We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Carlton Clocktower Apartments

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Carlton Clocktower Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 69: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The location is the only positive thing about this place. Stayed for one night due to an event in the city. Upon arrival we discovered staff to be obnoxious and unhelpful. $300 bond that we were assured would not be taken out of our account is yet to be returned and when we asked to change cards we were scoffed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikhel6
carltonclocktower, Manager at Carlton Clocktower Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to provide us feedback, as we do value all suggestions for improvement. In regards to the $300 pre-authorisation it is a standard practice that most accommodation around the surrounding area do. This pre-authorisation off a credit card, is not an actual charge and is released upon check-out. Once released from our system, it is...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

2 bedroom apartment was absolutely filthy! Dead insects all over the place, dank rooms riddled with dust. The decor is so horrible it is almost comical. I would only recommend to young people looking to bash the town and have a central place to crash - like the people I could clearly hear in the next room having a funky...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aaronmitz
carltonclocktower, Manager at Carlton Clocktower Apartments, responded to this review

At Carlton Clocktower Apartments, we have a very strict no PARTY policy. We do NOT encourage and allow for parties, or unregistered guests to stay over night. It is the reason why, we take a $300 pre-authorisation from a credit card - in the instance the rooms are damaged or there is noise complaint requiring eviction. If your concern was...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The rooms had a funky smell, there were cracks in the plaster cracked tiles and a horrible drumming noise from the plumbing and everybody elses (try that at 3 am as a wake up call) Cleaning was cursory at best with beds unmade and toiletries not replenished, the staff bang once and charge in, my semi dressed teen loved that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 270who
carltonclocktower, Manager at Carlton Clocktower Apartments, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear that you didn't receive the experience, that you had sought after. Both our housekeeping and reception team are experienced and professional staff and have been part of the property for many years - with many returning guests appreciative of our services. All of our rooms are provided with a DO NOT DISTURB sign, in the instance...

St. Ives, Australia
Reviewed 3 November 2016

great views of the city and the mountains. A street full of delicious restaurants just outside your door. Secure apartments with private balcony. self contained, spacious serviced apartment. Highly recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carole H
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 21 October 2016

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment, plenty of room and comfortable beds. Walk straight out onto Lygon street for plenty of good restaurants and cafes and a movie theater. A short stroll to the Tram into the city. also has onsite parking. (additional fee). All in all a great stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mal-S S
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 11 October 2016

We have stayed in Carlton on many occasions, however, tried the Clocktower Apartments for first time recently. Location is awesome. Trendy Lygon Street in one direction and Carlton Gardens and Melb Museum for running, walking and exploring close by. We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment which was huge! The downside was the dated decor and weekend street noise. Would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela L
Rosebud, Australia
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Family of 5 stayed over night for quick city escape. Location is second to none.. with lygon street and all its deliciousness at your door. Walked to the VIC market played at the calton playground & gardens one small block away and the museum is walking distance too. Large apartment with everything you need. City is at your door step.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laurenheath
Bairnsdale, Australia
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Our room was everything we could've hoped for. It's difficult finding accommodation for a family of 5 with three young children in the city but this apartment was fantastic. Excellent location, modern decor, clean and spacious.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leo81983
Mount Gambier, South Australia, Australia
Reviewed 14 July 2016

Stayed here for 3 nights from 7/7/16. Location is good. Parking is limited. Spacious but dated apartment. Difficult access for getting your luggage to the room. Expensive for what you actually get. What killed it for us was the tradesmen walking on the roof at 6.45am and using power tools by 7am. No mention of this happening when we booked,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BJC71
carltonclocktower, Manager at Carlton Clocktower Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and alerting us to the difficulties experienced from the noise of the tradesmen. My sincere apologies for this but as I think we explained at the time we were unaware that this was going to happen due to a breakdown of communication between the Owner's Corporation and ourselves. We were able to ask that no...

Albury, Australia
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

The only positive i have for this place is the location. It is great.... BUT how about you train your reception staff with some basic customer service skills. It would have been nice to atleast been told what level our room was on so we could get out on the right level. And maybe if they had a basic understanding...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Danial H
carltonclocktower, Manager at Carlton Clocktower Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for this feed back. I am indeed amazed that the check in staff seemed so ignorant regarding the property as they have all worked here for a considerable period of time. Your feed back allows us to take them through our rigorous check in procedure again so that future guests do not have this experience. The $300 pre...

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Lygon Street
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel
Lygon Street
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Lygon Lodge Carlton
#116 of 157 in Melbourne
112 reviews
Lygon Street
Quest Carlton on Finlay
Quest Carlton on Finlay
#80 of 157 in Melbourne
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
#96 of 157 in Melbourne
252 reviews
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton
Vibe Hotel Carlton
#83 of 157 in Melbourne
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Lygon Street

Neighbourhood Profile
Lygon Street
If you want real parmesan, cut from the block, grated over your pasta with a twist of style, this is the place. Until recently, this neighbourhood was home to the notorious ‘Carlton Crew,’ a pseudo mafia who started their day with a local espresso. They are gone, but the espresso still runs strong in this Little Italy which has something for everyone. Starched white tablecloths, candles, pizza the way they do it "back home" and maybe even a bit of amore. The number of gelato choices will leave you in a state of indecision and wide footpaths, big awnings and a sea of packed tables makes this al fresco dining experience a continental buzz. Even if you’re not eating, it’s worth the stroll just for the people-watching, which, of course, is an Italian tradition.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Carlton Clocktower Apartments is location, location, location, and is situated in the heart of Carlton's famous Lygon Street precinct - Australia's restaurant capital - where cosmopolitan charm and lifestyle is evident in the range of over 300 shops, cafes and restaurants on offer, which will tempt all of your senses and leave long lasting impressions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Carlton Clocktower Apartments

Address: 255 Drummond St, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia (Formerly Quest Carlton Clocktower)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Lygon Street
Price Range: ₹ 7,077 - ₹ 16,041 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Clocktower Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Carlton Clocktower Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Carlton Clocktower Melbourne
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#112 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Carlton Clocktower Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take a torch if you're checking in at night, it's dark and hard to find the rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles LambsySydney, 18 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Higher rooms have a bit of a view”
 of 5 bubbles priesttheos, 18 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Renovated inner apartment”
 of 5 bubbles ahar0nd, 1 Oct 2015 | Read review
“The rooms and outlook are nothing special but if you're just after a bed at the end of the day its okay and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles AndrewSullivan6160, 4 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Request a unit in the main clocktower building above the ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles 977warrenm, 5 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay