We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,049 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges Melbourne Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,009: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

I was staying here for 3 days and made the most of the location is close which to everything especially in the heart of Chinatown. The room was clean and smaller than a usual Queen size bedroom. Reception were excellent and every request was attended to with a smile.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank khyster
Amy T, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear khyster, A big thank you for your beautiful review of our lovely staff during your stay with us. So pleased the location worked well for you and we could accommodate your needs efficiently. Hope to welcome you back again soon! Warm Regards, Amy Trengove Rooms Division Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 15 December 2015

Close to China Town,theatres,tram and city. Welcoming service clean room, wifi microwave roomy and great resturant/bar.There is a pool , underground parking at extra cost and ,room had all we needed .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharyn616
Amy T, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sharyn616, Thank you kindly for your pleasant review of your stay at Rydges Melbourne. So glad to hear our location suited your needs well and the rooms were suitable for you. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Warm Regards, Amy Trengove Rooms Division Manager

Australia
Reviewed 13 December 2015

Stayed in this hotel recently for work. It is never my first choice after a rather unpleasant stay a few years ago but I thought I would give them another go. The housekeeping is still not up to standard. Toilet not cleaned when I arrived. Staff are still a bit disinterested and the whole place just doesn't seem to work....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hen302
Amy T, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear hen302, I'm very sorry to hear about your feelings towards our Rydges Melbourne hotel. I would like to gather some further details of your reservaiton if you could be so kind to send them through on email amy_trengove@rydges.com and I can give you a call to further discuss. Our housekeeping team pride themselevs on ensuring the cleanliness is of...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 12 December 2015

Getting the commercial out of the way (I use these travels to write my Joey Netherhill Series) I have to say the the one bed apartment was comfortable and well-appointed. No kitchen, but nice bathroom with seperate shower and spa bath. Air conditioning and heating are standard. The apartments have access to good parking, a trendy bar and a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Russell W
Amy T, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Russell, Thanks so much for your kind review of your stay in Rydges Melbourne. We would be very intrigued to hear more about your series i hope when you return you will give us some more information on your work! Warm Regards, Amy Trengove Rooms Division Manager

Liaoning
Reviewed 9 December 2015 via mobile

Stayed for 3 days, breadfast was nothing to shout about. Room size small but comfortable. Plenty of sockets available. Toiletries are minimum without tooth brushes and slippers. There is no card holder to hold entry card. Room not connected centrally to switch room lightings off.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BLLim
Amy T, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BLLim, Thank you for your review of your stay with Rydges Melbourne. Please be sure to contact our 24 hour reception on your next visit as we do have complimentary toothbrushes and slippers available upon request, sorry you missed out this time. Warm Regards, Amy Trengove Rooms Division Manager

Reviewed 8 December 2015 via mobile

Neat, tidy and clean looking hotel in a great location. Friendly and professional staff. Checking in and out was a breeze. Room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. Buffet breakfast was fantastic. Only downsides were that the bathroom was very small and the parking is quite pricey (however this is probably to be expected in the CBD). Overall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda L
Amy T, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Amanda, Thank you kindly for your recent review of Rydges Melbourne. Glad you had such a wonderful experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Warm Regards, Amy Trengove Rooms Division Manager

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 8 December 2015

I took up an upgrade offer to a Queen spa suite that had been emailed to me which was confirmed by text message by the hotel. Upon arrival the hotel did not have a record of this and then had to wait while he found a correct room . Apart from the extra time at check in this had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 7 December 2015 via mobile

Stayed here during my last trip to Melbourne. Rooms were fairly small and the heater in the room was not working (Melbourne gets cold at night even in november). Found that the bed was a bit too soft, but overall the room was still acceptable and comfortable. Wifi connection was okay and the food at the restaurant was great with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shynn O
Amy T, Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shynn, We appreciate your review of your most recent stay with us at Rydges Melbourne. I apologise the heater was not in working order in your particular room during your stay. If you have a moment to kindly email me the detaisl of your reservation so I can follow up to ensure the heater issue is repaired I would...

Geelong, Australia
Reviewed 7 December 2015

Booked in for a 2 night stay. Good central location, parking garage next door, rooms decent size and bed very comfortable but very small and congested bathroom. Very average breakfast, noisy bar area and lousy late night coffee. Very disappointed that rooms are only serviced every second day, and this was not communicated to us on arrival. Overpriced when compared...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Drew49
Amy T, Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Drew, Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us at Rydges Melbourne. Great to hear the location and rooms suited your needs. I'm sorry to hear you were dissapointed with some aspects of your stay. Housekeeping service the rooms every day with a clean and fresh towels,it sounds like this hasn't happened as it should I'm...

Warrenheip, Vic
Reviewed 5 December 2015 via mobile

Stayed here at the end of November for a catchup with friends. We had 6 rooms booked and they were more than adequate for what we needed. Rooms are not overly large but because we were only there to get changed and sleep it did not bother us. Breakfast was fantastic!! Location is excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michellep783
Amy T, Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michelle, Thank you kindly for your amazing review of your recent stay with us at Rydges Melbourne! Glad you got to enjoy our beautiful array of food at our breakfast buffet. Look forward to accommodating you and your friends again soon. Warm regards, Amy Trengove Rooms Division Manager

539 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (295)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (79)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Other (119)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (216)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Deluxe Queen Room (45)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (37)
Viewed
Premier Spa Suite (39)
Viewed
Queen Spa Suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#37 of 158 in Melbourne
1,490 reviews
Chinatown
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
#94 of 158 in Melbourne
2,045 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 158 in Melbourne
1,804 reviews
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#78 of 158 in Melbourne
826 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#14 of 158 in Melbourne
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Chinatown

Neighbourhood Profile
Chinatown
Locals know that Chinatown is the tried and true place to eat before hitting the nightclub scene. The place simply buzzes, and the well-preserved buildings exude a sense of Imperial China stemming from immigration over a century ago. In restaurant after restaurant on Little Bourke Street, you'll find delicious dishes such as sizzling honeyed prawns, and value for your money. Stately matrons oversee family kitchens serving up age-old recipes. The lighting may be unromantic, the patrons loud, and the service no-nonsense, but the food is sensational.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Address: 186 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Price Range: ₹ 7,848 - ₹ 18,573 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#73 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Melbourne Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Melbourne Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want to avoid city noise, ask for a room higher up.”
 of 5 bubbles Mordeegirl, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“High up rooms have great views and appear quieter”
  • View from my room on 20th floor looking over the city to the west
 of 5 bubbles susanlJ301VU, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Accessable quiet”
 of 5 bubbles cosbycount1, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Either ask for a room either 04 or 09”
  • Lounge and dinning area
 of 5 bubbles 91glennb, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“no room is far from the lifts and parking was a bonus”
 of 5 bubbles Yorkylady_13, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5