We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,364 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,303: English reviews
Start your review of Crowne Plaza Melbourne
 Click to rate
Krakow, Poland
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

I stayed at Crowne Plaza for 10 days in Melbourne and I had a 10th floor executive suite. I have to say the views of the city are stunning and the rooms fairly well equiped. The breakfast is varied and fit for vegetarians as well and the lobby for drinks is a nice retreat. Taxis are usually parked in front...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Georgie J
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A great place to stay. The location is excellent with numerous attractions within walking distance & public transport close, The river side rooms provide an excellent view. A great hotel without a huge price. We found the staff to be friendly, knowledgeable and helpful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gavin C
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Gavin C, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our location and the river views from your room. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne. Kind regards, Cameron Abbott General Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Our stay at the Crown Plaza was enjoyable from the welcome at reception, the room facilities and meets the standard we expected and have enjoyed previously. The location of the hotel is a plus looking over the Yarra River, close to restaurant district and of course shopping at DFO South Wharf. We look forward to visiting again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Paul L, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us here at the Crowne Plaza Melbourne. It was great to note that our location works so well for you, providing ease of access to the Casino, DFO and some of Melbourne's best restaurants. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Cameron Abbott General Manager

Vilnius, Lithuania
Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms are small, but very clean and cozy. Nice view. Staff is friendly and helpful, nice to see their smiley faces. There are a lot of restaurants and shops around the hotel. 500 meters away there's a train station. Food in the restaurant is fresh and tasty.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vikundra
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Vikundra, Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Crowne Plaza Melbourne. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our central location, close to many restaurants and shops and found our staff friendly and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights, we paid $400 a night. The room was tiny for the amount of money we paid. The room smelt like cigarette smoke and the bathroom smelt like mould. Not very impressed. Location is good. But way over priced.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kodie M
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Kodie M, Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so glad you found our location to be good; however I am sorry that we also appear to have let you down in other aspects. Should you look to return, please do contact me directly and I would be delighted to oversee your...

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

A great view over the river and room was very nice, staff very helpful, had diner and breakfast both were very nice. So we hade a lovely time as easy to get to most places in the City. Wi-fi was a bit random as kept dropping out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SPB55
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Stephen B, Thank you for sharing you review of your stay. I am glad to note that you enjoyed your river views from your room and found our location very convenient when visiting all of the sites and attractions that Melbourne has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott General Manager

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We usually stay at the Crown Metropol for our family visits to Melbourne; but the Justin Bieber fans had taken over the Metropol and there were no rooms available. We had always noticed the Crowne Plaza on the other side of the river but just never stayed. First impressions: the lobby and rooms are 'nice' (terrible word, but in this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cd_bassett
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear cd_bassett, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I was pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and I was also delighted to note that you will be returning as there is no greater vote of confidence than a guest who is happy to return. We look forward to welcoming you back...

Reviewed 1 week ago

For the price of 350/night I was expecting better. Rooms are ok but toilet doesn't flush properly and shower over bath is small. You have to pay $19/ day for wi-fi. Overall a pretty tired establishment

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Jim B, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I was disappointed to read that your stay was less than satisfactory and fell below the standards we strive for. I would be delighted if you were to contact me directly, when next returning to Melbourne, so as to provide me with an opportunity to...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is far from our first stay. Once again we managed to book a double room with views down the Yarra River ...amazing The hotel is a little on the tired side but comes with all the amenitites we need for work The business suite is great & we love being able to pop in & use it without hassle....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tuttsy
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Tuttsy, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us here at the Crowne Plaza Melbourne. I am pleased to hear that we are your hotel of choice when staying in Melbourne and you found our amenities, staff and facilities great. There is no greater confidence than a guest who is willing to return again and we look forward to...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights and i was impressed. The location was fantastic to the city, south bank, crown casino. We walked everywhere from our hotel. The rooms were comfortable well maintained and quiet. There is a small pool, gym ,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne69
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Vivienne69, Thank you for providing us with such positive feedback and I am delighted to hear that you found our location fantastic and your room comfortable and quiet. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Cameron Abbott General Manager

468 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (416)
Viewed
View from Room (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (98)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Other (182)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#24 of 158 in Melbourne
2,284 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#23 of 158 in Melbourne
3,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 158 in Melbourne
2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set on the banks of the Yarra River, in the heart of the Southbank precinct Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a located adjacent to Melbourne Convention Exhibition Center and a relaxed stroll from Southgate arts and dining promenade, the city center, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium and shopping hot spots. Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a 5-minute walk from Southern Cross railway station and a 2-minute stroll to the tramways for swift travel across town. Taxis or our car service take 30 minutes from Melbourne Airport, while our convenient valet service makes parking a breeze. Providing support for the corporate traveler our business centre provides complimentary use of PCs, Internet and stationary supplies. Whether it’s over a succulent steak at Clarendon Street Grill, a classic cocktail in the Lobby Bar or an informal meeting in the Corporate Lounge, Crowne Plaza Melbourne really is The Place To Meet with friends, family, colleagues and clients. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Address: 1 - 5 Spencer St, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Price Range: ₹ 8,770 - ₹ 20,681 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#70 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Melbourne staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Melbourne staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check which side of hotel room is, one side over river is great other side a lot of building work and not a good view”
 of 5 bubbles SPB55, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a river view”
 of 5 bubbles jimbW7319YH, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Join the IHG club for free wifi.”
  • Looking down the Yarra.
 of 5 bubbles Tuttsy, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“all good very clean constant hot water”
 of 5 bubbles gordyb186, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“request room with city view”
 of 5 bubbles braney, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5