We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Travellers' Choice award winner
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,679 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,540: English reviews
Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have been to Auckland on my official visit and stayed in this hotel, I liked the welcome and the hospitality. Attendants were quite supportive and helpful. Specially Jay Chauhan who has not even helped me inside the hotel but out side hotel also have supported me getting the details of the location and various amenities. Good staff and good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kmlbarik
SofitelAuckland, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review

Bonjour kmlbarik, Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour. It is an utmost pleasure to read your lovely review and the aspects that had highlighted your stay. Your positive feedback of your stay is highly appreciated and will be shared with all our teams, and more particularly with Jay from concierge. Thank you...

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This modern hotel sits at the end of a viaduct in downtown Auckland opposite an office building. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, the bathroom and shower is also spacious. I also enjoyed the large tub along side the stand up shower. One set of towels was provided daily. The staff was very courteous. There is no ice machine so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JennieKeyPhotography
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in a Deluxe Room overlooking the internal water feature. Arrived at the hotel at 3am. Concierge was just coming out from the back office as I arrived and pointed me in the direction of Reception. Check in was smooth and efficient. The room was stunning! It was so spacious with a 2-seater couch, massive TV, Bose speaker...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eric C
SofitelAuckland, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review

Bonjour Eric C, Thank you for sharing your invaluable feedback on your recent stay at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour. I am glad to read you had enjoyed our hotel services and luxurious room. I am truly sorry to hear that you did not fully have the Sofitel experience which we endeavour to strive for. This has been passed on to...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is in an odd location at the end of the Viaduct and opposite IT office space. It has more of a business atmosphere than a holiday feeling. Staff were helpful when we complained of the very uncomfortable mattress after the first night. They changed it for another without argument. The room was large but overlooked the offices across...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LYNDRIA B
SofitelAuckland, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review

Bonjour LYNDRIA B, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us at the Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour. I am glad to read our helpful ambassadors had highlighted your stay. We apologize for the concern you have brought up regarding room view as these preferences have now been noted on your profile for future stays. Once again, thank you...

Glasgow
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a really nice stay here to start our holiday in New Zealand. The hotel is in a great location beside the marina and near to lots of great bars and restaurants. However the thing that really made it was just how quiet it was. We were really tired after travelling from Scotland and we had a very restful sleep...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donald M
SofitelAuckland, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review

Bonjour Donald M, Thank you for choosing to stay at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour and taking your time to share your experience. I am delighted to read about the Magnifique experience you had with us and how our comfortable Sofitel MyBed has enhanced your peaceful rest. Furthermore, I would be absolutely delighted to welcome you back to the hotel in...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped for just an overnight before flying back to New York. Overall were impressed with value for money and the location. The viaduct area has certainly developed greatly from my last visit and it is an area I would wish to spend more time in on our next visit to Auckland. The hotel is very new and has that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
SofitelAuckland, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review

Bonjour Peter J, Thank you for taking your time to share your recent experience with us at the Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I am glad to hear that the hotel location was advantageous during your short visit in Auckland. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and I...

Taupo, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank deanTaupo_NewZealand
SofitelAuckland, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review

Paris, France
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Came in on points not really knowing what to expect. Pleasantly surprised, especially by bellmen and front desk greetings. Checkin was a bit slow, but they made up for it with a spacious room upgrade, high floor, facing harbor toward the city side. The better view from this location. Morning coffee a treat in their little corner cafe [not the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pierre L
SofitelAuckland, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review

Bonjour Pierre L, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our beautiful room and our welcoming ambassadors here at Sofitel Auckland. Furthermore, I am glad to hear that the hotel location was advantageous during your visit in...

Switzerland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a five star hotel in a very interesting part of Auckland. It is well located in relation to many food and shopping attractions. The service was not bad, but not what I would expect of a 5* hotel. The rooms are beautiful and the lobby as well, but the pool for example was quite small (only a lap...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 337alliep
SofitelAuckland, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review

Bonjour 337alliep, Thank you very much to dedicate your time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour. I am truly sorry that your stay did not meet up your expectations and sincerely apologise for the lapses in service you have encountered. Please rest assured this does not meet the high standards of which we are...

Montreal, Quebec
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Sofitel chain of hotels can be relied on to offer good service and nicely appointed rooms. The hotel in Auckland does just that. It is a small hotel and well situated with easy access to many restaurants. Our city view room was booked by the tour company that we engaged. City view is a stretch of the imagination! Office...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank montrealtravellors
SofitelAuckland, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review

Bonjour montrealtravellors, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us at the Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour. We apologize for the concern you have brought up regarding room size and layout however these preferences have been noted on your profile. I am delighted to hear that you appreciated the delivery of service from our helpful ambassadors during your short...

919 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (680)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (84)
Viewed
View from Room (73)
Viewed
Room/Suite (134)
Viewed
Bathroom (48)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Other (306)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (167)
Viewed
Amenities (56)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (72)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.7 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
2,367 reviews
1.5 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
3,963 reviews
0.9 km away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
2,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
2,136 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 68 in Auckland
1,129 reviews
0.9 km away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Lava Dining
Lava Dining
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
Sabrage Bar
Sabrage Bar
Cuisines: European
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Inspired by New Zealand's landscape and culture and boasting panoramic views of Waitemata Harbour, this beautifully designed hotel is a true landmark destination.Superbly located on the waterfront in the heart of the Viaduct, Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour harmoniously blends French spirit with the best of New Zealand culture. Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour offers 172 chic and luxurious rooms all with juliette balconies and floor to ceiling windows. Oversized bathrooms feature separate rain showers and deep soaking bathtubs. Each guest room also offers Sofitel's famous 'My Bed', LCD televisions and Bose sound systems. Services include valet car parking, dedicated Concierge team, luxury airport transfers, Guest Relations Manager and 24 hour in-room dining. Sofitel's luxury day spa, So SPA offers six private rooms with a wide range of beauty and wellness treatments. Guests can also make use of a sauna and steam room, and adjacent gymnasium. A 20-metre indoor lap pool and spa pool are also available. Lava Dining delivers flavour & flair with an innovative menu, tastefully blending the best local produce with a refined French touch. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner, visit Lava Dining for an intimate dining experience & breathtaking views. A bright & casual eatery, 21 Viaduct Cafe offers waterside seating to allow guests the chance to enjoy the Marina vistas. Savour expertly made espresso, French pastries, and a daily selection of healthy choices filled with fresh, local ingredients. In an unofficial toast to Sofitel's fine French origins, Sabrage invites guests to revisit the art of 'sabrage'. A sophisticated bar serving the finest champagnes, signature cocktails, local and international wines and beers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Address: 21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: ₹ 10,739 - ₹ 25,074 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#1 Family Hotel in Auckland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#3 Green Hotel in Auckland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#6 Business Hotel in Auckland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour staff and other travellers.
28 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you have the money get a Harbor View.”
 of 5 bubbles ravinon, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the adjacent bus terminal across the street.”
 of 5 bubbles GregB172, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The rooms overlooking the marina are a little noisy at times.”
 of 5 bubbles wdbentley, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a marina view room for a little extra”
 of 5 bubbles 545vladl, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the quay offer great views but with floor to ceiling windows offer very little privacy without closing the drapes”
 of 5 bubbles 779bobt, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5