We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,381 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,320: English reviews
Start your review of Crowne Plaza Melbourne
 Click to rate
Reviewed today NEWvia mobile

Was vert impressed with the reception and concierge desks. The room although a little small was adequate only complaint being i can hear all the action from adjoining rooms. Great location and pool was very nice. Overall very happy and will return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony T
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Had booked a Celebration package for my anniversary. The celebration package was a bottle of wine, with strawberry's in chocolate. The call centre operator messed it up by saying that he was booking a Celebration package, only to be told by front desk that it was not done but a regular suite was booked and he cannot do anything. Poor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abhilash R
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I was expecting this hotel to be posh and nice. It was very small and very quiet. The bedroom was cramped and the bed was quite uncomfortable. The very cramped and small room. The shower was crap with a plastic bath that felt like I was going to fall through it. The bed was uncomfortable with hard then pillows. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shaeskies
Shepshed, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A great location on the river - and I had a room with a stunning view. Good efficient service and decent room, without being spectacular. I didnt have breakfast or dinner - but the bar service was okay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ironing_Board
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I regularly stay at IHG hotels and in this instance disappointed that there was no option to order in room service at check in, and that there was signage suggesting that bed linen had not been changed. An assistant manager suggested that it might of been a mistake because he "ran his hand over the counter, and it's clean". I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank james_stracey
Tampere, Finland
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Good hotel for business trip accommodation. Nothing extraordinary but clean, quiet and good location. Also the breakfast was extremely good with fresh berries and fruits. Though I was there for a business, this is also suitable for the families with smaller kids as well. There is lost of good restaurants just around the corner, River Yarra is just next to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank saarijuk
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed 2 nights and will definitely return. Paid to upgrade for river view room and it was great view up the river with its helicopters and various river activities. We could see the casino (and its hourly display flames) on one side and the city building on the the other.. great view from comfortable room. Staff were all friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Chris R, Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the views of the Yarra River and Southbank from your room and found our staff efficient and helpful. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back soon. With kind regards, Cameron Abbott General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights and it was great. The rooms are always clean and we had a great view of the river,casino and the city. Breakfast is great and the staff are extremely helpful and polite. I would recommend this hotel for anyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott W
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Scott W, Thank you for your wonderful review. I delighted to read that you found our staff helpful and polite and breakfast great. The hotel indeed is located in a great location and the view from to rooms facing Yarra River is spectacular. I hope to welcome you back in near future. Kind Regards, Cameron Abbott General Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Last minute internet booking at great price for Saturday night . Due to building works in the area , actually finding the hotel drive way was total pot luck and needs much better signage or at least a warning on the internet. Hotel had not got the booking but very helpful at sorting the problem at a good price ....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JvB0625
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear JvB0625, Thank you for your feedback. I was disappointed to read that you found it difficult to find the hotel drive way. Our hotel do offer free WiFi to all our IHG rewards members and its free to join as well. I was glad to read that you found the room and beds to be comfortable. Kind Regards, Cameron...

Milton, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed in the Crowne Plaza for two nights on our Trafalgar tour. It was initially very difficult to even get to the hotel, because of construction at the hotel front, but the location is actually very good. The walk along the South Bank is beautiful, only minutes away, and it is an easy five minute walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fred G
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Fred G, Thank you for your feedback. I do apologise that you found the access to the hotel was difficult. However, I was pleased to read that you were able to take advantage of the hotel location, ie, free tram zone in front of the hotel and the walk to South Bank where majority of restaurants and cafes are...

480 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (428)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (100)
Viewed
View from Room (59)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Other (189)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#24 of 158 in Melbourne
2,316 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#26 of 158 in Melbourne
3,651 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set on the banks of the Yarra River, in the heart of the Southbank precinct Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a located adjacent to Melbourne Convention Exhibition Center and a relaxed stroll from Southgate arts and dining promenade, the city center, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium and shopping hot spots. Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a 5-minute walk from Southern Cross railway station and a 2-minute stroll to the tramways for swift travel across town. Taxis or our car service take 30 minutes from Melbourne Airport, while our convenient valet service makes parking a breeze. Providing support for the corporate traveler our business centre provides complimentary use of PCs, Internet and stationary supplies. Whether it’s over a succulent steak at Clarendon Street Grill, a classic cocktail in the Lobby Bar or an informal meeting in the Corporate Lounge, Crowne Plaza Melbourne really is The Place To Meet with friends, family, colleagues and clients. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Address: 1 - 5 Spencer St, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Price Range: ₹ 8,421 - ₹ 16,259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#71 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Melbourne staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Melbourne staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“choose the river view room not the city view”
202abhilashr, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“upgrade if you can to one with a view of the city”
Ironing_Board, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a river view room. It's not much, but its something different.”
james_stracey, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“view to Yarra desirable”
JvB0625, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the south side face the river.”
dianapa, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5