We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Banjo's Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Banjo\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

82 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 69: English reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2016 via mobile

I stayed there almost 4 months. Best hostel in Perth area, easily. Friendly helpful staff. Big hostel with playgrounds; basketball, ping pong, pool, table games to borrow... Projector for watching movies, and they have plenty of movies if you don't have your own. Big kitchen... They have a lot of different size/prize rooms to choose from! And yeah, very good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauri A
Rainbow Beach, Australia
Reviewed 1 April 2016 via mobile

If you are in perth definetly stay here. You can take free busses to the city or you can walked in 20 minutes. Nice, big and clean room ( i stayed in an 18 beddorm). Nice and clean kitchen and bathroom. Wifi is good in the common area's and you can also used the free computers for free. The People...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alice M
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewed 12 February 2016

I stayed in 18 bed dorm for one night here. The room is wide and clean. When I got up in the morning, I went to kitchen, found the kitchen was so clean and tidy and that made me surprising. The housekeeping staff did a great job!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Peihsuankao
Thunder Bay, Canada
Reviewed 22 December 2015

I'm not sure if I can write anything bad about this place. The area is huge. It has a basketball court. It has a huge kitchen. The dorms, while they have a lot of beds in them, the rooms are huge, so there is space. Some of the rooms are broken up into multiple rooms, so they're even better. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JLiimu
Reviewed 10 December 2015 via mobile

The showers are disgusting, 1 (out of 2 in the dormitories) only works on (way too) hot. The rooms are musky and forget about wi-fi, its so unstable that its practically unuseable. The only good thing about this place is the super friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ron A
TheViewOnHannans, Manager at Banjo's Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Ron, I'm glad you got to experience our friendly staff. We are lucky to have a great team working at Banjos! Sometimes the speed does suffer when everyone is using the FREE WiFi at once but this is only during the busiest times. You can always try the FREE computers (we have 3 for guests) as they don't use...

Reviewed 27 November 2015 via mobile

We found this place because we were on a budget and couldn't find anything cheaper than 200 dollars a week. Not only is it the cheapest hostel, but also the best we've ever stayed in! The rooms are very spacious, the beds are comfortable, and most rooms are en suite. There's a huge common area as well as a good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anneline K
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 12 September 2015

I stayed in a couple of other hostels in Perth before, but Banjo's was the best one by far. Is clean, has very big common areas and is very easy to meet people (very important when you're travelling solo!). Special thanks to James and Rod!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AlexAwfasdad
TheViewOnHannans, Manager at Banjo's Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Alex, Thanks for your great review. I'm glad you found the hostel clean and spacious. It really is a great place to meet people with our large communal areas and games room. I have passed on your feedback to Rod and James. Enjoy your travels and we hope to see you back soon. Thanks again, William

Reviewed 8 July 2015

I stayed in this hostel for 7 weeks and really enjoyed it. It has very clean facilities, a large kitchen area and so much space in generally. They got 2 ping pong tables, free pool, a basketball court and a huge screen to watch movies. The wifi is free, but not working well. They got three computers with internet free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sjsjdndj
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 23 May 2015

We started our Australian adventure in Perth, and couldn't have picked a better place as our base to get up and running. The staff are super friendly and happy to help with anything (and still do despite the fact I checked out over a month ago they're still notifying/helping us with any post that arrives for us, (thanks Kerry!)) The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jolf a
Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 9 April 2015

I stayed at this hostel for about 5 months on/off. It really was like my home far away from home! Dorm rooms are spacious and you can get a good night sleep even tho they're big. The matresses are very comfortable! It is clean and the kitchen is spacious enough. We even cooked christmas dinner for 30 peple in it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank julesg g
TheViewOnHannans, Manager at Banjo's Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Julesg, Thanks for your review. I'm glad you appreciate the great work our team do to make Banjo's a great place to stay and meet new friends! It's nice to hear you were able to cook Christmas dinner in our great kitchen. Complimentary coffee & tea are still provided every morning in the hostel as well as toast and...

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Pensione Hotel Perth
#10 of 79 in Perth
1,060 reviews
Perth CBD
Kangaroo Inn
Kangaroo Inn
#4 of 58 in Perth
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Billabong Backpackers Resort
Perth CBD
Perth City YHA
Perth City YHA
#13 of 58 in Perth
237 reviews
Perth CBD
Bambu Backpackers
Bambu Backpackers
#16 of 58 in Perth
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Spacious hostel accommodation conveniently located near East Perth train station. Banjo's backpackers is Perth's newest hostel accommodation with a range of spacious dorm rooms. All rooms have new beds, mattresses and pillows. We offer a large communal kitchen for all guests with free breakfast daily. FREE wifi is also available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Banjo's Backpackers

Address: 150 Claisebrook Rd, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > East Perth
Price Range: ₹ 1,285 - ₹ 1,799 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Banjo's Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Banjo's Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The 20 bed dorms are more comfortable than they sound (are very big)”
 of 5 bubbles AlexAwfasdad, 12 Sep 2015 | Read review
“We stayed in 2 different 6 bed dorms over 3 weeks.”
 of 5 bubbles j0lfa, 22 May 2015 | Read review
“Room 10 and 9 are very noisy, 19 is extremely hot and they dont want to put on the a/c even if you're begging them. 21 is big but the A/C is ok.”
 of 5 bubbles empaemp, 7 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Room nine is furtherest away from the courtyard, which can get noisy on weekends. It also has a bathroom, which some of the larger rooms don't. Room 20 is the cheapest, but gets a lot of noise from the lounge and doesn't have an en suite. Basically, it depends how much you want to pay.”
 of 5 bubbles DynamiteWright, 15 Dec 2014 | Read review
“Get the lower bed and look for electricity!”
 of 5 bubbles nielsv679, 19 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay