We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

292 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 279: English reviews
Start your review of BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Went to the city for White Night and so was looking forward to staying in a comfortable hotel room. My opinion of it was: - tatty - carpets stained, torn, looked really awful - dirty - even if there was a view - you wouldn't be able to see it due to the filthy windows, inside and out. Bathroom was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gigs07
Melton, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this about 3 weeks ago and then decided to read reviews the day before our stay. So glad I didn't cancel. Check in and check out was excellent. No delays there at all. The shared lifts....when you work out how to send the ones away that can't get you to your room, then you're fine. Yes, the room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kylie G
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Living a little outside of Melbourne we look forward to the occasional night out in the city. So as this hotel was very close to the venue we were attending for a friends 40th birthday party we booked an apartment there. A bit confusing on arrival as although the address is in Flinders street the actual entrance is down a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank delver313
Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at the Riverside Apartments in Melbourne Recently. Old and tired. The room was very clean but somehow details like the mound of fluff in the back of the hairdryer and the mould on the grout in the shower had been overlooked. The reception area had a lot of steps, appeared dirty and mat needed replacing. Staff were nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annie T
Heywood, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This building needs upgrading. Very rundown. Chipped paint. Stale smell in corridors. Blinds missing. Damaged walls. Wardrobe door missing. Twin beds mismatched so that they couldn't be pushed together. Unable to see river with outdoor screen blocking the view. All the windows had to be opened to freshen unit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PamAndGrant
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Thick Mould in shower/Deceiving location - no riverside view and not located in the walkway where photo taken/ filthy lounge and/ cushions/ dirty hairdryer full of something in the back/unsafe space. Dirty blankets/sheets. Really bad experience we arrived at 5pm and I just wanted to leave and go elsewhere. Couldn't wait to leave and we only overnighted there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jodie m
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

I'm sorry you were unhappy with your stay. I will discuss the issues you found with housekeeping so we can avoid them being repeated. Thank you for letting us know.

Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On arrival we were confronted with steps everywhere, and with 4 large cases made our way to the elevator "unassisted", only to find a narrow staircase with 14 more stairs. We had a nice view from the 17th floor was to the rear towards the Rialto Tower with a balcony. The Room had filthy carpet and rug.Air Conditioners old and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grant B
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our apologies for not exceeding your expectations. I'm glad you enjoyed the view and that you had a good night's sleep. We do hope you will return next time you are staying in Melbourne.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 16 January 2017

I had arrived late in the evening and the manager ( i think) Steven was very courteous and checked me with great ease. He was very knowledgeable of all the special sites around Melbourne and where to eat and what to see. The room was perfect for my stay and the view is AMAZING. The Crown Entertainment complex is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Haran K
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. It was a pleasure having you as a guest and we hope one day you will come back to Melbourne. Glad to hear the view helped to make your stay special.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2017

We stayed here the first 3 nights of our Melbourne stay between Christmas and New Year and would certainly not return. The apartment was dirty and very dated and the staff at reception were not particularly helpful, verging on rude. We arrived at aprox 7:30am, after arriving from the UK, and were told the room would be ready by 2pm,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

I'm sorry you had such a poor start to your stay with us. On the day of check in we were taken by surprise in the morning and delays did happen. We did try to make it up you by offering a very late check out and i'm glad you were able to take up the offer. I hope you...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

Very standard facilities with a generous sized room. Great location for Melbourne CBD. Waking distance to Casino, flinders and southern cross station. Section of the hotel we stayed is very out dated.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (75)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#27 of 156 in Melbourne
1,026 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#66 of 156 in Melbourne
106 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks on Market
Oaks on Market
#91 of 156 in Melbourne
1,081 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Year remodeled - 2008/9. Best Western Riverside Serviced Apartments are located in the CBD of Melbourne and offer two types of accommodations. Riverside annex apartments described as the annex rooms when booking are located on the corner of Flinders and Highlander Lane situated on the first, second and third floors, just near our reception in Highlander Lane. All apartments in this building are one bedroom. Both riverside and the annex rooms are conveniently located at the historic and entertainment end of the city, just minutes walk to crown casino, Melbourne exhibition and convention centers, aquarium, Southbank restaurants, observation deck and Etihad Stadium. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments

Address: 474 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: ₹ 6,385 - ₹ 15,653 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Riverside Apartments Hotel Melbourne
Best Western Melbourne
Best Western Hotel Melbourne
Hotel Style:
#101 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Croydon, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are no tips; you can ask all you like, but you won't get it”
 of 5 bubbles Gigs07, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't go, try Clarion Gates.”
 of 5 bubbles delver313, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask to be in same block as reception - not annex.”
 of 5 bubbles anniet786, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try another venue”
 of 5 bubbles PamAndGrant, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stay elsewhere its awful.”
 of 5 bubbles Jodiem336, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5