We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,335 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,276: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Great location for access to the Melbourne Conference Center across the river and to the Southbank promenade with its myriad of bars and restaurants. Great view from my King Deluxe room looking over the Yarra river. Pillows could be better.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shane C
Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is awesome - quick check in - late check out if you ask - the view was so perfect. Luxurious large beds - everything was just spot on. Very clean. I will always stay at this hotel on future trips to Melbourne!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank craighgraham
Sherwood Park, Canada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Spent a very nice weekend at the hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the quiet pool and breakfast was good. Excellent location, within walking distance of many great restaurants and interestingly locations.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oilersfan1
Ashburn, Virginia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We enjoyed our stay at the Crowne Plaza for its convenient location for sightseeing and local transportation. Price of course reflects the location. Our room 451 was large, comfortable and nice enough...it is on the river side, but only a partiall view of the river. The hotel layout is confusing to go from the lobby to the rooms through the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VW49
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

As I say the staff were happy to go the extra mile to look after there customers. But when we ordered the accommodation we were told it was a walk in shower as I'm in a wheelchair. So we thought the wheelchair would get in the bathroom ok and I be right from there on. But sadly the wheelchair just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

This hotel is nice, with a great location, especially if you need to go to the Crown Casino for any events, with great access to restaurants & trams. Although, the bathroom needs an upgrade. The beds are very comfortable. I had a great relaxing sleep, which I don't usually get when in a hotel. The gym is small and stuffy....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Swho06
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Swho06, Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Crowne Plaza Melbourne. I am pleased to note that you found our hotel in a great location, our staff friendly and you had a relaxing sleep. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Kind regards, Cameron Abbott General Manager

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Awesome check in experience with Nish. Comfortable room and bed, and you had 2 soaps in the bathroom. My pet hate is high end hotels only give one soap as they give shower gels which I don't like so thank you for my 2 soaps. Lovely outlook from my King South Wharf room and I didn't mind the helipad nearby....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katkeil29
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear katkeil29, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found your bed comfortable with a great view. So nice to hear you enjoyed the level of service provided by Nish who is a great asset to our team. I look forward to sharing your review with Nish and...

Turkey
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great place to stay in Melbourne right on the Yarra great views right next door to crown casino buffet breakfast was really nice rooms are nice maybe a little small for a 5 star hotel service was very helpful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Kevin C, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us here at the Crowne Plaza Melbourne. I am glad to hear that you found us in a great location close to Crown Casino and you enjoyed your breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Kind regards, Cameron Abbott General Manager

Wangaratta, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Modern hotel with friendly staff and great location to the Crown Casino, Exhibition Centre and DFO all just a few minutes walk away. We stayed in a king room which had a city view. The king bed was comfortable and the room had everything we needed for our stay. Will definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dazza224
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Dazza224, Thank you for your wonderful feedback. I was pleased that you found your room comfortable and our staff friendly. We agree that we are in a great location close to Crown Casino, Southbank and shopping and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Cameron Abbott General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Seriously well mannered customer service is just too much to ask for these days! Repeater to this hotel...but never again ! Absolutely appalled at checkin staff Lachlan with his lack of attention and passion in his role...only two people at checkin!! And one at check out!!Seriously Crowne Plaza ..get onto it ..you have lost me...!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian V
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Sebastian V, Thank you for your review. We regret that you had a less than satisfactory experience during your visit and I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. It disheartens me to read your feedback and would welcome the opportunity to discuss further in person. Please feel free to contact me at...

465 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (413)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (58)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (98)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Other (180)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#26 of 156 in Melbourne
2,235 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#23 of 156 in Melbourne
3,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set on the banks of the Yarra River, in the heart of the Southbank precinct Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a located adjacent to Melbourne Convention Exhibition Center and a relaxed stroll from Southgate arts and dining promenade, the city center, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium and shopping hot spots. Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a 5-minute walk from Southern Cross railway station and a 2-minute stroll to the tramways for swift travel across town. Taxis or our car service take 30 minutes from Melbourne Airport, while our convenient valet service makes parking a breeze. Providing support for the corporate traveler our business centre provides complimentary use of PCs, Internet and stationary supplies. Whether it’s over a succulent steak at Clarendon Street Grill, a classic cocktail in the Lobby Bar or an informal meeting in the Corporate Lounge, Crowne Plaza Melbourne really is The Place To Meet with friends, family, colleagues and clients. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Address: 1 - 5 Spencer St, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Price Range: ₹ 9,812 - ₹ 20,230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#73 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Melbourne staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Melbourne staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 707 west side city views and gas fires (I think they were) outside crown casino. On Yarra River at night time when turned on.”
 of 5 bubbles 24PaulH24, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“King South Wharf Room - loved it!”
 of 5 bubbles katkeil29, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“River View rooms have good views”
 of 5 bubbles broomsmelbourne, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Maybe try the basement for quietness”
 of 5 bubbles gjen2005, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“A room overlooking crown or southwarf would be a nice view.”
  • View towards Crown
  • Standard room with a view towards Crown.
 of 5 bubbles KTC3438, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5