We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Alderney on Hay

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Alderney on Hay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

263 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 262: English reviews
Start your review of Alderney on Hay
 Click to rate
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Located on Hay street with the free red CAT 50m away, 100m away from the free buses on St Georges Terrace, 200m from the WACA, walking distance to the river and the CBD. Room was clean and tidy, had a heated pool/spa combo, a small gym, undercover parking, swipe access to the building and room, cafe on ground floor and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elyse C
Management response:

Dear Elyse C, Thank you very much for staying with us at the Starwest Apartments Alderney on Hay. I am most delighted to hear the you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again! Regards, Richard

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Wife stayed overnight as child attended school ball at neighbouring hotel. Easy to find and access hotel, free parking a plus. Room was cheap. Staff very friendly. Bed very comfy. Room was spacious and we'll equiped. The cheap price attracts a cheaper clientele that at times made her feel a little unsafe. Staff moved loitering locals from the foyer quickly....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
Management response:

Dear Terry B, Thank you for staying at the Starwest Apartments Alderney on Hay. I am glad you enjoyed our facilities and we hope to see you again. I am very sorry for these disruptive loiterers, please be aware that this is a very rare occurrence and that we always try to maintain guest comfort. If you could please contact...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We choose a two bedroom, self contained unit. Always clean with great assistance from Reception and consistently good services. Free bus service to the Hay St Mall, close to train services and restaurant and bars. We have never been disappointed. Indoor pool and gym on the mezzanine floor with machine facilities for snacks such as chips and chocolates/bars. A little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mel K
Management response:

Dear Mel K, Thank you for staying with us again! As always it was an absolute pleasure to accommodate you and we hope you continue to stay with us. Kind Regards, Richard

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had an overnight stay here for Valentines day . Its central location makes it easy to get to nightlife and surrounding resturants. The apartment was spacious with all utensils. A balcony not much of a view but nice. There is a indoor pool area. Bed was a smaller double but comfortable. Smaller flat screen tv in lounge but good picture...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Todd B
Management response:

Dear Todd B, Thank you for staying at the Starwest Apartments Alderney on Hay. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I hope that in future you continue using us as your preferred accommodation provider in Perth. Regards, Beau

Reviewed 7 February 2017

3 of us shared a 2 bedroom apartment which was ideal for us wanting to be close to the heart of town. Although an older complex we found it to be clean and comfortable and very spacious. Al the comforts of home without the large price. With free bus travel right near your door, we would definitely recommend and stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerri E
Management response:

Dear Kerri E, Thank you for staying at the Starwest Apartments Alderney on Hay. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would love to see you next time you visit Perth. Regards, Richard

WA
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Excellent spot close to shops and main part of the city. Everything you need in an accommodation.. my only gripe was " a family not following rules set out in regards to the pool"... But above all it was a fantastic stay. :-)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TamBob O
Management response:

Dear TamBob O, Thank you for staying with the Starwest Apartments Alderney on Hay. It was an absolute pleasure to accommodate you and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I am very sorry about this groups behavior in the pool area. We try our best to ensure all guests have a very enjoyable stay and I am very sorry...

Reviewed 23 January 2017

We stayed nine days in these apartments, and the rooms are quite nice. But things start to fall apart when every remote has flat batteries. The washing machine is cheap and doesn't work, the vacuum cleaner is physically broken, and the hair dryer is a death trap. I could go on and on. They have their hand out in all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vic H
Management response:

Dear Vic H, Thank you for staying with the Starwest Apartments Alderney on Hay. Thank you very much for your review. I am very confused as to your many parts of your review. We only make transactions in Australian Currency. We try to keep our costs as low as possible so that our guests can enjoy affordable, good quality accommodation....

Reviewed 12 January 2017

Myself, my partner and 2 friends stayed there on new years eve in a 2 bed apartment. Although the rooms are decent enough the service is absolutely terrible... also the fact they blatantly stole from us. Upon check out we were told there was a noise complaint from our room at 4pm. I told the reception clerk we weren't even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaegs90
Management response:

Dear Guest, As per the Conditions of Entry policy all guests sign on check in it does state that call-outs and staff attendance due to unruly guests will be charged $150 for each call out visit as well as the costs related to the inconvenienced guests, any extra staff wages for those attending the incident and any other incident-related charges....

Bunbury, Australia
Reviewed 27 December 2016

This is I think our third stay in same hotel over the last 3/4 years. We usually find it is value for money however this time round there were a few issues. There was a mouldy smell and built up mould on bathroom cupboards, toilet was jamming when flushed and we did report this to reception- it was functional but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
Management response:

Dear Michael M, Thank you for staying with the Starwest Apartments Alderney on Hay. We value your patronage highly and will endeavor to rectify these issues for any future guests. We are currently in the process of updating many of our apartments beds. Next time you are planning on staying with us please contact me and I will ensure your...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed in 2 bedroom apartment, quite comfortable. For Muslim, the toilet may not be favorable because the toilet was separated from the shower. There was no water tap in the toilet. The washing machine was not working. Reported to the counter staff, couldn't be fixed because it was already after their working hours. It was okay for us but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Achik72
Management response:

Dear Achik72, Thank you for staying with the Starwest Apartments Alderney on Hay. I apologise for any issues encountered during your stay. We try our best to ensure all customers leave as happy as possible. Parking at the property can be done on either the Mezzanine floor or the Ground Floor. The ground floor has no stairs into the property...

149 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (86)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (85)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Mont Clare Boutique Apartments
Mantra on Hay
#27 of 81 in Perth
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
City Waters
City Waters
#63 of 81 in Perth
146 reviews
West Perth
City Stay Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Starwest Apartments Alderney On Hay is leading the way in offering affordable, fully self-contained quality apartments that are close to the city centre.Our 3.5 Star property is conveniently located in East Perth approximately 1km from the Perth City Centre. Starwest Apartments Alderney on Hay is located just minutes from the Perth CBD, shopping, entertainment, restaurants, the WACA cricket ground, Burswood Casino, Gloucester Park, Ascot and Belmont horse racing tracks and the Swan River. Featuring spacious non-smoking self-contained two bedroom apartments with dining/living area, separate laundry and bathroom, direct phone line and a private balcony - it's the perfect accommodation whether you're on holiday or travelling for business. Standard Apartments:Spacious 2 bedroom apartment, fully equipped kitchen, television, DVD player, lounge, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer. Deluxe Apartments:Each Deluxe Apartment has a fully equipped granite-top kitchen, television, DVD player, lounge, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer.Platinum Apartments:Our Platinum Apartments consists of two bedrooms and one bathroom; it has a fully equipped granite-top kitchen, dishwasher, lounge, television, DVD player, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer. The modern platinum apartments also include a daily housekeeping service.The property also offers:• E-Sense Cafe open Monday-Friday 7.30am-3pm.• DVD hire available at $7 per movie.• Cot Hire at $10 per night.• Local and International calls are chargeable. • Vending machines with snacks. • Dry cleaning / laundry service.• Indoor pool – heated.• Spa and gym facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alderney on Hay

Address: 193 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > East Perth
Price Range: ₹ 4,517 - ₹ 8,904 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alderney on Hay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Alderney on Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alderney On Hay Hotel Perth
Alderney Hay
Alderney On Hay East Perth
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Perth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Alderney on Hay staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Singapore, Singapore
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Alderney on Hay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“2 bedroom apartments have everything a family needs.”
 of 5 bubbles tambobo, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stay away away from the lifts they are noisey”
 of 5 bubbles 396vich, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Take towels for the pool; request Northern side of the hotel as it is quieter.”
  • View from our 4th floor balcony.
 of 5 bubbles 152rhondas, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Away from lift if you can”
 of 5 bubbles Saltwater-living, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you must stay here geta room as far away from the lifts as possible”
 of 5 bubbles 80warrent, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5