We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St

Agoda.comUS$ 95*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 103*
US$ 95*
Great Deal
US$ 99*
US$ 99*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

882 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 748: English reviews
Start your review of Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
 Click to rate
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Reception staff really helpful, good facilities, great coffee shop with excellent home cooked food in the foyer. The apartment was on 2 floors, living areas on first floor. Very quick lifts. Reception offered a porter service when we left.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank freddodog
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Close to the Skytower and Federal St for some great restaurants. Also Elliot Stables food court. The hotel itself was fine hovering around 3.5 stars in my opinion. The room had everything we needed for the one night stay. Staff were helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheSnakebite
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The hotel was very central, a few minutes to Sky City, and Queen Street. I thought it was very expensive for a very average room with no view and $30/night rental car parking. The toilet paper was virtually transparent it was so thin, and while that may seem inconsequential, it's such a simple way to make a place feel decent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelwgtn
Mumbai, India
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed only for 1 night before leaving for Bay of Islands. The hotel is located only 5 minutes walk from the Sky City bus terminal. The room is decently sized and has a small kitchenette. Unfortunately i had to leave early morning and could not have breakfast there. the staff was extremely polite and efficient. i would definitely stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank asvidh
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Bed and pillows are very much comfortable that gave us a good night sleep. However, the bathroom tissue is not of good quality, no toothbrush, toothpaste nor bedroom slippers provided. You can borrow an adapter from the reservations desk without a fee. Breakfast was a mix of asian and western food, limited choices but not bad. Beside the hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chillimama23
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

From the outside i thought we had made a mistake but we stayed for one night and the room was clean, bed comfortable and the hotel staff helpful.It wasn't a big walk to Queen Street so handy to CBD. We asked for a later departure time and it was no problem. For the price paid we would stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Westhamman_11
New Plymouth
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel has the three most important features .. the bed was very comfortable .. were we massaged by the power shower and our room was quiet and relaxing. The reception staff are excellent, professional and made sure we were comfortable, some of the best we've encountered anywhere in the world. The Coffee shop Fond (ou) had good coffee and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
Dundee
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We took airport shuttle bus, then walked up hill to corner of Hobson Street and to the Hotel. Receptionist very pleasant and only a short wait and our room was ready. (Thanks for the upgrade). The suite had sleeping area with kitchen area and small area to dine We just used the local shops for supplies. Good location for city...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K.D.Ttree
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very disappointed. The room was so small I couldn't walk around the bed. The noise of Hobson street directly under my room, plus the street lights shining in the room through the venetians meant no sleep at all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 698gregk
ACHHOBSONST, Director of Sales at Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St, responded to this review

Dear 698gegk Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced in respect to your recent stayed. At Auckland City Hotel, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. Upon thorough review of the situation, we narrowed the cause to room. As a testament to our strive for perfection,...

Auburn, Washington
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here on two separate occasions over a weeks time. We had a small kitchenette each time which was nice because we could use the microwave in the evening if we got take out food. On our first stay we had a room that was close to the street and the noise level caused interrupted sleep. When we returned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lesliew771

345 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (235)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (95)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (86)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Exceutive Room (35)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 km away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.1 km away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#32 of 67 in Auckland
1,120 reviews
0.3 km away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#49 of 67 in Auckland
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,221 reviews
0.4 km away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
934 reviews
0.6 km away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
1912, The year of the Titanic, was when the lobby and entrance of the Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St was originally erected. The hotel has retained the character and charm of its past enhanced with a new building housing 138 rooms with contemporary decor and modern conveniences. The Auckland City Hotel is ideally located at 157 Hobson Street - in the heart of Auckland's entertainment and business district with easy access to motorways. Only five minute's walk to the Sky Tower, Aotea Square, Civic Theatre and Queen Street, the Auckland City Hotel offers convenient, environmentally friendly accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a meal at hotel Cafe & Restaurant, renew with a read of the Word for Today in our rooms or relax with a workout at our offsite gym and swimming pool, the Auckland City Hotel is called to serve more than just your accommodation needs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St

Address: 157 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: ₹ 5,919 - ₹ 10,973 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#22 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a 2 bedroom apartment which had excellent amenities, you didn't need anything extra.”
freddodog, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“Had higher floor and very quiet, on side, to rear of hotel..”
K.D.Ttree, 12 May 2017 | Read review
“North Side would have a better view although you would need to bee on level 6 upwards”
Gordy40, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Upper floors are good”
653AnnFrank, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had room 501 which was relatively quiet.”
Gir66, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$ 95* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 99
Booking.comUS$ 99
CancelonUS$ 103
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates