We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oaks on Collins

Booking.comUS$ 104*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Oaks on Collins
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,152: English reviews
Start your review of Oaks on Collins
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Kiarnee and Jayden, we stayed on the 13th floor our room was Very comfortable and had great bedding, Our room was clean and there was great service provided. The location is Very central, good view of the city. Helpful staff and really enjoyed the stay, will definitely return when in Melbourne.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dilendre P
Noosa, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great location for public transport or even Uber's/cabs if preferred. Really clean hotel with good staff. Airport shuttle bus from the hotel is a bit strange but easy to arrange. The hotel hAs baggage storage too which is great If you have a late flight.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bianca L
Busselton, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Checked, no towels in room, no toiletries. Self contained into, no plugs for dishes and dishwasher had one inch of water in it from previous guests. Woken up by a fire drill, no note under the door no warning. The toilet is less than a metre from the bed head. I will never stay here again and feel ripped off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 534shanef
OaksOnCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review

Dear guest Thanks you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. It is unfortunate the apartment layout was not to your liking and am disappointed to hear of the lack of cleanliness experienced as it sounds clearly unacceptable. I trust you advised reception of these during your stay, so that we could identify and rectify the issue immediately. In...

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 4 nights over the Easter period and were given a room on the 15th floor. Was a quiet room. No housekeeping during that time, had to ask front reception for clean towels, rubbish removal and shampoo on several of the days we were there. The fridge still had previous occupants food and drinks in it and dirty with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ourholiday_11
OaksOnCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for your feedback. It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay – please accept our sincere apologies. We have looked into the areas of your feedback and preventive measures have already been taken. We hope this has not permanently tarnished your image on Oaks on Collins and you give us an opportunity to change...

Magnetic Island, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was very nervous after reading the reviews on here but we were pleasantly surprised - rooms were lovely, staff were friendly and helpful and great location. Yes the bathrooms are small but you're only using it to have a shower! Great place and we will definitely stay here again!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 799CarlyJ
OaksOnCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review

Dear guest. Thank you for your review and feedback of Oaks on Collins Melbourne. It is always great to hear such a positive feedback. We take pride in providing exceptional service to ensure our guests have a comfortable stay. Thank you also for your comments regarding the service you have experienced. Your positive feedback has been forwarded to the respective...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The toilet is right next to the bed. We had no towels or floor mats for the shower. There's barely enough room for one person to fit in the "bathroom". The bed is only a double and my partners feet hang off the end of the bed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa O
OaksOnCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review

Dear guest. Thanks for your review and sharing your experience. it is disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Oaks on Collins. Please accept my sincere apologies. Once again thanks for staying at Oaks on Collins Regards

Mildura, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

After arriving very tired, it was disappointing to check into a room that looked nice at first, but quickly left me shaking my head. The phone in the room was filthy (so much dust and dirt that the buttons wouldn't push properly) and when I tried to call room service, I found that the phone didn't work at all. So...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AngeU76
OaksOnCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for your feedback. I am very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay at Oaks on Lonsdale. I would be very happy to discuss this direct with you. Hmcollins@theoaksgroup.com.au Kindest Regards

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely room and very professional service from all staff. Only disappointment is the bathroom. Need something to rest toiletries on. Otherwise, the rooms are clean comfortable with great facilities. Have stayed here twice now and will probably do so again. King size bed is a luxury.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna A
OaksOnCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review

Dear guest. Thanks for your review and sharing your experience. Its great to hear that you love the room and the professional service from all staff, above all the king size luxury bed. Once again, thanks for staying with us and hope you become a regular at Oaks on Collins. Regards

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A fairly standard hotel in an excellent location. Don't be fooled thinking reception is inside the hotel, it's in a glass box to the right of the entrance. My main gripe is the size of the bathroom, particularly in view of the decent size of the whole room, its tiny. Half a sink with a shower base that extends into...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
OaksOnCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your feedback. While it is pleasing that you found our location very convenient, it is extremely disappointed know that you did not like the bathrooms. We do have rooms with larger bathrooms which our staff would have been happy to move you to if they were made aware of it. In relation to TV channels,...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here over the weekend and omg what a disgusting experience. 1st of all the sink was as small as my arm 2nd when we arrived to the room we could hear mince in the ceiling when called them they claimed there was nothing and had a little laugh at us the worker that came into our room mr...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam25146
OaksOnCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for your feedback. I am very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay at Oaks on Collin. I would be very happy to discuss this direct with you. hmcollins @theoaksgroup.com.au Kindest Regards

350 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (325)
Viewed
Room/Suite (110)
Viewed
Bathroom (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (122)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks on Market
Oaks on Market
#93 of 159 in Melbourne
1,133 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#42 of 159 in Melbourne
1,371 reviews
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#73 of 159 in Melbourne
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#31 of 159 in Melbourne
1,053 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oaks on Collins is located in the heart of Melbourne’s business and financial centre, opposite Rialto Towers. Just outside the door is the city’s vibrant entertainment, restaurant, and shopping precinct, while Bourke Street, Southgate, the Crown Entertainment complex and Telstra Dome are a short stroll away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oaks on Collins

Address: 480 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: ₹ 6,228 - ₹ 11,879 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks on Collins 4.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oaks on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Collins Street Hotel Melbourne
Oaks On Collins Street Melbourne
Oaks Collins
Oaks Hotel Melbourne
Oaks Melbourne
Hotel Style:
#105 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oaks on Collins staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Oaks on Collins staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I asked for a room on a higher floor - got a balcony room on level 15 that was extremely quiet.”
  • Contortionist's heaven - very narrow sink with glass shelf above
alecto3, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors, better views!”
MichaelT892, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stayed in one room only!”
koulamaroudas, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“don't bother, look for something else”
Naomi_Nolan5, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go to another hotel.”
Burettou, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 104* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$ 104
Hotels.com
Hotwire.com
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates