We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Arrow On Swanston

Booking.comUS$ 82*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 218*
US$ 82*
Great Deal
US$ 94*
US$ 94*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Arrow On Swanston
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

271 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 259: English reviews
Start your review of Arrow On Swanston
 Click to rate
Bronte
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We travel a lot, and this is by far the worst place we have ever stayed. We should have been VIPs as we booked multiple rooms. 4 'one bedroom apartments', or so they call them. We were allocated the worst 4 rooms in the house, each on a different floor. Bed in a dark alcove, a sort of cupboard, with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SandyBronte
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location with a tram stop right outside of the apartments with only a five minute walk to the Queen Victoria Markets and a short walk to Lygon street. With the tram stop out the front it's easy to take any tram into the city or if you prefer the walk its only a short fifteen minute walk to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 232ciarao
Arrow M, Marketing E at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear 232ciarao, Thank you for your lovely review and we are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our location and the neighbourhood, Lygon Street and the market. Hope you have a very good weekend and look forward to see you once again in the soon future at Arrow on Swanston. Thank you, Arrow on Swanston

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrow on Swanston is conveniently next to a tram stop and minutes walk from the free tram zone. Melbourne Central is roughly 20 minutes walk from the hotel and the markets are nearby. The staff were very helpful not only with room requests but also with how to best get to the airport. They also held our bags before checking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yippie28
Arrow M, Marketing E at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear Yippie28, Thank you for your value feedback. We are happy to hear that you had a good time staying at Arrow on Swanston. We wish to have a chance to accommodate you once again in the soon future. Regards, Arrow on Swanston

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here in March over the Grand prix week end so most of the accommodation was expensive but this was coming up quit cheap for a city centre, the hotel is on the city tram network with a stop just out side which takes you right into the centre within 5 mins or you can walk which only took...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank neilbudgen
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

This place is ridiculously expensive especially for what it offers. It's dirty, smelly, small, loud, unmaintained, heck the list won't stop. There are much better alternatives dont ever stay here. One of the staff is extremely rude as well, I had a problem with her it truly is a nightmare

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PlaceCritic909
Arrow M, Marketing E at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear PlaceCritic909, Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience while staying with us. As our facilities may not be spacious and luxury, we always try our best to provide the service and facilities for convenient stay at our a budget and compact size apartment. However, it is disappointed that the...

Port Augusta, Australia
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

This is a bit of a tale but needs to be said. I made an error on booking. Work stopped me coming for two days so I rebooked for one day, went to cancel my first booking but I'd missed my free cancellation window. Yep that's my fault. Oops. Rang the hotel to explain this and was told by staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NMHoff
Arrow M, Marketing E at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear NMHoff, Thank you for your time providing the feedback. First of all, please accept our apologizes about the miscommunication and caused the inconvenient issue for you. It will be brought up to the management for our improvement in the future. However, it is our pleasure to hear you did end up enjoy your stay at Arrow on Swanston. We...

Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

Poor check in service Advised parking was extra even though they advised had parking Building under renovations Parking not able to be accessed through building 3 person room the size of a 1 br Room view over access lane way full of rubbish Would have cancelled booking on the above but no option Cheap but not cheerful Stay away

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glenn H
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

I stayed in the one bedroom apartment on level 5. I used this hotel for a course I was undertaking at the University of Melbourne. The bed was very comfortable and despite my room being near the elevators it was so quiet. The room was basic with a two burner stove , a fridge and a sink. The couch was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katiec8805
Arrow M, Marketing E at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Hi Katiec8805, Thank you for your review. We are appreciate that you were satisfy staying with us. As a budget apartment hotel, we always try our best to ensure guests has a good experience staying with us. We wish to have a chance to accommodate you once again in the soon future. Regards, Arrow on Swanston

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

The room was very clean with all the amenities that you need for a 4 day stay in Melbourne during the Grand Prix. It has a great location to the trams and is not fare from the shops which is great. As it is a semi self contained unit I did find that we ran out of tea bags fast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
Arrow M, Marketing E at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear Michael W, Thank you for your lovely review. We are appreciate that you were enjoy staying with us for the F1 period. However, we are sorry that the amenities has not been topped up on the day. Just for your information, guests always welcome to request some extras directly from reception. Hope this will help for your next stay...

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment. The photos on the website depict spacious living area, bedrooms etc - don't be fooled!! The lounge which seats 2 people (the apartment sleeps 3) is less than a metre from the TV. The queen bed takes up most of the bedroom with only one bedside table on one side of the bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NicFran2603
Arrow M, Marketing E at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear NicFran2603, Thank you for your time providing feedback and we are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience staying with us. We understand that our rooms are relative small as a budget apartment hotel. However, as we do have different floor plan for each room, the images may not show exactly how the room floor...

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#134 of 159 in Melbourne
1,312 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#98 of 159 in Melbourne
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
#111 of 159 in Melbourne
577 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#112 of 159 in Melbourne
1,134 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on Swanston Street, Arrow on Swanston offers comfortable, convenient and value for money serviced apartments ranging from studio, one and two-bedroom apartments to fit the single traveller, couple or the family. Our self-contained 3.5 star self-rated serviced apartments are fully furnished with modern amenities to suit your needs. Arrow on Swanston is perfectly situated in the heart of Melbourne, surrounded by entertainment, tourist attractions and sporting venues. Having tram stops just outside our doorstep allows easy access to anywhere in Melbourne. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Arrow On Swanston

Address: 488 Swanston St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Price Range: ₹ 4,525 - ₹ 8,662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arrow On Swanston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Arrow On Swanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrow On Swanston Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Arrow On Swanston staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Arrow On Swanston staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not stay in any room. We paid a premium, and the rooms were horrible. The worst were the room 19 on each floor.”
SandyBronte, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on a higher floor will have less noise from the trams”
232ciarao, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“Request a room not facing the street, away from the lifts and on a higher floor.”
yippie28, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back due to the road.”
neilbudgen, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“rooms to back of hotel might be quieter”
1-2Travl, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 82* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$ 94
Expedia.comUS$ 94
AMOMAUS$ 218
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates