We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Show Prices
#35 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,023 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,947: English reviews
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 30 January 2015

I can't speak highly enough about this hotel. It has been a while since I stayed and I was more than impressed. It was a last minute decision to stay during a very busy time. We were welcomed from the minute we walked in the door. Check in was seamless. Our room was an amazing Junior Suite. The hotel Assistant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larni1
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review

Dear Larni1, Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Melbourne. I am so delighted that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us and that both Elizabeth and Kishor made you feel right at home in the hotel. I will be sure to personally recognise them for their efforts. I hope that...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 29 January 2015 via mobile

We stayed for one night during the Australian Open and it was a lovely stay in a great location. Huge, comfy bed and a fabulous rain shower. All the staff were wonderful and helpful. The only issue is that most rooms look onto an internal atrium so there's no natural light. However this is a small issue given that the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shehana118
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review

Dear Shehana118, Thank you for choosing to stay with us during the Australian Tennis Open and I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for your kind words regarding the helpfulness of my colleagues. I am certainly lucky to have such a great team. I hope that we might have the opportunity to...

Reviewed 29 January 2015

I stay many times at the InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto each year and as a Platinum Ambassador had the privilege of staying one of the wonderful Iconic Suites. The suites are simply stunning; they are spectacular suite, well-appointed and looked after ensuring truly a grand and memorable 5 star experience. Overlooking Collins St however yet not a single noise from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DylanP_ADL
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review

Dear DylanP_ADL, As an InterContinental Hotels and Resorts Ambassador Member thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback. It is so great to hear that you continue to enjoy your stays at InterContinental Melbourne. The Iconic suite is certainly an experience in itself. I will be sure to thank Kishor personally for his efforts in looking after...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 28 January 2015

We stay at the IC Melbourne from 25th to 28th December with our son and girlfriend. Our shout for Xmas. Checkin on Christmas Day was quick and efficient. We were offered a room on a higher floor with a coffee machine for $40 more. We declined and glad we did as our room had tea and instant coffee and I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sue1956
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review

Dear Sue1956, Thank you for choosing to stay with us over the Christmas period and for taking the time to share your kind review. Whilst I am delighted to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us I was disappointed to note the challenges you encountered with your lunch reservation in our restaurant. I am glad that we were...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 27 January 2015

We stayed at Rialto after Xmas for 4 nights in a Club King room and had a wonderful time. Despite being a busy time of the year we never felt like the hotel was full or busy. Unlike many of the rooms which face into into hotel void, we were allocated an end room with large windows and plenty of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank L0ves2travel2places
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review

Dear L0ves2travel2places, Thank you for choosing to stay with us over the Christmas period and for taking the time to share your kind review on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be centrally located, close to shops and the Crown Entertainment Complex. I hope that sometime in the...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 26 January 2015

This is a lovely hotel - the lobby and public areas are all situated in a glass atrium between two heritage buildings and have a lovely atmoshere. Our room was on the fifth floor. The beds were very comfortable. The customer service was (as is the case at all Intercontinental hotels) supurb - nothing is too much trouble. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wendyk65
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review

Dear Wendy, Thank you for taking the time to share the kind feedback from your recent stay with us in Melbourne. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us and found the hotel to we well located in the centre of Melbourne’s CBD. I hope that sometime again this year we...

Reviewed 25 January 2015

I'm staying at the IC for the Australia Day long weekend and prior to arriving forgot to request a room with a bathtub. Upon checking in I made the specific request and unfortunately the room was not available on the Friday evening but reception advised that they could relocate me on Saturday. I left for the day on Saturday and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Missfussytraveller
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review

Dear Missfussytraveller, I am delighted to hear that you chose to stay with us over the Australia Day long weekend and thank you for taking the opportunity to share your kind review. I am glad that we were able to accommodate your request for a bathroom on the second evening of your stay with us and I will be sure...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 19 January 2015

I am currently staying at this property and the start hasn't been what I would expect. First I did arrive early 7.30 am and with more hope than expectation I would be able to get a room. The receptionist was quite friendly and offered me a Gym pass where I could have a work out and shower which I did...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank walasia
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review

Dear Walasia, As a newly joined InterContinental Hotels and Resorts Ambassador Member thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am delighted that you have joined the Ambassador program and I can assure you it will be money well spent for your upcoming trip to America. Some of the benefits included as part of your Ambassador Membership...

Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 18 January 2015

My husband and I recently stayed four nights at this hotel. Our stay started off a little disappointing. We arrived a little before the allotted check-in time and our room was not available which is fine but the attitude of the lady at check-in was not particularly professional about it. We returned a couple of hours later and were happy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank runsammie
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review

Dear Runsammie, As an IHG Rewards Club Member thank you for taking the time to share the feedback from your recent stay with us in Melbourne. All of your comments are important to us and I thank you for sharing them with me. This will allow me to provide feedback to our teams to ensure that we continue to improve...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2015

I chose this hotel because it is close to Southern Cross train station (5-10 mins walk). I use the skybus when travelling between Melbourne Airport and the hotel (you can also use the complimentary hotel shuttle bus to get you to the hotel from the train station). The rooms are clean; however, I find the shower cubicle to be a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review

Dear Paul M, Thank you for taking the time to share the feedback from your recent stay with us in Melbourne. I am gald to hear that you found the hotel to be centrally located in the CBD and close to Southern Cross Train Station. I apologise that you were not able to access hot water from the wash basin,...

788 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (714)
Viewed
Room/Suite (174)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (72)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (44)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
2:36
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (359)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (74)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
5,158 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#21 of 158 in Melbourne
3,824 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#14 of 158 in Melbourne
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#29 of 158 in Melbourne
758 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
2,397 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Alluvial
Alluvial
Cuisines: Australian, International
Market Lane Bar
Market Lane Bar
Cuisines: Australian
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: ₹ 11,111 - ₹ 28,562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Executive level suites excellent”
 of 5 bubbles ErnieY886, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 819 was quiet and provided views of the Yarra.”
 of 5 bubbles Jamesevanscsu, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Away from the road and lights. You will NOT sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles anduain, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Best Service In Melbourne”
 of 5 bubbles innh1978, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Check if the construction still continues and if so, ask for a room away from the construction site”
 of 5 bubbles chopstickmama, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5