, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5