We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Melbourne

14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Management photos
The Melbourne
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Showing 104: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 15 September 2014

I stayed there just one night but I'd go again if I get the chance. Wonderful atmosphere and extremely helpful receptionist when we arrived a few hours early, she let us store our luggage in a secure area so we didn't have to carry it around town. The room was fresh and well prepared, and the shower had everything I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank PLNSW
Texas
Reviewed 10 September 2014

We stayed at the Melbourne for almost a week, and chose it because of the location. The location worked out great for us, and the hotel has its charm as a historic landmark. We stayed in a suite on the third floor, over the restaurant - bar. The food and service in the bar were excellent. We don't usually eat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wordDr
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The hotel is clean and tidy, it has a good size room and bathroom The bed is firm and easy to move around, there is an iron and ironing board (a steam iron would be an added benefit) Good location at the top of Hay St (not far from Kings Park), very friendly staff with a 24 hour reception. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg A
Brandon L, Front Office Manager at The Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to welcome you back.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I stayed overnight in Perth and the Melbourne was a well priced option right in the heart of the city. The room I stayed in on the second floor was spacious and the bed and pillows comfortable. The bathroom was well maintained and clean and, while a little dated, for the price I was very happy. The sleep I had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gavan F
Brandon L, Front Office Manager at The Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and would love to see you again.

Margaret River, Australia
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We booked the Melbourne as I have used the venue many times for corporate meetings and lunches, dinners. Great food, hotel service is decent and most staff are friendly & smiley. We parked at QV1 and found the hotel's validation system easy to use - brings parking down to $15 a day which is cheap for Perth. the hotel itself...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank poopsy
Brandon L, Front Office Manager at The Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay, and for all your comments. I am happy that your stay with us with primarily positive.We do understand your disappointment regarding the older rooms. We are excited about upcoming renovations here at the Melbourne, so if you do return I am sure you will be pleased with...

Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The pluses: (1) good location, walking distance to the center and yet quiet, (2) clean, (3) spacious room, (4) free Wifi. The minuses: (1) the mattress was too soft to be comfortable, (2) the window opened on the kitchen chimney, so when opened it brought a smell of french fries in the room.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adeaemma
Brandon L, Front Office Manager at The Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Adeaemma, Thank you so much for taking some time to provide us with this review. We are glad that you found you found your accommodation to your liking. In regards to the bedding, please do kindly contact us so that we can take a look into the matter to help bring a better experience for all. We hope to...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Melbourne Hotel was a great find. We had a spacious room with french doors opening onto an iconic wide balcony, which would have been perfect on a summer evening for a pre - dinner drink, but not in the middle of winter. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. There is an arrangement with a near-by Wilson car park that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Phoebetwinkle
MelbourneHotel, Front Office Manager at The Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your stay at The Melbourne. We are glad to see that you had an enjoyable stay. We also thank you for your compliments on the staff and we will make sure to pass on the feedback to them. We do hope we get the chance to welcome you back...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed here at the top end of Perth to be close to Rigbys Bar. (Good option for walking to Convention Centre or Perth Arena too) Plenty of old world heritage charm like the exterior balcony, the older style lift and foyer staircase entry area. We chose a cheaper room (102) which had no window but it wasn't an issue...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark P
MelbourneHotel, Front Office Manager at The Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your stay at The Melbourne. We do agree that the hotel is conveniently located and only a stone’s throw away from the Perth Arena. We have looked into issue of the noise disturbance and are in progress to rectify the matter. We do hope we get the chance to...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Better than you might expect but don't get your hopes up. Location is fine but the old pub hotel style, worn and tired appearance are what you get for the price in Perth. Wifi worked well though so that's a bonus and it was quiet enough. No minibar but generous free coffee making facilities.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
MelbourneHotel, Front Office Manager at The Melbourne, responded to this review

We thank you for your review. The hotel is currently looking into possible renovations in the near future which will upgrade the appearances and facilities while maintaining the heritage style. We look forward to welcoming you back. Yours sincerely, Brandon Lee Front Office Manager

Australia
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at The Melbourne Hotel. After reading other reviews, we paid a little extra for a superior balcony room and weren't disappointed. We had read some previous reviews about rooms without windows etc so we took advice offered and paid a little extra.....and we felt it was still a good price. The room was very clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NonniAustralia
MelbourneHotel, Front Office Manager at The Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay at The Melbourne Hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed the facilities of your superior balcony room and took full advantage of the great city views. The team here strive to be helpful and courteous at all times and I am delighted to see that you noticed the...

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Quest West End
Quest West End
#52 of 81 in Perth
44 reviews
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Perth CBD
Best Western Premier Terrace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Comfort Inn Wentworth Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
The Melbourne Restaurant & Bar
The Melbourne Restaurant & Bar
Cuisines: Bar, Australian
M Cafe
M Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The Melbourne

Address: 942 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Price Range: ₹ 11,537 - ₹ 13,459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Melbourne Hotel Perth
Melbourne Hotel Perth
Melbourne Boutique Hotel Perth
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Melbourne staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
St Kilda, Australia

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Melbourne staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“internal if you do not like traffic noise”
jguarnich, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I had the choice of Window or not? A window helps you choose what to wear & what the weathers doing as well you can check out what is happening outside. I took photos but unable to upload. can anyone help?”
CarolHG2013, 25 Apr 2015 | Read review
“There may be some better rooms in the hotel. We didn't ask because we were exhausted after our journey and didn't want the hassle of moving all of our stuff. I would definitely avoid the loft rooms.”
Aoife74, 16 Dec 2014 | Read review
“Dont stay here”
susanbD722SB, 11 Dec 2014 | Read review
“They have internal rooms with no windows - if that bothers you (and it would me) make sure you ask for a room with a window!”
MissWendy29, 9 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Orbitz.com
Hotwire.com
Travelocity
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates