We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Corner of Customs East Street and Gore Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010 New Zealand
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
$290
View deal
Traveluro
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (197)
Dining (81)
Room & Suite (25)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 04/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 04/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#36 of 72 in Auckland Central
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
SO/ Auckland is a rebellious lifestyle hotel where locals and travellers can stay, eat, spa and play in style. On-point and on trend, the hotel is the city’s hippest hot spot and the place to be and be seen. Experience chic beats and signature cocktails at the rooftop HI-SO and lobby MIXO bars, wine & dine in Harbour Society helmed by Michelin-starred Chef Marc De Passorio and unwind and revive your vibe at SO/ Spa. As one of the most anticipated hotel openings in New Zealand, the new luxury 130 room hotel comes to life with avant-garde design elements inspired by Auckland's volcanic origins. Situated in the heart of the city's lively Britomart district, you are within walking distance to fashionable boutiques and galleries, and nightlife located along the picturesque waterfront.
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Rooftop bar
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Kitchenette
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Romantic

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
323Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
52Attractionswithin 0.5 km
217Reviews5Q+A26Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 115
  • 51
  • 26
  • 15
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Christina H wrote a review 21 Jun
Auckland73 contributions21 helpful votes
Stayed overnight with my husband. Through the Accor programme we were upgraded to a lovely room on an upper floor with a view of the city and the harbour. Didn’t use the restaurant or fitness areas. Rooftop bar is the best in Auckland! All staff were friendly and helpful especially the reception staff and the concierge. Would definitely recommend this hotel.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Andrén, Other at SO/ Auckland
Responded 3 days ago
Dear ChristinaH352, Thank you for your review and for staying with us at SO/Auckland. As an ALL Member, I would also like to thank you for your loyalty! I am happy to hear that you had a great stay with us and found the staff friendly and helpful. Hi-SO is a great place to enjoy a cocktail and the breathtaking views of the Waitemata Harbour at Sunset. Please do try Harbour Society restaurant and our Wellness floor the next time. Hope to see you back again soon! Regards, Robert Andrén Hotel Manager
Read more
hinemoa-auckland wrote a review 21 Jun
Auckland, New Zealand195 contributions104 helpful votes
Staying one night in the city is a perfect reason for staying at SO\ I love the opulent and fun lobby. The team seem to be genuinely having a good time and their sparkly outfits can't help me smile. The rooms are lovely too. I was in 702. The toiletries and robes are delicious and the bed super comfortable. If only there was a socket by the mirror for hair tongs. The bath more than makes up for that though. And if you missed the memo about adding '0' to your number to get on the wifi looking at the room phone will remind you. The restaurant on 15 floor has great food and views. It was a little noisy from time to time as it was a Friday night, but that is to be expected in the CBD. Easy checkout. Already planning my next visit.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Andrén, Other at SO/ Auckland
Responded 3 days ago
Dear hinemoa-auckland, Thank you for your review and for staying with us at SO/Auckland. Our lobby is definitely one of a kind and we do love our sparkly uniforms designed by WORLD. Thank you also for pointing out the need to put a '0' in front of the room number on floor 1-9. This should have been mentioned during check-in. Apologies that you weren't informed about it. I will remind the team about it. The views from Harbour Society are indeed amazing and with food to match. Next time, don't forget to get a cocktail pre/post dinner at HI-SO one floor above. See you back soon! Regards, Robert Andrén Hotel Manager
Read more
charlotte m wrote a review 7 Jun
1 contribution
We stayed Saturday 4th of June for one night and were so annoyed with the amount of money we spent thinking we were going to get 5 star accommodation and service. The foyer was a dusty, unvacuumed area. The TV didn't work, the loo seat was broken, the tap at the bathroom sink was loose the coffee machine made cold coffee (I have have one at home so know how they work!) The late night snack was a soggy mess of a meat ball panini. I would have liked breakfast in bed and a late check out but we just left at 9am.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Don't bother booking here
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Andrén, Other at SO/ Auckland
Responded 1 week ago
Dear T2189NGcharlottem, Thank you for your review. As discussed in a separate conversation, we are very sorry that your recent experience wasn't in line with your (and our) expectations. We will work hard to address the mentioned issues and ensure that your next stay will up to the same standard as your first visit to SO/Auckland. Kind regards, Robert Andrén Hotel Manager
Read more
Sven wrote a review 6 Jun
Stratford, New Zealand20 contributions19 helpful votes
The hotel is stunning and decor is fantastic. The beds very comfortable and great bathroom. Amazing rooftop bar however was closed Sunday -Tuesday. Lovely treat for partners birthday was a nice touch. The service was hit and miss. The hotel gave us a generous 2 hour early check in would was appreciated, staff were readily available and polite. Where the service was less so was on room cleanliness, small amount of grime in the shower corners and after room servicing the bed had been very poorly made. Room not vacuumed, bathroom mirror was not cleaned - this was mentioned to reception and they were apoplectic. Mini bar was not restocked until raised at reception and was not told of complimentary minibar on check in. Another issue is on one evening my partner and I ordered Uber Eats (Unfortunately forgot to provide cutlery) I requested a couple bowls / plates at reception and nothing was ever brought up to the room (or even a call to let us know this wasn't coming) for me this was just rude and unacceptable - if it's not possible tell the customer or charge a tray fee if necessary. I note its somewhat out if the hotels control how er there are issues with noise on the weekends, partly due to other guests and then have intoxicated patrons using the lift to the rooftop bar - feels somewhat less 5 star however we were aware when booking. This hotel is fantastic however when staying in a place like this the small things matter, the cleanliness and small hiccups were not major issues but just less 5 star then expected.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Andrew wrote a review May 2022
Adelaide, Australia8 contributions5 helpful votes
Very disappointing, especially since last stay when it had just opened! Window Curtain was falling off the rail and got tangled in the screen curtain. Then found soap and shampoo was missing. No Robe or slippers! Had Checked in very late due to international flight -called front desk -took forever to answer, hung up and tried again....finally a voice! Soap and robe delivered -torn pocket and no belt! & looked used. TV remote for lounge missing, used wall switch to turn off. It IS a very nice hotel, but small things means like this are inexcusable. Design is funky, but having to crawl under the desk and curtains to find power shows thoughtless practicality, same for the handbasins, looks cool but no kicker on the bench so it is awkward to stand close! so next time I will try the new IHG Voco.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
sanjanaraju65 wrote a review May 2022
Auckland, New Zealand1 contribution
Overall great and prompt customer service from the staff, for the price paid and the rooms comparison let’s us down as we had issues with the Tv and internet access from The moment of check in , rooms changed but that also had other guests clothes in the closet. We were tempted to book as advertised for reopening however there was no mention of the hotels bars and restaurants being closed so we had make our own arrangements for food. Late check with the package , but prior to that despite a DND sign the staff starts knocking on the door and asking when would we be checking out
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Gabrielle P wrote a review May 2022
Silverdale, New Zealand92 contributions26 helpful votes
My husband and i had a fantastic stay! We were totally spoilt and treated like VIP’s the whole stay. A particular mention to the Club Lounge manager and staff, they went over and beyond. All food consumed from the divine High Society Restaurant dinner, with the best cocktails to the very satisfying breakfast with all you could ever wish for in a breakfast. Thank you to Stephan for the upgrade, we are raving fans and will tell all of our friends about this memorable Staycation.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Brooke Penny wrote a review May 2022
Gisborne, New Zealand20 contributions6 helpful votes
We booked a 2-night stay and left after the first night. The city noise was extreme (Friday) we had no sleep, the aircon pumped cold all night and we couldn’t change it as it is centrally controlled. The carpet hadn’t been vacuumed, the gold vanity basin had a huge chip in it and overall the room felt like it had experienced more wear n’ tear than it should for its age. We paid $411 for the one night that we stayed, including the valet parking charge. When we arrived to check in at 4pm, the room wasn’t ready. The hotel staff seemed inexperienced as not one apology or resolution was offered to us. Our booking details show our room included complimentary breakfast, but no breakfast was provided nor were we told how to redeem it. At this rate, the experience left a lot to be desired, not to mention overpriced. On a positive note, the bar was fabulous. Great bar staff and spectacular views!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Richard G wrote a review Apr 2021
Hamilton, United Kingdom10 contributions10 helpful votes
Just like to say a huge thank you to the staff at So Auckland. We didn't have a choice to stay as it was part of the managed isolation program as we moved to NZ from the UK, but I could not recommend this hotel highly enough whether enforced or not! The staff were so helpful. Great food too and a comfortable room with balcony. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen Gould, General Manager at SO/ Auckland
Responded 27 Apr 2021
SO good day, Thank you for the great feedback and we're thrilled to know that your move to NZ started well with a stay at SO/ Auckland. Kind regards, Stephen Gould - General Manager SO/ Auckland
Read more
willtravel44 wrote a review Nov 2020
Napier, New Zealand112 contributions119 helpful votes
SO disappointed, after booking this hotel for the America's cup early next year, I have found out that this hotel is actually closed for that period, despite having a current booking for the same time. No contact from the hotel to tell me. I found out from a friend. Were you going to let us just arrive to a closed hotel ? Meanwhile prices have become very expensive everywhere for that time. Not the way to treat your loyal customers SO. Platinum members too, which makes t feel worse. Be aware if you have booked here
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen Gould, General Manager at SO/ Auckland
Responded 1 Dec 2020
Thank you willtravel44 for the review and I am sorry to read about your disappointment. Our hotel has been assisting returning New Zealanders and permanent residents with their isolation requirements. We were expecting to welcome the public from the New Year; however, the Government has asked to extend that facility into 2021. Whilst we would have loved to welcome you for a vacation over America's Cup, we will put our energies now into taking care of Kiwis who need a soft landing after relocating back to NZ. Our sister property, Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour is open now and will continue to be throughout the period in question. It is a fantastic luxury hotel in the heart of the America's Cup precinct. We cannot see your booking details based on your TripAdvisor user name, but I'd love to hear from you if we haven't managed to reach you as yet. My details are below. I will help to settle you in at Sofitel and ensure your stay there is magnifique! Kind regards, Stephen Gould - General Manager SO/ Auckland & Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour E: Stephen.Gould@Sofitel.com
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$199 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandAuckland Central
NUMBER OF ROOMS
130
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about SO/ Auckland
Which popular attractions are close to SO/ Auckland?
Nearby attractions include Escapade NZ (0.5 km), Auckland Historic Bar Tour (0.2 km), and Britomart (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at SO/ Auckland?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at SO/ Auckland?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at SO/ Auckland?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at SO/ Auckland?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to SO/ Auckland?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ahi, Culprit., and The Grove.
Are there opportunities to exercise at SO/ Auckland?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is SO/ Auckland located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Auckland Central.
Are any cleaning services offered at SO/ Auckland?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does SO/ Auckland offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to SO/ Auckland?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Parnell (1.4 km), Eden Garden (3.5 km), and Auckland Town Hall (0.9 km).