We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilton Auckland

147 Quay Street Princes Wharf, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010 New Zealand
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (1456)
Room & Suite (640)
Dining (129)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Hilton Honors Discount
₹29,658
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#18 of 70 hotels in Auckland Central
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2023 Travellers' Choice Best of the Best
Sleek rooms, gorgeous views, the perfect location - have it all at Hilton Auckland. Our waterfront hotel has sundecks, private balconies and walls of windows for views of the harbour you won't find anywhere else. We're a quick walk from the central business district and Quay Street restaurants, shops and nightlife. Our 24-hour concierge team is happy to set up sightseeing tours during your stay. Enjoy fresh seafood in FISH Restaurant, complete with panoramic harbour views, or head downstairs to Bellini Bar for coffee, a bite to eat or expertly mixed cocktail. Our outdoor lap pool is on the fourth floor of the hotel, suspended above the wharf. Swim to the end of the pool to see the underwater viewing window that looks out to the harbour over to the North Shore.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Evening entertainment
Highchairs available
Paid private parking on-site
Paid wifi
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
On-demand films
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Harbour View
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Chinese and 4 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Hilton Honors Discount
3247Reviews36Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,788
  • 909
  • 330
  • 145
  • 75
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
BigMerk wrote a review 18 Feb
Glasgow, United Kingdom2290 contributions562 helpful votes
Well-located for both Cruise ships (which I was doing) and downtown, the Hilton is an impressive hotel. There was a friendly greeting from the receptionist checking me in and she went out her way to direct me to local places to see and provide me a map of the location. My room was on the top floor but faced away from the sea. As I was here for 3 nights that was probably a good thing as there were ships in port each day - effectively right outside your window if facing the sea. The room was a bit smaller that. You would expect in US but about the size of a normal UK room. The bed was large and comfy and there was a balcony which allowed you a partial sea view too. The bathroom is a big glass box with a massive shower and a tub. Overall I was very pleased with the hotel and its staff. I have written a separate review of the in-house bar - Bellinis - where I had mixed service the 2 nights I ate there. For me the only other negative was the price - c£300 per night.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
LeeK42 wrote a review Sept 2023
Seattle, Washington6 contributions4 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We had an amazing time at the Hilton Auckland. Great breakfast with fresh squeezed orange juice and great food. We don’t usually like continental breakfasts, but this one is outstanding. The hostess, Katelyn remembered our drink preferences by the third day. We loved the view of the harbor and sunrise coming in the window.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hilton Hotels, General Manager at Hilton Auckland
Responded 11 Sept 2023
Kia Ora, Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor following your stay with us at Hilton Auckland. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and it’s great to hear you enjoyed our facilities and the hospitality provided by our team especially Katelyn. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back to Hilton Auckland in the near future. Kind Regards, Scott Thomson General Manager - Hilton Auckland
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
jlw0lf wrote a review 18 Feb
Brevard, North Carolina265 contributions71 helpful votes
We stayed overnight before our cruise departure. The hotel was beautiful and the staff was wonderful. The hotel was fully booked with Valentines celebrations and cruise passengers, but the hotel did a splendid job of managing the turnover. The hotel is right next door to the cruise terminal. We watched our ship dock right outside our window. On the morning of departure the hotel bellman helped us carry our luggage to the terminal (a distance of about 50 meters). The hotel is also right in the heart of the downtown area and within walking distance of many restaurants and shops. We would definitely stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Anne Louise S wrote a review 14 Feb
Oxford, United Kingdom153 contributions108 helpful votes
Hilton need to be transparent about this property - you book what should be a stunning "harbour view" room - at premium prices and if there's a cruise ship in town it completely blocks your view, takes all your light and your privacy - you can practically shake hands with the cruise ship passengers from your balcony! Out of a 7 night stay, only 1 night have I had a clear view of the harbour and downtown. I've been visiting this hotel for 10 years and it's never been this bad! You receive an EMail a couple of days ahead of your stay with the cruise ship schedule - by which time you're too busy or all the other hotels in town are booked -NO photos of the visual impact - they mention the name of the cruise ship, but no length, so you have to Google yourself to find out it's over 300 metres and will take up the entire side of the dock moored 20 metres away from your room, Come on Hilton - you need to fess up about this! If I'd wanted a dark, dingy room overlooking a building or the next building's plant, I could have booked one in town for $200!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Avoid at all costs - I wonlt be going back!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
ahtram56 wrote a review 9 Feb
Dubuque, Iowa297 contributions95 helpful votes
We loved our stay at the Hilton . So accommodating, clean and very comfortable. Arrived after a 15 hr flight. Ate a wonderful breakfast in their restaurant. Very good fresh food. Great location as well. We were able to walk to all of the things we chose to do.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hilton Hotels, General Manager at Hilton Auckland
Responded 6 days ago
Kia Ora, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor following your stay with us at Hilton Auckland. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and it’s great to hear you enjoyed our rooms and dining options. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back to Hilton Auckland in the near future. Kind Regards, Scott Thomson General Manager - Hilton Auckland
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Fifi582014 wrote a review 5 Feb
London, United Kingdom46 contributions67 helpful votes
Lovely hotel just a shame the cruise ships that are moored outside totally inhibit the view. We were unable to have the curtains open because we were on full view of every passenger on the 3 different cruise ships that appeared one after the other.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hilton Hotels, General Manager at Hilton Auckland
Responded 6 days ago
Kia Ora, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your kind words about our property and are delighted you found it lovely. We understand your disappointment regarding the cruise ships blocking your view. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay. While we cannot control the arrival and departure of cruise ships, we do strive to communicate potential disruptions to guests whenever possible. As you mentioned, we believe we sent out a communication informing guests about the arrival of the cruise ships during your stay. We are always looking for ways to improve the guest experience and your feedback is valuable to us. We will take your comments into consideration as we explore ways to better communicate potential disruptions to guests in the future. In the meantime, we hope you enjoyed the other aspects of your stay with us and we hope to have the opportunity to make it right in the future. Kind Regards, Scott Thomson General Manager - Hilton Auckland
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ellen L wrote a review 4 Feb
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania75 contributions
This is a beautiful hotel located right on the harbor. We arrived early after a very long trip from Philadelphia. We were greeted warmly by Yveline who offered to charge our devices while we showered at the gym (our room wasn't ready). She gave us some ideas of where to wander and later, upon return, gave us our key. The room is very nice with soft beds and a beautiful view with a balcony. Yveline apologized over and over for the view of the cruise ship. We teased that we were not happy - they should move the ship (which they did - at 6 pm). Seriously, she couldn't have made us feel more welcome. She even presented us with a bottle of wine for my husband's retirement! The bathroom is fabulous with a nice, glass shower and a tub - and robes provided. There's plenty of closet room, a desk and a sofa. There was a strange clicking noise that we reported. Eventually Catherine came up to investigate. She figured out there was something wrong with the connection to a little light inside the closet - and tried to fix it (actually - her tape worked). Meanwhile, she said she would get us another room if her patchwork didn't work. We ended up staying in the room and getting a lovely night sleep. The hotel breakfast (free if you have Hilton status) is lovely with everything including Nova! YES! The views are gorgeous. We also enjoyed the bar. There is a great pool and fitness room - everything you can hope for. TIP - try Soul Restaurant around the corner. MAGNIFICENT food. Thank you, Hilton, Yveline and Catherine (and all of the staff)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hilton Hotels, General Manager at Hilton Auckland
Responded 6 days ago
Kia Ora Ellen, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our team, particularly Yveline and Catherine, made you feel welcomed and well taken care of. It's great to know that you appreciated the beautiful views from your room, despite the temporary inconvenience of the cruise ship and we're glad that Catherine was able to address the issue you encountered promptly to ensure you had a restful night's sleep. We're also delighted that you enjoyed our breakfast offerings and had a great time at our bar. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and congratulations to your husband on his retirement! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another memorable stay in the future. Kind Regards, Scott Thomson General Manager - Hilton Auckland
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tour706743 wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution2 helpful votes
We booked a harbour view room. What was not mentioned on the Hilton site that cruise ships dock right next to the hotel so your view is that of a cruise ship. This will be the case all this week during our stay. Celebrity edge will docking later this week . A bottle of wine is hardly adequate compensation . Apparently all the harbour view rooms have the same view. Location is convenient but if you would to sit out on the balcony to relax between the cruise ship view and noise I would definitely avoid this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hilton Hotels, General Manager at Hilton Auckland
Responded 16 Jan 2024
Kia Ora, Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at Hilton Auckland. Your input is valuable to us, and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced regarding the view from your room. We regret any frustration this may have caused during your stay and we are committed to reviewing our communication methods to ensure future guests are well-informed. Your feedback will be instrumental in enhancing our communication strategies and exploring additional ways to improve the overall guest experience. When you have a spare moment, please contact our management team at AKLHI_assistantmanager@hilton.com. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your experience further and strive to make this situation right for you. Kind Regards, Scott Thomson General Manager - Hilton Auckland
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
GRT wrote a review Jan 2024
Sedona, Arizona87 contributions62 helpful votes
A container style poorly maintained hotel by the sea where you have 1 chance out of 2 having no view because of a huge cruise ship in front . Therefore, any room with a view = no-go. The "pool" is not one - it's an outside bathtub between 2 buildings. The rooms are old and average. Food wise - great location and potential. Clearly ZERO staff knows what they are doing or about the menu. Average quality ruined by poor service. Basically, there are many options in AKL that are better. What a pity for a flag Hilton property in NZ!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hilton Hotels, General Manager at Hilton Auckland
Responded 4 weeks ago
Kia Ora, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us at Hilton Auckland. We sincerely apologize for the aspects of your experience that did not meet your expectations and we appreciate your feedback. We regret the inconvenience caused by the presence of cruise ships affecting the view from certain rooms. We understand the importance of a good view and will review our communication processes to ensure guests are well-informed about potential obstructions during their stay. As for our rooms fell short of your expectations, please know that we are committed to ongoing maintenance and will take steps to address any issues with aging infrastructure. We will also be conducting additional training to ensure our staff is well-versed in all aspects of our offerings, enhancing the overall dining experience for our guests. We appreciate your recognition of our great location and potential. Your comments inspire us to redouble our efforts to provide the high standard of service expected from a Hilton property. If you choose to stay with us in the future, we are dedicated to making your experience more positive. Please feel free to contact our Duty Manager directly at AKLHI_assistantmanager@hilton.com if there's anything specific you would like to discuss or if you have additional feedback. Once again, we apologize for any inconvenience caused, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations. Kind Regards, Scott Thomson General Manager - Hilton Auckland
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Evelyn E wrote a review Jan 2024
Bath, United Kingdom1 contribution3 helpful votes
When you book s harbour view suite, you expect to be able to sit out on the balcony and see the view. Instead, we got to see the verandahs of two gargantuan cruise ships that tied up alongside on consecutive days and cast a shadow on our suite. Clearly expecting complaints, reception had ready bottle bags of red wine which they gave out as 'compensation'. Disappointing in the extreme. Calling room service or reception was hit and miss - they sometimes answered. The food menu was odd - especially for breakfast. On the positive side, the lobby is attractive, the bed was very comfortable, the Consierge was excellent and staff very willing, if not experienced. The hotel is well located, although it looks a little bleak at the front. I just wish that when we booked we had been made aware that cruise season has its downsides. We might have booked anyway but we are now unlikely to return.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: It's very windy!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Hilton Hotels, General Manager at Hilton Auckland
Responded 4 weeks ago
Kia Ora, Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us at Hilton Auckland. We sincerely apologize for the disappointment you experienced with the view from your suite. While we believe a letter was sent out to guests in advance, communicating the cruise ship docking schedule, we acknowledge the need for improvement in this area for future stays. Please rest assured that we are also reviewing and addressing the issue regarding your breakfast experience to enhance our services and offerings. It's heartening to hear that you found our lobby attractive, the bed comfortable, and the Concierge service excellent. We are grateful for your recognition of our team members' hospitality, even though we acknowledge there is room for improvement in their experience levels. If there's anything more you would like to share or discuss, please feel free to contact our Duty Manager directly at AKLHI_assistantmanager@hilton.com. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to make amends in the future. Once again, we apologize for falling short of your expectations, and we appreciate your valuable feedback. Kind Regards, Scott Thomson General Manager - Hilton Auckland
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Auckland Central area.
PRICE RANGE
₹16,247 - ₹28,349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hilton auckland hotel auckland central, auckland hilton
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandAuckland Central
NUMBER OF ROOMS
187
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HILTON AUCKLAND (New Zealand) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hilton Auckland
Which popular attractions are close to Hilton Auckland?
Nearby attractions include New Zealand Maritime Museum (0.3 km), Ferry Building (0.4 km), and Coast-to-Coast Walkway (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hilton Auckland?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hilton Auckland?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hilton Auckland?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hilton Auckland?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hilton Auckland?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ahi., Beast & Butterflies Auckland, and Giraffe Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hilton Auckland?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hilton Auckland?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hilton Auckland offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hilton Auckland?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Chinese, Japanese, and Dutch.