We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grand Chancellor Melbourne

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,050 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,017: English reviews
Start your review of Grand Chancellor Melbourne
 Click to rate
Adelaide
Reviewed today NEW

Not as fancy as most international hotels with the same rating and price but still nice. Buffet breakfast was good value and nice range of food. Beds were very clean and staff were nice. A little pricy for what it was but all Melbourne hotels seem to be

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathryng257
Hobart, Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The staff were impressive from our arrival to the time of our departure especially the young man in charge of the lobby bar (Duhti??). Great sleep, very clean bedding, towels and room etc. We were on the second floor but there was no adverse noise. The hotel was fully booked for the Grand Prix but still not noisy. Room service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
hgcmelbourne, Hotel Operations Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Tony R Thank you very much for your review. It is wonderful to hear your feedback about our staff and I will be certain to pass your kind remarks onto the team. I'm so glad that you enjoyed a great night's sleep and our terrific room service menu. I'm sorry to learn that you found the bathroom uncomfortable to...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our 2 night stay was terrible our room was so noisy doors slamming in hallway at night Main Street below people yelling all ours of the night. No assistance with luggage no ramp. Hotel entrance needs revamp very out dated & dirty. Will not be back or recommend. Premier Room over priced.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ross1945
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great location near the theatres which was the reason for our trip to Melbourne. Staff were very friendly and assisted with an early check in as we had been travelling since 4am. Good value for the price.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank blaughlan
Morwell, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I always enjoy my stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne. The facilities are excellent, the staff are friendly and helpful and the location is ideal for me. I love the buffet breakfast and when I do order room service it is exceptional. The fish and chips are well worth a try.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 649kirstym
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The service was great, room was very clean & our room was serviced every day we were there. The staff were friendly & the restaurant Encore there I recommend food is beautiful & the staff couldn't do enough for you ...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 929margarete
hgcmelbourne, Hotel Operations Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear 929margarete Thank you very much for your wonderful review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne soon. Kindest regards, Tara Strickland, Hotel Operations Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Location was paramount when choosing our hotel in Melbourne, so the Grand Chancellor was ideal. Whilst the hotel was a tad old fashioned, the friendliness of the Staff, clever refurbishment and comfort was superb. Hopefully, we shall come again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank James B
Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great pool! $25 per hour for a late check out seems unusual and way to expensive compared to other hotels I've stayed at. Staff were helpful, the room was clean and tidy just wasn't anything amazing..

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank benmU9370YF
Sydney Olympic Park, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Fantastic location in the heart of things, but the place is quite run down and tired. The car park attendant was just plain rude and if I had been staying another night there would've been a direct complaint. I have already booked this place for 5 nights (booked before I stayed this time) in early April. I might need to...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank UKEagleinAus
hgcmelbourne, Hotel Operations Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear UKEagleinAus Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so pleased you have found our location, here in the centre of the Melbourne CBD, to be ideal for your needs. I am very sorry to hear about your experience in the car park, I can understand your disappointment. As the car park is...

Bendigo, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

the room we were allocated was too small for 3 people staying 2 nights and their luggage/shopping. the cocktails were nice and the bar staff were great, the fact that we had to pay $5 to have a bucket of ice sent to the room was a little over the top.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank wendyr412

151 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (138)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
#79 of 158 in Melbourne
2,055 reviews
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 158 in Melbourne
1,819 reviews
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#38 of 158 in Melbourne
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#74 of 158 in Melbourne
830 reviews
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Chinatown

Neighbourhood Profile
Chinatown
Locals know that Chinatown is the tried and true place to eat before hitting the nightclub scene. The place simply buzzes, and the well-preserved buildings exude a sense of Imperial China stemming from immigration over a century ago. In restaurant after restaurant on Little Bourke Street, you'll find delicious dishes such as sizzling honeyed prawns, and value for your money. Stately matrons oversee family kitchens serving up age-old recipes. The lighting may be unromantic, the patrons loud, and the service no-nonsense, but the food is sensational.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Well-regarded Traditional 17-story Hotel in city center, near theaters, shopping & Chinatown. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Melbourne

Address: 131 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Price Range: ₹ 6,348 - ₹ 18,848 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Chancellor Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Chancellor Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chancellor Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Grand Chancellor Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Chancellor Hotel
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#84 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Chancellor Melbourne staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Manila, Philippines
over a year ago
Melbourne, Australia
22 days ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Chancellor Melbourne staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Chancellor Room was fine, good value”
 of 5 bubbles Sisogo, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“if you are a light sleeper ask for a room higher up”
 of 5 bubbles Sonnie_dee, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid floor 17 near pool entrance”
 of 5 bubbles anniet786, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“higher the better”
 of 5 bubbles 323samh, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try to get one away from Lonsdale St”
 of 5 bubbles merlintrust, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5