Avani Auckland Metropolis Residences

40 Kitchener Street Metropolis Building, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010 New Zealand
Traveller (182)
Room & Suite (167)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sat, 16 Mar
No prepayment needed
₹13,609
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#15 of 70 hotels in Auckland Central
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Travellers' Choice
Pause for a moment of ‘wow’ as you walk through the lobby, a sleek century-old courthouse transformed for an impressive arrival. Then rise up to your room. Once climbed by legendary French Spiderman Alain Robert, our towering hotel takes the meaning of ‘home away from home’ to new heights. Above it all, slide into a contemporary vibe and discover Auckland from the city centre. You’ve got culture, entertainment and the great outdoors on your doorstep!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Spa
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Car park
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Complimentary tea
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Safe
Iron
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Hindi, Korean
Hotel links
Special Price:Avani Hotels Stay: Early Bird Deal Up To 25% Off!

Location

40 Kitchener Street Metropolis Building, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010 New Zealand
551Reviews10Q+A32Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 325
  • 140
  • 41
  • 26
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Kimberley D wrote a review Apr 2023
Seeley's Bay, Canada18 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Wonderful room with separate bedroom. Full kitchen with in suite laundry. Separate bedroom from the living area was very much appreciated. Lovely indoor pool and spa area. Easy walk to the waterfront and shopping areas with restaurants. Close to the sky tower and intercity bus terminal for easy airport transfers.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Viresh Mathur, General Manager at Avani Auckland Metropolis Residences
Responded 11 Apr 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us especially our rooms. We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit. Regards, Viresh Mathur General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PatienceSydney wrote a review Jan 2020
Mosman, Australia127 contributions107 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a strange hotel offering, while the historic facade promises an elegant older style experience the rooms are apartment style in the attached tower building. The room I stayed in was a comfortable one bedroom apartment with a small kitchen and laundry which are all very welcome to travellers with dirty laundry or who want to prepare a simple meal. My only quibble would be the complete lack of any normal hotel accoutrements such as room service, a bar or a friendly bustling lobby. The historic building looked like it had been gutted and the interiors were stark and soulless and provided no glamouress uses of what was a beautiful space. Apart from that, the location was very good although our room was somewhat noisy as it faced the park.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Avoid the rooms facing the park
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Viresh M, General Manager at Avani Auckland Metropolis Residences
Responded 2 Feb 2020
Dear PatienceSydney Thank you for your review. The historic facade that houses our Reception was the Old Magistrate's Court and is a Heritage listed building which is more than 100 years old. The accommodation block was built in the late 90's and connected to this historic building which is now collectively called The Metropolis. I appreciate your comments about the lack of normal services such as a restaurant or bar. We are working on opening a restaurant and bar in this building in a few moths which will be a great addition to our hotel operations. We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Auckland. Regards, Viresh Mathur General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Julie L wrote a review Jan 2020
Leichhardt, Australia923 contributions384 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
These apartments are generously sized if you’re looking for more space at a reasonable price whilst in Auckland.

With a small but functional kitchen, space for a lounge area and dining area, then separate bedrooms, these are apartments you could easily plan a long stay in.

They are an easy walk to the Queen Street shops, but between there and the hotel are plenty of great cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques. There’s also a small grocery store very close if you don’t want to walk to a larger supermarket.

There’s no restaurant on site but everything is so close it doesn’t matter.

The pool is a great size for swimming proper laps, it was quiet at 6pm too. You can borrow goggles from reception if you didn’t bring your own.

Across the road is the lovely Albert Park, perfect for your morning or evening walk/jog.

Apart from the unexplained 10.30pm fire alarm, it was a really lovely stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Viresh M, General Manager at Avani Auckland Metropolis Residences
Responded 2 Feb 2020
Dear JulieLee75 Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Auckland. We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit. Regards. Viresh Mathur General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AshleyHarker86 wrote a review Dec 2020
Christchurch, New Zealand1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Our room had a nice view but only when we opened doors - windows filthy! Shower took ages to heat and flooded the bathroom, no one was ever on reception, parking was a nightmare (and $30 per night!) and room service only provided clean towels - didn’t clean or provide more tea/milk/sugar. Plus at 8am building work commenced right next door with a hammer drill which woke us up. Good location but that’s the only positive. Room was nothing like photos and had filthy windows, scratches on doors, smelly couch cushions and just generally old and distressed walls, carpets and doors.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Date of stay: December 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Viresh Mathur, General Manager at Avani Auckland Metropolis Residences
Responded 7 Jan 2021
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review us following you recent stay. I am very sorry to hear of your experience and that we fell short of delivering our usual high standards of service. I have discussed your feedback with the team to ensure that such an experience is not repeated for any of our guests. We hope you give us another opportunity to redeem ourselves in the near future. Regards, Viresh Mathur General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jeminionearth wrote a review Jul 2020
Auckland, New Zealand1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great stay. Helpful staff, indoor pool, good location, Sky TV (including sports & movie channels!), nice rooms with views. The only let down though was that our rooms bathroom was a bit faulty. The sink plug was one where you push it to make it close or open, but it was broken. So we had to take the whole thing out otherwise the sink would just fill up with water. That wasn't really an issue but the bath was. It had no proper fitted plug, it had an oversized make do thing to cover it which did not work well at all. The bath drained within a few minutes, even if we tried to hold the 'plug' down or keep the water running. So that was disappointing especially because a big reason I chose the hotel/room was for a bath in the suite. You'd think for the money we paid, they'd be able to supply working drain-plugs. Another thing (this isn't really the hotels fault), the spa's aren't going because of city water restrictions, but it could have been nice to receive anything complimentary in place of that. But we did enjoy our stay and would definitely come back!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Date of stay: July 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Viresh Mathur, General Manager at Avani Auckland Metropolis Residences
Responded 19 Jul 2020
Dear jeminionearth. Dear haerenoa Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Also thank you for staying with us and supporting the local hospitality in these tough times. We are delighted that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. i sincerely apologise for the maintenance issues you experienced and I have ensured these are fixed. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future. Regards, Viresh Mathur General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marian D wrote a review Jan 2020
Lichfield, United Kingdom8 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel was chosen to provide kitchen and laundry facilities following a cruise and before more traveling. The apartment had washer,dryer,fridge, freezer,oven,hob dishwasher, microwave, kettle coffee maker and sky TV. Loads of space far in excess of what we expected.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Viresh M, General Manager at Avani Auckland Metropolis Residences
Responded 20 Jan 2020
Dear Mddol Thank you for your review. We are plesed that you enjoyed your stay with us in our fully equipped spacious suites. We trust you enjoyed your holiday in NZ and we look forward to hosting you on your next trip! Regards, Viresh Mathur General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
micthemini wrote a review Mar 2020
Northampton, United Kingdom90 contributions36 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived at the Avani at 7am, a bit dazed from a long flight.

We left our luggage as we knew we could book in at 2pm.

On arrival at 2pm we were informed our room was still being cleaned and we needed to wait for 5 minutes. This was annoying as there was a queue of 3 people behind us who all got their keys and made their way to their rooms.

It was 2.20 when we eventually got our luggage and then the room keys. We tried to access our floor but the card key wouldn’t work in the lift so it was back to reception to get that sorted. By time we got to our room and the card keys had been sorted it was 2.45 pm.

Our suite was nice, but not at all clean. There were wine stains down the drawers and on the floor.

The shower leaked all over the floor in the bathroom, and the bathroom door didn’t close properly.

There were complementary coffee pods, but only two and these were not replenished after the first night, bit annoying as we were staying for 3 nights

But the good bits were the room was nice, the bed comfortable, the hotel is close to everything in central Auckland and it has a swimming pool and a gym.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Viresh M, General Manager at Avani Auckland Metropolis Residences
Responded 8 Mar 2020
Dear micthemini Thank you for taking the time to review us following your recent stay with us. Please accept my sincere apology for the delay in having your room available for check in and also for the cleaning standards you experienced. This certainly does not reflect the usual high standards we strive for. However, I am pleased that you overall enjoyed your stay with us especially our beds and the pool & gym. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your time in NZ. Regards, Viresh Mathur General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jacob2396 wrote a review Mar 2021
Auckland Central, New Zealand21 contributions16 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Going through the hotel website I was made to believe the hotel was absolutely amazing. Unfortunately this was quite misleading. When you walk in, it is quite big, yes, but that's all it is.. big. It's big and empty. The hotel would be booming if there was a bar or a restaurant there, there's certainly the space for it!
The room was okay, beautiful view, and I definitely appreciated the harbour view. But the room itself? Old, outdated.. definitely needs some love.
One thing I found quite disappointing was that I actually booked (and paid more) for housekeeping, which is strange because I've never had to do this before. I kept my "clean my room" sign on my door all day, but no one came, so I do feel like I have been ripped off in this sense.
I checked out the night before I was meant to check out as the noise (yes, at 26 storys high) was quite ridiculous. I could hear screaming, laughing, singing, shouting etc etc. I would not have gotten any sleep.
The receptionist that served me twice was nice, but nothing about the service or the hotel itself was "welcoming". I wasn't even asked why I was checking out early, which made me personally think they don't really care, as long as they have my money.
I won't be back in a hurry. Quite disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Viresh Mathur, General Manager at Avani Auckland Metropolis Residences
Responded 29 Mar 2021
Dear Jacob Thank you for taking the time to review us following your recent stay. I am very disappointed to learn of your experience especially in relation to the the service of your room that was missed. I have investigated this with our team to ensure such an occurrence is not repeated. We were meant to open a restaurant/bar last year and had purchased the retail space for this in late 2019. However, due to the circumstances last year which well continue for us businesses this year, this project has been delayed. We strive to achieve excellent service standards but certainly we failed to deliver on your stay. We hope you give us another opportunity to redeem ourselves in the near future. Regards, Viresh Mathur General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KK_M_11 wrote a review May 2021
Sydney, Australia362 contributions189 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great base for my business trip. A kitchen and laundry, so you can be self contained if you wish and travel light.

Excellent part of the CBD with nearby parks, restruanats and bars

The room was very nice, with a sensational view over the city and harbour.

Reception is truely quite opulent, feels like a much higher price point hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Viresh Mathur, General Manager at Avani Auckland Metropolis Residences
Responded 29 May 2021
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review us following your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us especially the self contained room and the view from it. We look forward to hosting you again soon. Regards, Viresh Mathur General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aucklandtraveler87 wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Most shocking experience. Bath had pubic hair and sand, mirrors were dirty with multiple stains and the balcony has cigarette butts. Bed sheets were clean at least. After complaining to hotel management, they did not care at all saying "feedback would be provided to the cleaners"
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Date of stay: February 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Viresh M, General Manager at Avani Auckland Metropolis Residences
Responded 17 Feb 2020
Dear Aucklandtraveler87 Thank you for your review. I sincerely apologise that you had such an experience with us as this is certainly not reflective of the standards we consistently strive to achieve. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future after our communication earlier. Regards, Kind regards, Viresh Mathur General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Viresh M
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Yes, we can definitely store your luggage until the room is ready. We will try our best to have the room ready prior to 2pm but unfortunately cannot guarantee it. Regards, AVANI Auckland
Show all answers
FlaTraveler asked a question Jul 2021
Florida235 contributions149 helpful votes
Hello, is this hotel smoke free or do I need to request a smoke free room when I book?
Answer from Viresh M
Auckland Central, New Zealand
The Hotel is smokefree and as such smoking is not allowed in any hotel rooms. Thanks, Viresh Mathur General Manager
Show all answers
Indy L asked a question Mar 2021
Unley, Australia68 contributions11 helpful votes
Is this currently being used as a coronavirus quarantine hotel?
Answer from Viresh M
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Hi Indy No, we are not a managed isolation/quarantine facility and never have been. Thanks. Viresh Mathur General Manager
FarAway53552766833 asked a question Nov 2020
Auckland, New Zealand
Are you allowed to have guests whilst staying?
Answer from P K
Waiheke Island, New Zealand39 contributions10 helpful votes
Was booked for two but only I stayed there so I would think you could have up to two people in the room. There is not a lot of checking as you are issued a card for your room which is also necessary for the lift so that is the main controlling factor tho there is always someone available at the desk to help.
Show all answers
Answer from Michael A
Leland, North Carolina73 contributions64 helpful votes
You're really in the center of things to do in Auckland when you stay here. 10 minute walk to the Sky Tower, which has the Casino attached to it. I recommend going to the Scarecrow for breakfast, it's delightful and just tow blocks from the Avani. You have about a 20 minute walk at most to the Viaduct and waterfront for the Maritime Museum, ferry services and several dining choices. Along the way you are walking through the CBD which has all types of dining, shopping and markets to take advantage of. Get a room on the higher floors with a Harbour view as it is well worth it.
Show all answers
Casa62 wrote a tip Jan 2024
Brisbane, Australia479 contributions252 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go for a high level room with a view if the budget allows. "
Read full review
Kiwidundee wrote a tip Apr 2023
Thames, New Zealand100 contributions23 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is an Auckland Council parking building next door which is a fraction of the cost of the on site parking"
Read full review
Lin_away_today wrote a tip Apr 2023
Perth, Australia81 contributions42 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"No restaurant but there are some great cafes around and a Sunday market close by. "
Read full review
Linda C wrote a tip Mar 2023
7 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Also parking was $40 dollars per night at Hotel"
Read full review
LaDonna H wrote a tip Mar 2023
Christchurch, New Zealand11 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We had the entire pool to ourselves!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Auckland Central area.
PRICE RANGE
₹11,350 - ₹20,133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Metro Suites Serviced Apartments
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandAuckland Central
NUMBER OF ROOMS
111
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AVANI AUCKLAND METROPOLIS RESIDENCES (New Zealand) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Avani Auckland Metropolis Residences
Which popular attractions are close to Avani Auckland Metropolis Residences?
Nearby attractions include Escapade NZ (0.1 km), Weta Workshop Unleashed (0.4 km), and Great Escape (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Avani Auckland Metropolis Residences?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Avani Auckland Metropolis Residences?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Avani Auckland Metropolis Residences?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Avani Auckland Metropolis Residences?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Avani Auckland Metropolis Residences?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Grove, Culprit., and Cooke's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Avani Auckland Metropolis Residences?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Avani Auckland Metropolis Residences located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Auckland Central.
Are any cleaning services offered at Avani Auckland Metropolis Residences?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Avani Auckland Metropolis Residences?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, Hindi, and Korean.
Are there any historical sites close to Avani Auckland Metropolis Residences?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Parnell (1.5 km), Eden Garden (3.1 km), and Auckland Town Hall (0.6 km).