We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Arrow On Swanston

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Arrow On Swanston
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

239 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 228: English reviews
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We booked there to be close to the conference I was attending but had to leave on the third day because we got NO sleep. The bed was too hard, all rooms faced a multi storey car park and the fridge smelt as if something had died in it! They refused to refund the rest of the days and gave... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ausperspective
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed in a studio apartment here from 20/11/16 to 23/11/16. Very small room but it has everything you need, including a kitchenette. Loved being able to make tea and coffee in the room. Was clean and housekeeping came and made up the bed and changed the towels each day. Amazing location on Swanston Street - tram stop right outside the... More 

Helpful?
Thank lucinda1206
Arrow M, Marketing Executive at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear Lucinda, Thank you for your great review. It is much appreciated to hear that our service has reached your expectation. However, as a economical hotel, our room size is not that spacious but provided everything you need as mentioned in your review. We hope to have a chance to accommodate you again in the future and hope you have... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Conveniently located close to Melbourne Central. With easy access to tourist attractions such as the Queen Victoria Market, Chinatown, Melbourne Museum, etc. Hotel staffs are friendly and helpful. Not to mention the nice little cafeteria next to the lobby. Food is delicious and reasonably priced. The owner was a Malaysian Chinese migrated to Australia. He is chatty and provided us... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gim Leng N
Arrow M, Marketing Executive at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear Gim Leng N, Thank you for your time providing us this lovely feedback and extended to the café. We would love to have you staying with us again any time in the future for your next Melbourne trip. Regards, Than More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Spent three nights here on a business trip. The hotel is in a good location and the reception staff were friendly and helpful. Unfortunately the rooms are very dated and really small, beds are not comfy and the bathroom had mould in the shower. It is noisy all night long whether it be street noise or the slamming of doors... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Glen M
Arrow M, Marketing Executive at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear Glen, Thank you for your valuable feedback. It is our appreciated to hear that our staffs were looking after you well and the location is great. However, it is disappointing the our property did not meet your expectation and the noise from the outside. The issues will be brought up to the management for the improvement and we are... More 

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good place, just 2 stops away from free tram zone. Abt 10 - 15mins walk to Melbourne central. Has a korean foodie & convenience store just below. Can walk to lygon street which is behind the hotel. Pillow & bed comfortable. However no heater & the hot water was more like a drip from the shower. When it is cold... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Indra27
Arrow M, Marketing Executive at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear Indra27, Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry to hear that our service did not meet your expectation. We did not have any complains about the how shower lately of the temperature issue, however, the maintenance will be informed to prevent this problem to happen again. Please accept our apology once again and we would like to... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great hotel, rooms a little small but very clean and more than adequate! Tram stop out the front or free tram zone about 500 meters away! Easy to get to all the attractions in Melb, Lygon street a quick walk away, Vic markets close as well! Would stay again very good

Helpful?
1 Thank MarcyPete
Arrow M, Marketing Executive at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear MarcyPete, Thank you very much for your feedback. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed staying with us. For a spacious room, we recommend you to try staying in our two bedroom apartment for your next stay. Additionally, we also would like to recommend our sister hotel, Harbourview Apartment Hotel, 585 La Trobe Street. The property provides... More 

Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stay in the hotel for 4 nights. Requested for high floor as reviewed by others for a quiet sleep environment and we slept well. The hotel is located walking distance to Melbourne station and Free City Tram stop. There are a lot of food choices at CBD area till late.

Helpful?
1 Thank celestfriendz
Arrow M, Marketing Executive at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear Celestfriendz, Thank you very much for your great review. It was our pleasure to accommodate you and happy to hear that you had good sleeps during your stay. It is our hope to have a opportunity to accommodate you again in the near future. Hope you have a great weekend. Regards, Than More 

Salisbury, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2016

This accomm. is in quite a good location close to the city. I paid for cooking facilities in my room and they were clean and adequate. Bed was quite comfy but the position of my room was dreadful. It was at the corner of Swanston St and a laneway which meant I heard traffic noise, people noise AND about 10... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank clare a
Arrow M, Marketing Executive at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear Clare, Thank you for your time writing the value feedback and this will be brought up to the management for improving the standard of service. As we could not change the garbage truck arranged by the city council, guest would be recommended to inform us and we could have a chance to allocate the room for your convenience. Hope... More 

Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2016

This hotel serves a purpose for an over night stay, but no longer. The room is very small, i new it would be but i didn't relies how small it could have been. It is very noisy at time, the garbage truck comes very early in the morning waking you up, one morning it come at 330 am. The room... More 

Helpful?
Thank ahu08089
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Booked three nights, found the reception staff very helpful. The room had a stove microwave toaster. The bed was very comfortable. I also booked the breakfast which was outstanding. The room was spotless, also the cleaning staff were very friendly. Their is a tram stop at the front of the building. But you can walk to the Burke Street Mall... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank thumper123456
Arrow M, Marketing Executive at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear Thumper123456, We would like to thank you for your value feedback. It is much appreciate to hear that you had a lovely time while staying with us. For your next trip, we would recommend you to contact us directly to check if any special deals available before making a reservation. We would love to accommodate you again in the... More 

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#111 of 157 in Melbourne
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Adara East Melbourne
#107 of 157 in Melbourne
83 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#140 of 157 in Melbourne
1,255 reviews
Central Business District
BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel
BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel
#93 of 157 in Melbourne
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on Swanston Street, Arrow on Swanston offers comfortable, convenient and value for money serviced apartments ranging from studio, one and two-bedroom apartments to fit the single traveller, couple or the family. Our self-contained 3.5 star self-rated serviced apartments are fully furnished with modern amenities to suit your needs. Arrow on Swanston is perfectly situated in the heart of Melbourne, surrounded by entertainment, tourist attractions and sporting venues. Having tram stops just outside our doorstep allows easy access to anywhere in Melbourne. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Arrow On Swanston

Address: 488 Swanston Street | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Price Range: ₹ 4,798 - ₹ 10,213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arrow On Swanston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Arrow On Swanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrow On Swanston Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Arrow On Swanston staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“High floor”
 of 5 bubbles celestfriendz, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the noise of bins being cleared at about 5a.m., , traffic noise etc.”
 of 5 bubbles 295clarea, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Walk to the city in 10 minutes, or walk 300 meters to the free tram zone stop”
 of 5 bubbles thumper123456, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors are best to avoid noise and facing Swanston st is ok”
 of 5 bubbles dazzab26, 26 Apr 2016 | Read review
“We heard the sirens from the road side of the hotel. We were on the 6th floor.”
 of 5 bubbles lindam957, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay