We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Oaks on Lonsdale

Show Prices
#61 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Oaks on Lonsdale
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

800 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Oaks on Lonsdale
See the most recent reviews
Showing 788: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 August 2014

first time there like 3 years old and it was much newer, went there again recently and not as good as expected, still reasonable good for the price, it's ok for a business trip but not for vacation. location is good while close to china town, lots of restaurant to pick for dinner.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Herbert L
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback - like most places, buildings do start to age however, we do keep the property as modern as we can and keep the building up to scratch. It is pleasing to hear you enjoyed the location of the property, Chinatown, main shopping precinct, Fitzroy & Lygon Street to name a few, are very...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I booked a room here for my partners birthday as a surprise. I had booked a 1 bdrm apartment and we got upgraded to a room on the top floor (Rm 2903). The views of Melbourne city were amazing. The room was a great size for the two of us. I would stay here again. Pros - Views from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IGetAround78
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed with your stay - happy to hear that you received a complimentary upgrade to one of our 1 bed sky high apartments. As you experienced, these are our best rooms in the property. Your feedback has been passed to our respective departments. As you experienced,...

Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Recently spent 3 nights in a Studio Unit, while attending a weekend conference nearby. Our room was on a high floor with views across the city. Location is definitely the hotels strong point. It's 100 Mtrs to the Parliament train/ tram stop, which can get you anywhere cheaply with a Myki pass. Rooms are fairly basic and if your looking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rsjnt4218
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I am happy that you found the apartments, location and service to your liking and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Oaks on Lonsdale in the near future. For your future stay, please ensure to make arrangements for one of the 1bedroom apartments - it's double the floor space,...

Nauru
Reviewed 16 July 2014

A Pacific Islander travelling to Melbourne at the time that I did was not a good idea. But staying at the Oaks was such a great experience. Very conveniently located. Close to eateries and shopping. The room had a separate living room and kitchenette which was very convenient. Convenience store also 1 minute walk for those late night cravings.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Unaisi N
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. It is pleasing to read you had an enjoyable experience with us at Oaks on Lonsdale and as you found out, everything was within walking distance from the property. It sounds as you booked one of our 1 bedroom apartments which are very spacious and all apartments have balconies except for our Studio...

Bunbury, Australia
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights.....5am arrival. Check in wasn't until 2pm but staff were accommodating and we were in our room by 11am. 2 bedroom apartments are spacious and comfortable.-Lucky enough to get a great deal for this apartment. Pays to look around for specials. The hotel is just on the edge of the CBD.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kaatyn
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. It is pleasing to hear that staff were able to accommodate you earlier than normal check in time and glad to hear you enjoyed the apartment booked and you received a great deal. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back when you're next in Melbourne...

Sydney Australia
Reviewed 8 July 2014

As I was staying in Melbourne for a week for work, I really appreciated the space of having a living room and kitchen, as well as a bedroom! Laundry facilities in the room would also be useful long longer stays. The 1 bedroom apartment I had was recently refurbished - other rooms are not. Staff were helpful, even if a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emerys2008
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay. As you've experienced, our 1 bedroom apartments are spacious rooms with modern decor - I urge you to try one of our other apartments the next time you stay with us as there are different views from the rooms and different layouts (1 bedroom...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I have found that the Oaks brand provides very good quality service apartments. Simple, clean and very comfortable stay during XMAS/New Year period. 1 bedroom apartment with all the necessaries. Kitchen, lounge, dinning. Stayed at the Lonsdale St premises which was slightly outside the main city hub of Bourke st etc. However still a comfortable 10 mins walk or tram...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcus B
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. It is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and great to know that you have stayed at a number of Oaks properties. Glad to hear you enjoyed our 1bedroom apartments and as you've experienced, Oaks on Lonsdale is within walking distance to the main shopping area, restaurants and theatres....

Temora
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We recently stayed at the Oaks on Lonsdale!!! We travelled 6 hrs for a 3 night stay in what we thought was going to be a beautiful, spacious 3 bedroom apartment! Turns out we payed over $1500 for a 2 bedroom apartment with adjoining room and we could barely swing a cat in the whole apartment. The kitchen was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Baylacliv
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. It is disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us - we supply a certain amount of equipment in the kitchen for guest use however, extra amenities etc can be requested and replenished where required and Reception needs to be contacted for extra supplies. Our apartments have full kitchen...

Australia
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a studio for one night. Reception were lovely, despite arriving early they allowed a check in, which was quick and efficient. The studio was small comfortable and very clean. As I was staying for business, I could have used a desk and chair but the room had a small microwave instead. Centrally located with breakfast in easy access....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shuz712
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. It is pleasing to read you enjoyed your stay. The studio apartments are our standard rooms which as you experienced, is comfortable and doesn't allow much space however, for your future stay, please book a 1 bedroom apartment. These apartments are lovely and provide double the amount of space and there is generally...

Reviewed 15 June 2014

Somewhat reticent given some poor reviews but very pleasantly surprised.Despite arriving early staff did best to get me room early .good one bedroom apartment excellent views and very good facilities.very comfortable and excellent location for city .all in all a very god experience and would stay again.nice cafe next door with good food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Agmsoton
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. It is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you were able to check in earlier than check in time. Glad you enjoyed the 1 bedroom apartment and you found it comfortable and location was great. As you experienced, you have a handful of amenities and restaurants close by and within...

323 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (292)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (81)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
View from Room (38)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Other (111)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#32 of 157 in Melbourne
1,263 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#41 of 157 in Melbourne
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
City Limits Serviced Apartments
Chinatown
Quest on Lonsdale
Quest on Lonsdale
#126 of 157 in Melbourne
214 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#31 of 157 in Melbourne
2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Chinatown

Neighbourhood Profile
Chinatown
Locals know that Chinatown is the tried and true place to eat before hitting the nightclub scene. The place simply buzzes, and the well-preserved buildings exude a sense of Imperial China stemming from immigration over a century ago. In restaurant after restaurant on Little Bourke Street, you'll find delicious dishes such as sizzling honeyed prawns, and value for your money. Stately matrons oversee family kitchens serving up age-old recipes. The lighting may be unromantic, the patrons loud, and the service no-nonsense, but the food is sensational.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oaks on Lonsdale is located in one of Melbourne’s most sought after locations and offers ultra modern hotel rooms and apartments. Oaks on Lonsdale provides comfortable, contemporary studios and spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments all complete with fully equipped kitchens fitted with stainless steel appliances and reverse cycle air-conditioning. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oaks on Lonsdale

Address: 23 -33 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Price Range: ₹ 7,288 - ₹ 19,139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks on Lonsdale 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Oaks on Lonsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Lonsdale Melbourne
Oaks On Lonsdale Hotel Melbourne
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oaks on Lonsdale staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Oaks on Lonsdale staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try and get a room facing west onto Lonsdale Street as these have a nice view of the surrounds of Melbourne.”
 of 5 bubbles U2942FMmarkd, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Over the 3 nights I was in a 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom apartment and a Studio room and all were great but the Apartments are very spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles R5120MGdavidt, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a balcony, this provide you with a little more living space”
 of 5 bubbles 140jasona, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The rooms were huge, great for families or groups. Very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Happyhawkers, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't waste your money - find something else.”
  • Grose!
  • Excess water from one single event needed moping up with towell.
 of 5 bubbles Solo-Quilter, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay